We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, location was an issue”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #143 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, location was an issue”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel is very nice, new, modern, clean and has good amenities. If you're looking to spend a lot of time in your hotel room and want a clean hotel that looks and feels nice, this is a good place to be. There were only a half a dozen English TV channels in our room which kind of sucked, most of them were channels like CNN, MSNBC and BBC. The staff here was decently friendly, the only issue is that their level of English wasn't really all that great. This can cause problems. They tried to help but at times the people at reception just weren't able to help us as much as we'd like. We stayed here for six nights, and the gym was closed for five of those nights which was a little annoying. Another interesting incident was when a lady walked into our room to drop off a card while me and my wife were in bed sleeping. She said sorry but it was really weird.

The breakfast here was pretty good too, though the food didn't seem like it was fresh every morning, it was still pretty descent.

The biggest problem with this hotel is the location. Nobody in Beijing has any idea where this pl;ace is. Anytime we'd head out to shop or eat or go sight seeing, it was a real problem trying to get back. Even though we had maps, hotel cards, and Chinese notes with the location of our hotel and directions written in Chinese saying "Take me to this hotel", nobody (cabbies) would want to take us back to our hotel. If they were willing to go, they'd want to go "off meter" and want to charge us 5 times what it cost us to get there. This was pretty annoying, and getting back to our hotel became a real challenge, it became stressful and that's not what you want when you're on vacation. We had to learn how to use the subway system to get back to our hotel, and the nearest subway station is a 25 minute walk from the hotel. Even the locals who were standing around 5 minutes from this hotel had no idea where it was which I found shocking.

Overall, the hotel itself is nice, clean, new, and I had no issues with it. However, because of the location and the transportation issues associated with it, I didn't have that great a time here. The last two days of our trip were spent hanging around the area near the hotel, where there isn't much to do because getting back was such an issue.

I'd give this place 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bartz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    68
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
54
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portugal
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a large very modern hotel overlooking Lake Longtan about 20 minutes bus ride from Tianamen Square (bus 37 direct for 1 RMB). We had booked an executive room with lake view but were first shown a room without lake view which was very hot 30 degrees and the airconditioning did not work. As we had read earlier reviewers who had the same problem we decided to complain. At first we were offered a free standing machine in the room, but then a very helpful member of staff said she would like to show us another room. She upgraded us to an executive suite with wonderful lake view out of its picture windows. The room was large with free wired internet, kettle, TV, huge bathroom with fluffy towels, small dressing room and best of all a huge luxurious bed, incredibly comfortable with good quality bedlinen.

The buffet breakfast is very good and the staff are helpful and most speak English. Although slightly out of the centre I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth the extra money. We were told that the air conditioning works better on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuwait
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

a new clean hotel, the only thing negative is the location, it will take 30-45 minutes to reach city center in morning and after in the evining no Taxi will accept to go to the hotel using meter - meter cost around 30 RMB but taxi drivers asking for 70 - 100 RMB due to traffic.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank hsq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I picked up this hotel after a careful search on Trip Advisor, for my 5 days vacation trip to Beijing with my wife and it appeared to be one of the best deals in town in terms of quality/price ratio. We were a bit disappointed. The major issue about this hotel is the location, it is about 5 km away from the center, quite far from any subway station (2,5 km) and getting back to hotel by night, with taxi, revealed to be quite a challenge, as taxi drivers dont'h have the faintest idea of where it is and even with hotel business cards showing address in chinese, it was tough. On top of that, the air con in the room was completely fake, it was quite hot and there was no other way to cool down the room than opening the windonws. We were there in April and it was ok, but in winter I think it can be a huge problem (reported by many other visitors on TA, by the way). The bathroom had ceiling walls, covered only with wooden curtains which didn't guarantee a lot of privacy (for those who care about this), it is common in lower class chinese hotels but in this one, with 4 stars and a prices on the higher side, I think it should not be that way. For the rest, the wifi connection worked about 70% of the time (randomly) and the sauna was turned off. On the positive side, we had a great meal at the herbal chinese restaurant, for a decent price, and staff understood english, so communication was not a problem. I would not come back, at least for a holiday, mainly for the position, I would prefer a more central hotel or at least one which has a subway station at a walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco_Germani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Executive Room with Lake view on 25th floor: Impossible to breath in bathroom due to strong smell of mold and moisture. The same mold smell in shower of swimming pool.
Room temperature was above 27 Celsius day and night. You can heat the room further by turning ventilation on though you cannot cool it. You can add to traffic noise by opening window and get some “fresh air”.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MansoorMirza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The Hotel service is excellent. It is situate at 5 min walk from Peking U campus. Peking U is next to Tsinghua U as well. Going to City Centre takes 20 to 30 min of subway at RMB 2. Well worth it. The food is fine. Room is comfortable and modern. The only thing you have to remember is when you are reminded to put down a deposit, you may not have enough credit if you dine and drink too much. No problem, pay by credit card as well.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. No problem at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewM32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a superb hotel, with wonderful amenities and staff who simply can not do enough for their guests...Let down, in my opinion, by some front desk staff who seems less than concerned with resolving guests concerns.

I recently stayed at the Radegast Lake View with my daughter and her son on a family vacation. Booked six months prior to the trip. I requested Two Double rooms, non smoking, adjoining or on the same floor, and because I booked online I followed up my booking with a telephone call from Australia in October 2011 confirming the booking and requesting breakfast be included...Since I had booked two rooms for seven nights I considered this a not unreasonable request.

Upon our arrival, Further, I was informed the Hotel had no recollection of my request for the breakfast Buffett to be included in theTariff, and the person working on the front desk, added that no rooms had the breakfast buffet included in their tariff....Something I was to find out later to be simply and factually untrue....

It tok me two days to finally get my family on the same floor in no smoking rooms, and only then after having to ask to see a manager who upgrared th efamly to an executive room on the 26th floor, but even then one room was a single and the other double.....AND we still had to pay for the Breakfast Buffett (which IS included in all Executive room tariffs.....)

The icing on the cake was when checkiing out, I had to pay a 1Yuan bill for a local relephone call to a tourist guide th ehotel had recommended...

Is my view and opinions an overly negative one..perhaps.....I wish it were otherwise, but when one saves for the trip of a lifetime with his family...over such great distance, and one makes all the calls and does the right thing, and still gets ripped of....what else is left.

Would I recommend this Hotel? At one level, yes, in a heartbeat ......on another level, I would urge great caution in dealing with this hotel and its representative, get EVERYTHING confirmed in writing by them before you pay ONE cent...Otherwise look elsewhere, which is a great pity because the staff you meet in the dining rooms, the waiting staff, the others are simple wonderful, but let down by a few others....


Upon arrival We were

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terentious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Zhongguancun
The Lakeview Hotel
The Lakeview Hotel
#166 of 6,520 in Beijing
187 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Kuntai Royal Hotel
#88 of 6,520 in Beijing
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Beijing Jianguo Hotel
Beijing Jianguo Hotel
#92 of 6,520 in Beijing
799 reviews
Chongwenmen
Capital Hotel Beijing
Capital Hotel Beijing
#84 of 6,520 in Beijing
814 reviews
Guomao
Bohao Radegast Hotel Beijing
Bohao Radegast Hotel Beijing
#193 of 6,520 in Beijing
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Property: Lake View Hotel
Address: No.19 Panjiayuan South Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100021, China (Formerly Radegast Lake View Hotel)
Location: China > Beijing > Panjiayuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake View Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing