We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset @ Great Wall”

Great Wall Hiking Adventures
Ranked #20 of 134 Outdoor Activities in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 2003, Great Wall Adventure Club has been bringing the excitement and wonder of the Great Wall of China to over 26,000 satisfied hikers from 55 countries around the world. Since we began operating our Great Wall hiking and trekking programs, some of our clients have included Google, NBC Television, British Airways, NASA and Microsoft. Our commitment to customer service and satisfaction has led our Great Wall programs to receive positive write-ups in prestigious publications such as The New York Times, USA Today, National Geographic, CNN and Fodor's China. Great Wall Adventure Club was also featured in an episode of TLC's 19 Kids & Counting. While our bread and butter have always been Great Wall hiking and trekking, we also specialize in all forms of China travel and touring, from the snow-capped peaks of Tibet to the rolling sand dunes of the Gobi Desert. For 2014, we have developed new express train tours to Xian, home of the immortal Terracotta Warriors. For more information please visit our informative and constantly edited and updated English website where you can find Great Wall and China tours galore!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked a private tour for the two of us. Explicit request was that (1) we want to do real trekking and not just take a lift to the top of the Wall and (2) we desperately want to avoid crowds and have nice pictures at the sunset. Although the trip was rather expensive, we are very happy with the service. Had wonderful day and beautiful pictures. Strongly recommend.

Thank Michal_Paprocki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijingbdba, Manager at Great Wall Hiking Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Hi Michal, I’m glad you had a good Great Wall experience! You made the right choice in choosing a rugged Great Wall trek instead of being surrounded by throngs of tourists. I think you’d agree that it makes for a far more intimate and enjoyable tour. In regards to the price, I know it is priced relatively high, but we price our tours with a number of factors in mind, including the high cost of Chinese gas, exorbitant tolls on the highways we need to use to reach the Great Wall, training our guides and drivers to be the best in the business, as well as dealing with the omnipresent Chinese bureaucracy. We hope you understand, as we also hope that the price was worth the experience. If you have any comments or suggestions on how your tour could have been better than we would really appreciate your feedback. Thank you for putting your trust in Great Wall Adventure Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"guide aaron"
in 4 reviews
"sleeping bags"
in 5 reviews
"adventure club"
in 2 reviews
"overnight camp"
in 2 reviews
"overnight experience"
in 2 reviews
"trip date"
in 2 reviews
"great wall"
in 94 reviews
"initial climb"
in 2 reviews
"amazing trek"
in 2 reviews
"day hiking"
in 6 reviews
"restored section"
in 7 reviews
"private tour"
in 13 reviews
"tour members"
in 2 reviews
"interesting trip"
in 2 reviews
"hotel pick"
in 3 reviews
"quiet section"
in 2 reviews
"touristy parts"
in 2 reviews
Filter

140 - 144 of 258 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went on the tour from Shixiaguan to Ancient Badaling and it was just amazing. The going up party is not easy for non fit people but once up it's very different. The beauty of the landscape makes you forget the effort you might have made before! And the good thing is you can finally enjoy the Great wall in a very small group!

1  Thank Camille_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijingbdba, Manager at Great Wall Hiking Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

That’s great that you had such a good time! We agree that the un-restored part of the Great Wall makes for a much more exciting and rewarding Great Wall experience. And being in a small group does make for a far more intimate tour. Although your experience was positive, do you still have recommendations or comments on how your experience could have been even better? If so, we’d love to have your feedback. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband & I did the 7X hike on The Great Wall. This was 7 days of hiking different parts of The Wall and staying in home stays and local villages. From our first contact with the company, the service was excellent; professional, efficient and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and no question was left unanswered. Our guide Cheney, was very efficient, he was helpful, friendly and professional at all times, quickly learning our capabilities, likes and dislikes; nothing was ever too much trouble for him. His knowledge of Chinese history was fantastic also, easy to understand and very interesting. Each day of the hike presented us with different terrain and views, there was never a dull moment. It was one of the best treks we've ever done. I would highly recommend this company to anyone, including my friends and family.

1  Thank De S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijingbdba, Manager at Great Wall Hiking Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Wow! It sounds like you had an amazing time! Your kind of review is the reason that we are in this business. We don’t have too many clients who choose to do the seven-day option, so you two are real adventurers! I think you did the right thing in choosing to experience the un-restored sections of the Great Wall, as it makes for a much more invigorating and dynamic experience. I’m thrilled to hear about your guide. We pride ourselves on having the best travel guides in the business, so it’s good to see their good practices at work. While you’re trip was a positive one, if you still have any comments or pointers on how your trip could have been even better than we would love to hear back from you! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We took a private tour for a walk along the Mutianya section of the wall. Picked up by guide and driver at 8:30 and straight to wall area. Stopped in rural farm land and guided up steep path to crumbled watch tower with amazing views ready to hike down to the restored section of the wall.

The weather was amazing on the day we went and we literally saw only 4 other people in the first hour giving you the experience on the wall and the romantic crumbled views you would hope for. As you got to the restored section the numbers picked up but nothing to spoil and was great to see the contrast between the untouched and the restored section. We loved both. Cable car down (which was extra) and car waiting to take us back. World class sightseeing day!

The company and tour guide were efficient and friendly, it wasn't cheap but I don't begrudge a penny for the experience we had. Plus felt the guide listened to what you wanted and tailored the day to suit you and what you wanted to see and get out of it. Could have done a group tour cheaper or researched and tried to do ourselves in reverse, but worth the money for the stress free experience leaving us to concentrate on taking our time to take in the amazing sights.

1  Thank hi0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijingbdba, Manager at Great Wall Hiking Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

I’m very pleased to see that you enjoyed your day on the Great Wall! The Jiankou-Mutinayu route is one of our most popular, and you were fortunate enough to see why. While it is true that our program prices are not the cheapest, we price our tours the way we do in order to make sure that we spare no expense in giving you the best Great Wall experience possible. I’m also glad to hear that your tour guide was both accommodating and flexible. If you have any suggestions or recommendations on how your day could have been even better, than we would love to have your input. Thank you again for putting your trust in us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We did a private sunset hike from Jiankou Great Wall to Mutianyu Great Wall and our guide was Jack Chen. It was amazing that we only encountered three other people during the whole hike, it made the experience very special! The scenery and views were sensational and we both loved it. Our guide Jack Chen was very informative and had very good English. We were able to go at our own pace- most of the hike was ok, the most challenging was the 1hr hike getting up to the wall but it was well worth the hike to get up there!!! Paying a little extra to do a private tour was well worth it and doing the sunset tour meant that there were many less people there making it a very private experience!

2  Thank AussieAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijingbdba, Manager at Great Wall Hiking Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

I was excited to read your account of your sunset hike! We feel that seeing the Great Wall while not being mobbed by throngs of tourists is the way to go, and I think you can see why. I’m really pleased to hear that your guide worked out-we train them so that they are the best in the China travel business. It also sounds like you got some exercise on your tour as well! If you have any comments or suggestions on how your tour could have been even better than we would love to hear your feedback! Thank you for putting your faith in us, it means the world to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall Hiking Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall Hiking Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing