We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better than this..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Ranked #134 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The exterior of this hotel is nice. Nice entrance with fishponds & nice lobby, but the rooms are a bit shabby with peeling wallpaper & the shower needed a good clean. Considering it is only 2 years old needs a bit of TLC. Staff did not seem to speak a lot of english, we were not greeted at breakfast or when coming back to the hotel at the end of the day. Location is a fair distance from town, but there is a food street behind the hotel which has a variety of local restaurants. Drinks in the lobby were expensive. Taxis to town were cheap, approx 17 yuan. Only use metered taxis, but even then we were given counterfeit money in change by an authorised taxi driver. Be aware of this. Probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzyqAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBJDT, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear suzyqAustralia,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you liked our entrance and Lobby and as for the rooms, we are currently working on a refurbishment that will be finished at the end of the year. We apologize greatly for the impolite behavior of our staff and we will strengthen our training concerning the employees` manners. Thank you again for sharing your experience and giving us the chance to improve!

Warm regards,

Mercure Beijing Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 379 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of a Travelsphere 'Highlights of China' tour. The room we had was very spacious and well equipped, with a roomy bathroom with a walk in shower. The only odd thing is that there was a full length window in the shower which would give anyone in the room a full view of you doing your ablutions. However, it didn't bother us and there was a modesty blind which could be closed if needed.
Breakfast at the hotel was plentiful with a good variety of Asian & Western food. The omelette requests sometimes got lost in translation but pointing and signing generally got us what we wanted. We had room service one night as we didn't feel like going out. The service was quick & friendly, the food good and at a reasonable price.
Only one gripe - the bar had a happy hour with 'buy one, get one half price' drinks which finished at 9 pm. The service was chronically slow and we waited for 15 minutes to get served, only to be told that, as it was just past 9 pm, it was no longer happy hour! We were charged 70 yuan for two beers which is pretty outrageous, given that the supermarket across the road sells the same beer for 3 yuan a bottle. I would definitely recommend not buying drinks there.
Otherwise, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feelymerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBJDT, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear feelymerl,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you liked your stay with us and especially enjoyed our breakfast. Nevertheless, we apologize for the incident in our Lobby Bar during the Happy Hour and will do a follow up with our staff to avoid this kind of problem in the future. We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Mercure Beijing Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days at the end of our "Highlights of China " tour with Travelsphere.

A lot of staff on duty to help you and many had an excellent grasp of English - so polite and helpful.

The hotel is bright and cheerful throughout.

Breakfast - buffet style has so much choice - European, Asian, Chinese and Japanese dishes for you to try. Loved the fresh on site baked bread - different types each day.

If you have any problem look for Guest Services Manager Peter Pan - he was a great help with all sorts of information - even to helping me to do a on line check in for our flights home.

Local supermarket across the road for water , beer etc very cheap.

two computers in reception for your use.

Stayed for 5 days - would definitely go back there shoud we return to Beijing

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to "Privelege room - approx cost £25 - £30 a night They have a sitting area an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddienicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBJDT, Guest relations officer at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear eddienicholson,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome again in the future.

Best wishes,

Mercure Beijing Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Perhaps it was exceptional in my case, but I really did not enjoy my stay at this hotel. As noted by lopaka41 in another review, the staff's English is FAR from acceptable and the rooms are kind of shabby with ugly carpet and peeling wallpaper. The see-thru bathroom was annoying since my room was looking straight into the rooms opposite so I had to keep the curtains pulled all the time. The service was poor: I had a problem with the toilet on my first day there so when I went down to dinner, I asked them to fix it before I got back. Well, it took almost 10 minutes to explain that I was talking about the T-O-I-L-E-T and naturally, on returning to my room two hours later, still no working toilet. The location looks really close to the metro and China Center megamall (and my office during my stay) on the map, but it is in fact a 15 minute walk next to a loud and very congested 6-lane road with 4 major intersection crossings. It was nearly impossible to get taxis back to the hotel because for them the distance was too short. So, the Mercure has a shuttle but with only 6 seats. On the Sunday, I reserved for Monday and asked them to reserve the rest of the week as well. Well, on Tuesday, I was informed that I didn't have a seat and the shuttle was book for the rest of the week already - first come, first served. So much for reserving as early as Sunday...the bed was a bit hard and the pillows were - at least for me - not downy enough. The breakfast was typical of an Asian hotel and was perhaps the one saving grace but did NOT feature fresh squeeze OJ which is my personal barometer for a better-than-average breakfast. I will stay elsewhere else next time, perhaps the Sofitel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank le_fino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBJDT, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear le_fino,

Thank you for writing this detailed review of our hotel. We greatly apologize for the inconveniences during your stay in our hotel. Concerning the English of our staff, we currently offer language trainings to support them in improving their speaking skills and we are very sorry that despite our efforts, they were not able to understand you. Furthermore, we regret that our engineering department did not fix your toilet faster and will try to speed up our processes in the future.
As you mentioned, our location is close to the Central Business District of Beijing which also allows you to walk from our hotel to your office. In these highly frequented areas there is indeed a high traffic volume and therefore noise can unfortunately not be avoided. That is why we offer a complimentary shuttle bus service to the CBD and we apologize that you did not get a seat anymore although you tried to book in advance.
As for the see-through bathroom you mentioned, all our rooms have glass windows in the wall in order to bring daylight in the bathroom. For more privacy, we installed roller blinds on these glass windows. Nevertheless we are sorry, that it was not sufficient for you.
We also regret, that you did not completely enjoy our breakfast and that the bed did not meet your expectations. However, we thank you again for this feedback and thus, giving us the chance to improve our service and quality standards.
Best regards,

Mercure Beijing Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

An good hotel by Chinese standards, but was very dated , and could do with a lot of refurbishment, the reception and restaurant areas were in very good state of repair, but the corridors and guest rooms were sadly lacking in atmosphere. Often smelt quite musty.

Breakfast was very good, as was the restaurant in the evening, but this option was very expensive compared to the variety of local restaurants within minutes walking from the hotel.

There is an excellent Tesco store within 1 km, larger than any I have seen in the UK, selling UK branded goods alongside Chinese.

The beds tended to be very hard, did not really get a good nights sleep

Access to the reception desk was very slow, the checkin and checkout procedure needs to be accellerated quite drastically,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBJDT, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Chris B,
We thank you very much for your review on our Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our La Vie restaurant with its variety of Chinese and western style dishes for breakfast and dinner. The surrounding area of our Hotel has a lot to offer in terms of fine dining and shopping, such as Silk Market and Food Street, we are always happy to assist our guest in finding a nice restaurant for a relaxing evening out of the Hotel.
There is also an equally sized Carrefour supermarket about 15 Minutes from our property in the opposite direction of the Tesco, which we recommend to our guests as well.
At present we are refurbishing our Hotel rooms, which includes replacing items such as mattresses and other damaged items, the renovations should be finished by the end of this year.
We are sorry to hear, that the check-in and check-out was not as fast as it should have been, please rest assured we will take appropriate measures to solve this problem.
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience in our Hotel.

Kind regards,

Mercure Beijing Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, good service, best breakfast ever. Convenient to Line 1 subway. Hotel has shuttle that will pick up and drop off at subway. I would stay here again, and think this is a great hotel. I've been to Beijing four times in past ten years, this was the best

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBJDT, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Bob M,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we want to thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers here on TripAdvisor.
Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.
Warm regards,

Mercure Beijing Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hotel needs renovation badly, carpet is old and needs to be replaced wall paper is falling off walls, some of the staff need to practice better english, door man rarely opens door for u, staff never greets u, alot needs to come from this hotel if they expect more business from foreign travelors

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lopaka41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBJDT, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Beijing Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Lopaka41,
Thank you for taking the time to writing a review on our Hotel and we are very sorry that you got such a negative perception of our service. At present we offer our employees English lessons on a weekly base to help them to improve their English skills. I will pass on the matter with the unhelpfully member of staff to our Management, we hope that these actions taken by us will help to prevent future occurrences. As mentioned before we are currently renovating our Hotel rooms, we expect the refurbishments to be finished by the end of this year.
Thank you for staying with us and once again, I am sorry that you could not entirely enjoy your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Mercure Beijing Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
#97 of 6,606 in Beijing
927 reviews
Fangzhuang
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
#135 of 6,606 in Beijing
419 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,567 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
#84 of 6,606 in Beijing
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Beijing Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Beijing Downtown

Address: No.16A West Dawang Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100124, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#115 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $68 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Beijing Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and individual, the international brand Mercure delivers a fresh approach to hotel style and service. Managed by the French Hospitality Group - ACCOR, Mercure Beijing Downtown is well located on Xi Da Wang Road in Central Business District (CBD) area, which is between East 3rd Ring and East 4th Ring in Beijing. With easy access to subway line 1, 7, 10 and line 14, to Beijing Capital International Airport and railway stations, Mercure Beijing Downtown is also close to China World Trade Centre, China Central Place, Oriental Media Centre,Gemdale Centre,SKP (original Shin Kong Place), Wanda Plaza, BTV and CCTV Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Beijing Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Beijing Downtown Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing