We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is everyone?”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #149 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived at 5:00 pm on October 01, 2013 and nobody was there to greet us? I have never had this happen at a five star hotel. So drag my bags off the taxi and into the lobby. This is a worn hotel and checked into a dirty room. Weak AC and it never was fixed during my four nights there. If the room wasn't pre-paid I would have looked for another hotel. You get what you paid for with their low rate, a low rated four star but really nice three star. This is NOT a five star hotel. My wife said the spa was nice, so they have that going for them...LOL!

Room Tip: Don't get a room where we had our room...this hotel!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaNative007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Lake View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 156 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very nice hotel. Across the street from a very nice park, although the rest of the neighbourhood has a bit to be desired. There is a small charge (10rbm I think) to get into the park, but it is worth it. Its a nice way to get away from the hectic streets of Beijing. there are a number of restaurants in the hotel, the staff is friendly and speak English. The breakfast area is quit busy so be prepared to sit with others. The buffet had a wide array of choices. The rooms are quit big. The rooms were very clean and modern. It is a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: We had a corner room so we had plenty of windows with a nice view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marchtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is an excellent choice for the business traveler particularly if easy access to Peking U is desired. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bed is comfortable; there is good seating areas, and a desk with internet connection. Free wifi is available in the lobby. It should be noted that at the time of my visit and connections through Google, such as gmail, was difficult. The breakfast buffet is extensive and serves western taste and chinese traditional food. The staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the inner courtyard. The evening lighting is quite elegant.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleve2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

First of all I would like to comment on the location of this hotel. I thought it was in a great location just outside the centre. The taxis are so cheap in Beijing that this is never a problem anyway. I would recommend getting the address written down by the concierge for the taxi drivers who do not know where the hotel is.

I stayed on the executive floor which was great and the rooms were unbelievably comfortable, especially the beds! Our room was on the 25th floor which gave us a really nice view over the lake.

The staff speak a good level of English and they were able to help us out with anything that we needed.

I look forward to coming back to Beijing and staying here as I haven't slept as good since!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robcurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

With the completion of Subway line 10, and the Panjiayuan stop, much of the complaints about location seam now to be moot. It still isn't in the middle of everything, but with a 15 minute walk it is close to the Panijiayuan Market and Subway with which you can get everywhere.

The executive floor room we had was very large with a very nice work area and the softest sheets and most comfortable bed we had in China. The basement pool is very relaxing. To decompress is what we wanted after 5 non-stop days staying in Beijing's Hutongs, the three nights the Radegast did the trick.

Room Tip: Paying just a little more for the Executive floor rooms is worth it, and Breakfast is included. &qu...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is definitely not a 5 star hotel, it was a bit far from the centre and taxis sometimes didn't know where it was. The rooms were large but I don't think the corners or under the tables had been hoovered ever since it had been built there was a very thick covering of dust. Breakfast was a nightmare, the room was small and crowded, you were always faced with empty dishes, one morning we sat half an hour and they still hadn't returned the returned with a full tea urn. The staff spoke very little English trying to book a dinner reservation at a local restaurant was a challenge. Give it a miss

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Cduncan261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

If you really expect 5 star service and facilities you will be disappointed for sure.
If you balance the price with quality you really get what you pay for.
Rooms are spacious and well equipped but cleaning is an issue.
Breakfast not on european level of 5 star hotel. Lots of asian food, european selection really poor.
The biggest issue is staff and their service.
Nobody really nobody speaks even basic english. Despite their efforts and good will they are not able to help untill you show what you want ( we had to show towel to reception to get additional one, over the phone we really could not explain what is towel.
Location is not too good for those who do not want to walk.
Its right in the middle of residential area very lively and crowded and abt 2km to subway station.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank magda0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Kuntai Royal Hotel
#93 of 6,531 in Beijing
241 reviews
Zhongguancun
The Lakeview Hotel
The Lakeview Hotel
#173 of 6,531 in Beijing
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,165 reviews
Guomao
Beijing Jianguo Hotel
Beijing Jianguo Hotel
#90 of 6,531 in Beijing
807 reviews
Fangzhuang
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
#129 of 6,531 in Beijing
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Address: No.19 Panjiayuan South Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100021, China (Formerly Radegast Lake View Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Panjiayuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $82 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake View Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing