We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Beijing Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Ranked #130 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Adelaide
Level Contributor
235 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The location of this hotel is probably more suited for a business trip rather than tourists as there didn’t seem to be many restaurants or shops in the close vicinity. However, the hotel itself had a nice lobby where we enjoyed a good glass of wine at the bar and we also enjoyed the dinners that we ate at the hotel restaurant. Our room was spacious with tea/coffee making facilities, a lap top safe, free internet in public places (wired in the room), fridge, two complimentary bottles of water per day and a few English language channels on TV. There was good heating and the bed and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with plenty of bench space and included a large shower cubicle and good toiletries. The breakfast had a good variety of both western and Asian dishes to choose from. The only minor negative thing that I can say is that the main hotel building (there is a newer annex) needs a little maintenance as there was some peeling wallpaper, cracks in the ceiling and a bit of mould in the bathroom. A pleasant stay overall though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GourmetTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBJDT, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greeting from Mercure Beijing downtown hotel.

Thank you for writing your experience about your stay in our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you have a pleasent stay with us. Despite of some inconvinience with mantainance and internet problem. We would like to apologize for those negative impacts. We are conducting rennovation on the whole building and as well we are setting the wireless internet to all the rooms at main building. We reassure you that we will eleminate those inconvinence by now and hope to Welcome you back in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    135
    64
    26
    6
See reviews for
43
56
28
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Room is spacious(Junior Suite). Breakfast is good. Staffs are nice and helpful. Although the location is far from the MTR, it is easy to get the taxi by the help of the concierge. Hotel surrounding is quiet, the bed is comfortable, we have a nice sleep during the stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 888Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBJDT, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Warm greeting from Mercure Beijing Downtown!
Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your experience in our hotel. We are happy to hear that you liked your stay and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for three nights prior to a cruise. Room was very nice and we had no complaints concerning it. Only downsides to the hotel were the strong smell of damp coming from the lift shafts. The drink at the bar was expensive and the service there was slow. As mentioned in previous posts the reception staff diid have difficulty speaking English but with the exception of one girl who was rather abrupt, they generally tried to be helpful. That said, our package did not include breakfast but we decided to buy this on two occasions (worth it). Our check out became lengthy as these had not been included on our bill, I had great difficulty in explaining to the receptionist that they had been omitted but eventually got him to charge me for them. I know of others in our party that had the same problem but gave up trying as our coach was waiting.

Overall the hotel is nice and comfortable and had a pleasant ambiance. The local area felt safe and the underground was only a fifteen minute walk away, was relatively cheap and gave you easy access to the rest of the city.

The problems we encountered were minor and would not deter me from staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sneckiepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBJDT, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Sneckiepaddy,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay in our hotel. We are happy to hear that you liked your room, the location and surroundings of the hotel. Moreover, we greatly apologize for the problems you encountered speaking English with our staff members. We currently make great efforts to improve the English level of our employees and thus hope we can offer you a better service experience soon. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

i thought this hotel was very good indeed. The bathroom was one of the most plush I have seen. Yes it has a full length window onto the bedroom area, but there are blinds there if you require privacy, if not you can watch TV from the bath. The breakfast was really good and as my travellin g companions said better than other 5 star hotels. Wifi in the rooms and lovely bedlinen - a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgeQueen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBJDT, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear BridgeQueen_12,

thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very glad, that you enjoyed your stay and especially liked the bathroom and breakfast varieties. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Best regards,
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
#103 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
#104 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Bajiao Amusement Park
Mercure Wanshang Beijing
Mercure Wanshang Beijing
#127 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#70 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#61 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Beijing Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Beijing Downtown

Property: Mercure Beijing Downtown
Address: No.16A West Dawang Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100124, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#108 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Beijing Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Beijing Downtown is a garden style hotel situated in Beijing CBD. It is walking distance to Beijing subway and 30 min drive to Beijing airport. Landmarks such as Silk Market and World Trade Center are nearby. The hotel offers free access to its leisure facilities and private parking. Internet access is also complimentary. It features duplex sets, exclusive in the CBD and the largest 4 star meeting facilities. Guests can also enjoy a free shuttle to CBD every morning. The hotel has an open-kitchen style Western restaurant and a Chinese Restaurant specializing in Cantonese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz and Ctrip TA so you can book your Mercure Beijing Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Beijing Downtown Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing