We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A world apart from the China World” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Ranked #11 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A world apart from the China World”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Location: the China World Summit Wing is actually an entirely separate hotel that's a good ten minutes' walk away from the original China World (though the two are connected by a huge underground shopping centre).

Check-in experience: efficient process, though it's then followed by a slightly convoluted process of getting to one's room, which requires two different lifts.

Room: large well-equipped rooms and bathrooms with L'Occitane amenities. A word of warning though: watch out for the plug panel on the side of the desk - it can easily swivel when you're plugging in your plug or cable at the risk of crushing your fingers or thumb! The rooms start on the 65th floor, so depending on the weather, one gets either a spectacular view of the Beijing traffic, or the grey cloud.

Service standard: very efficient across the board.

Surrounding area: great for business meetings as it's smack bang in the middle of the CBD; less so if you're visiting as a tourist.

Check-out process: efficient. Leave plenty of time for the Beijing traffic en route to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    103
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
45
55
23
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

we did our workshop here and the facilities provided to us are excellent. Hotel service is very good no complaint at all.
Room is good with Wi-Fi access and view from the room is good too

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

Having usually stayed a the old China World, the Summit Wing was expected to be a step up from the original property. The entry feels more like a service apartment and you need to take a somewhat strange way around the upper lift lobby (through hotel corridors) to another lift to your room. Seems a bit inconvenient. But once you get to your room you will be drawn immediately to the window offering a panoramic view of the vast city. We were lucky to have a view to the west, so we could see the Forbidden City and Tiananmen clearly, as we were blessed with blue skies and clear weather. Gym is one of the best equipped ANYWHERE, but restaurant choices are very limited. Now that I've tried this, I will revert to the old China World for better service and a somewhat friendlier layout.

Room Tip: Get a room to the west so you see Central Beijing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed during a business trip and were allocated rooms on the 70th & 71st floor, which provided us with a wonderful view (if you could see past the dirt on the windows). The room furnishings and decor were of high standard and amenties were well thought out. Unfortunately, being quite adverse to germs, I could not focus on anything other than the stains on the bathroom counter top, the make-up desk as well as a very dubious stain on the wall in the toilet area. Over and above that the pillowcase was dirty- although was quickly replaced when i requested. The service from staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingFanatic333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

Have stayed at the China World Hotel on numerous occasions over the years and were anxious to experience the new Summit Wing. The decor is a comfortable mix of contemporary and elegance. The room size is more generous than its predecessor. Enjoyed cocktails and spectacular views in the Atmosphere lounge. The a la carte breakfast served in Grill 79 is a pleasant change from the typical buffet. Our only disappointment is the lack of a Horizon Club lounge. Management should consider using the Resident's Lounge for this purpose. We look forward to our return visit in February to sample dinner in Grill 79 and a treatment at Chi Spa.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LADrumAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

This hotel is a mystery to me. Approaching it in the limo, I expected a "Burj Al Arab, Dubai" experience. Boy did the place fall short! First off the positives:

- Clean building
- Awesome architecture
- Modern, spacious, clean rooms
- Comfy bed
- Nice rain showers
- Great location

Now for some of the negatives:

- TERRIBLE food, the breakfast was a la carte only (probably the only major hotel I have been to in Asia that is set up like this). I think they thought they were being "fancy" but the breakfast was appallingly bad: cold overcooked meats, cheapo white bread, low quantity of fruits, poor slow service. I cannot remember a worse breakfast in Asia and believe me Asian hotels rock when it comes to breakfast. What's up Shangri-La ???

- The view outside was marred by dirty dust-streaked windows that completely ruin an otherwise amazing view.

- The two-lobby system (there is one on floor 1 and another on floor 64) was goofy and complicated (you go up to 64 and then take another elevator to your "real" floor). Both lobbies are uncomfortable and ill designed.

- The service was MEH... no one really cared much. Not too different than most of mainland China but certainly much worse than the Beijing Grand Hyatt for example.

- The CHI spa is super expensive and completely unimpressive -- the therapists were just OK

- The room service food was really poor and quite expensive. I threw my bitter, burnt coffee away and re-brewed in my own coffee maker in the room. It was the worst coffee I have had, even compared to roadside motels in the USA.

Given how expensive this hotel is and the general quality I have come to expect from Shangri La, this hotel is a clear disappointment. I will never book here again. Not because I had a terrible experience but because I expected SO much and got so little.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S3CR3T3X3C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

Well i have given this Hotel the benefit of the doubt a few times but can no longer hold my tongue.
Reading through previous reviews for the hotel i see many issues with the Lounge.
It hasn't been fixed.
I arrived with friends for afternoon Tea to find table dirty.
Proceeded to order Afternoon tea set.
The table was then set with a dirty plate and dirty cutlery. This was fixed once brought to the attention of the staff
Staff were shouting out to each other like my local chinese restaurant.
Food tower arrived with scones, petit fours and finger sandwiches.
Once again staff shouting across the room not knowing which tables food and drinks were supposed to go to.
Scones were great the cream accompaniment was OFF and tasted like old cheese cake we then asked for fresh whipped cream which was supplied and made the scones perfect.
Petit Fours the usual Hit and Miss
Finger Sandwiches dry bread not cut properly and crust left on and obviously not made fresh to order what a disgrace for a so called 5* Brand hotel but also typical of these brands in China.
I also stayed at this hotel for a night while attending an event in the Ballroom which is all another story.
Post event when back to my room and needed a burger. Called room service and received a curt answer on the phone that they were busy and would call back, after 15mins i called back and tried to order a burger with fries.
I was told by the operator i couldn't have fries with my burger because they would have to make the fries from scratch as they had run out and it would take time HELLO 5* hotel not Chinese 3*.
If the Hotel chooses to reply to this review please do not furnish the standard apologies as have been used on most of the previous reviews before me. DO something about it. As i would love to give a glowing review if things were fixed.
I am so bored with 5* branded hotels in China being profit driven rather than customer is King which they seem to plaster all over the back of house

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplesim40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing

Property: Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District | Upper Floors of China World Tower (III), Starting From 64/F, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Beijing
#7 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#21 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#26 Family Hotel in Beijing
#169 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China World Summit Wing, Beijing comprises 278 guest rooms and suites, four designer restaurants, two bars and a lounge. Accommodations with guest room sizes averaging 65 square metres are the most spacious in the city. Rooms and suites come with double basins and connecting room or adjacent room options. The hotel also houses the city's highest spa retreat with CHI, The Spa - Shangri-La's signature spa brand - on level 77. Most of the city's attractions, such as the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, are within a 15-minute drive. All in-house guests have access to Resident's Foyer on level 64, with complimentary fruits, snacks coffee, tea, soft drinks served throughout the day, 2 hours use of meeting room per room per day and Happy Hour from 6pm to 8pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China World Summit Wing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing