We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“No better place to stay in Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing
Ranked #34 of 5,937 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Goppingen, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No better place to stay in Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

For the past 2 years I have been staying at this hotel often. Value for money is unbeatable. The rooms are very clean, the service is perfect! The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet leaves nothing to be desired. Also the service at the restauarant "Grill 79" and the quality - top notch!
Who here does not feel comfortable - inconceivable!

Room Tip: level 72, 74 because there is no need to change the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    99
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
45
21
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very very kind staff. Very pleasure stay. Nice gym and nice pool. Only problem is a bit far from subway station and the mainly atractions. Restaurant Stay is a 5 star restaurant and absolutelly amazing!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This China World Summit Wing hotel is not to be confused with the older China World hotel nearby. When spoken in Chinese, its discernable although many cab drivers would still get confused - this is known as the "Guu Mao Da Jiu Dian" while the other is known as "Zhong Guo Da Jiu Dian" - to make it more confusing both are being operated by the Shangri La group. I was told by the doorman that the only drawback to the location was the lack of available cab drivers that knew how to get into the driveway proper - but everytime I stood out I did not have any issues getting a taxi within 10-15 mins. They had even advised me to wait indoors while they helped me to get a cab.

I was dropped off at the office wing but no problem I cut through the block and was told the check in was on the 64th floor. The elevator was fast, very fast and it took less than 60 secs to reach the reception (I timed it). My check in was speedy and they helped me bring my luggage up to the 75th floor - which was a really good height looking over Chang An Street. The view on a good day (when Beijing is not covered in smog) is pretty astounding - I had a really good view after it snowed one day.

The hotel room was cosy, nothing less than what I would expect from a member of the Shangri La group, and I was able to adjust the temperature to suit me (it was snowing outside and about -6 deg C). Being a Jade member I had some amenities provided for such as coke, beer and cup noodles. The toilet and shower was also segregated which was a good touch for those staying with their other halves.

Breakfast was on the 79th floor which is also open as a steakhouse in the evening - it was good but wasn't quite as good as the other Shangri La hotels I had been in Shanghai / Beijing - I guess I missed the open kitchen concept. However I was able to order my usual La Mian and omelettes if I wanted to.

Do cater for about 5 mins to get from your room to the lobby though cos of the walking and changing of elevators. I was also told by the staff that the rooms facing Chang An street were the quieter ones because of the proximity from the elevators.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Chang An Street are known to be quieter ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirKanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

First visit to this hotel for a business meeting: what a treat! You won't be disappointed from the minute you check-in to the great room, to the views (wherever you are), to the great bar on top of the hotel. Service in Asia is very good in general, so after a few years you start to be used to it. In that case, they reached another level. Butler service for suite room, attention to details at the bar or at breakfast, whatever you need, they will find a solution. It is a fantastic hotel to impress your guests, but also very nice place to get good jazz music in the evening. The singer this week was fantastic and very entertaining. Unfortunatley, some locals have hard time with alcohol, so even in such a place, be preapred to have your neighbors falling down quite drunk...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GilPic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

From the moment the hotel rep picked me up 10m after exiting the plane i knew the hotel was going to be something special! VIP treatment through immigration, baggage collection and customs to a mercedes limo with wifi, all rather impressive. Met at the hotel door by a lovely lady who whisked me through an impressive lobby straight into a waiting lift, she talked me slowly through the amenities in perfect english as we climbed to the 64 floor. We drifted past the guest lounge and into another lift up to the floor, the room was stunning. An amazing view of Beijing, beautiful furniture and a fully appointed room. Check- in was done within 30 seconds of being in the room and she was gone, with bags arriving 60 seconds later. The huge bed and a selection of pillows was literally a dream. Housekeeping and room service were prompt , courteous and special. I would totally recommend this hotel if you like being spoilt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Have stayed here many times now. This is my choice whenever staying in Beijing. Summit Wing is in tower 3 (not to be confused with the much older China World Hotel in tower 1). The hotel is new (less than 1 year since it opened?). Staff are fantastic. The rooms are terrific, good size and with modern Chinese/English fusion decor. There is a brilliant spa, gym and pool in the building and the hotel links with the massive China World complex with cinemas, ice rink, shops etc. You could make the mistake of just staying in the China World complex it is so vast. I rate this hotel as one of the best that I have stayed in anywhere. It leaves the standards in Australian and many Hong Kong hotels for dead. Im not sure what constructive "criticism" I would make of this hotel. It is just so polished in almost every way (with about the most comfortable bed you could have).

Room Tip: Rooms start on 64th floor and above. All the rooms have good views of Beijing but if you like modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justbobhrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for business in November for 3 nights. Wonderful hotel with all the facilities you would expect but with stunning views of Beijing included. Only issue was when I had a spa treatment the staff member wanted to escort me to my room as I changed from my suit and she was worried I would steal the coat hanger. Very insulting but not a true reflection of the hotel.

Room Tip: Bring your own coat hanger to the spa if you want to change clothes
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Guomao
Park Hyatt Beijing
Park Hyatt Beijing
#27 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 662 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#8 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosewood Beijing
#3 of 5,937 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Guomao
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
#9 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 662 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#21 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing

Property: Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District | Upper Floors of China World Tower (Iii), Starting From 64/F, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Beijing
#20 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#21 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#26 Family Hotel in Beijing
#30 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#184 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China World Summit Wing, Beijing comprises 278 guest rooms and suites, four designer restaurants, two bars and a lounge. Accommodations with guest room sizes averaging 65 square metres are the most spacious in the city. The hotel also houses the city's highest spa retreat with CHI, The Spa - Shangri-La's signature spa brand - on level 77. Most of the city's attractions, such as the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, are within a 15-minute drive. All in-house guests have access to Resident's Foyer on level 64, with complimentary fruits, snacks coffee, tea, soft drinks served throughout the day, 2 hours use of meeting room per room per day and Happy Hour from 6pm to 8pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China World Summit Wing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing