We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Feel Inn
Nearby Hotels
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
$201
$179
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$362
$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$188
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$159
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$120
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$203
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prime Hotel(Beijing)
$120
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
25
53
36
7
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
53
36
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketforbidden cityprivate bathroomhostelfclocationenglish
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 133 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

After an hour in a dusty taxi and nearly five dollars later, we arrived. Location was central but without character. Touristy to the point of a difficult choice between English muffins and Swiss eggs benedict for breakfast. Near all the historical sites which deprives one of the chance to get to know the soul of China's capital. Note that the two stars consist of the following: 1. the friendly staff member who was really charismatic, helpful, sexy and just a great guy. 2. this second star is because it is rude to just award one star. The smell of bleach filled the room and do not drink the banana liqueur.

Room Tip: Avoid the bleached rooms. Make sure to check the curtains, as they do not guarantee that a window lies beneath.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The location is near T-Square and the forbidden city. Also close to Night food market! The hostel runs a great tour to the wall that comes with free brekkie! the shared washrooms are really manky and stank, but the location made up for it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Booked a 4-bed room with private bathrooms, but instead we got two 2-bed rooms each with private bathrooms with no extra charge. English speaking staff. The location is near Forbidden city, about 10-15 mins walk. This is OK if you don't mind walking. Restaurants and stores just 5-minutes away; we bought our bottled water at the store 15-meters away from the hostel for 2 RMB. Wangfujing shopping street is just 10 minutes away. The bed mattress is kinda hard, but I read somewhere that even 5-star hotels in China have hard beds. The toilet smell isn't that bad. I smelled worse toilets in Manila :) The bathroom is small, but heater works well and water pressure is strong. I say that the neighborhood is relatively quiet. Strong wifi connection, but I can only check my emails. No Facebook in China.

Taxi from Beijing Capital Airport would cost around 90 RMB, just make sure you print the map on their website so the Taxi Driver would get the picture, and ask the taxi driver to use the meter. Our taxi driver had a hard time finding the hostel because it is inside a small street, so he had to call the hostel for directions (we arrived in Beijing at midnight).

What I like most about this place is that there are warning signs everywhere about getting scammed in Beijing such as people offering tea or coffee. These travel tips are also posted on their websites.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The best thing about Sunshine hostel is it's location. It's really close to the Forbidden city and endless streets of shopping. A large, new mall is also nearby. Also, a subway sandwich place is just around the corner too should you feel like a good old footlong.

The staff are great at organizing well-priced tours for guests. We went to the Great Wall which was a wonderful experience.

The staff also really surpassed expectations in two ways for us.

Firstly, an ATM swallowed our card. It was a Sunday and nothing much was going on. It was dead quite. We tried and tried to phone on the emergency phone at the ATM but to no avail. In a panic we returned to Sunrise hostel and told the manager our problem. He contacted the bank ASAP, sorted it all out and got our card back in the next two hours. We lost no money and our trip in Beijing wasn't spoiled.

Secondly, we wished to stay an extra night in Beijing but unfortunately Sunrise was fully booked. The manager organised with his brother's hotel a few blocks away to put us up for the night at the same price of the hostel.

There is only one real negative I can think of. And that's the smell of the bathroom. It will never leave my memory. It was atrociously foul and it never got any weaker. The rooms weren't great but they are really only a place to rest your head at night.

At night the hallways got a little noisy but nothing too serious.

*****It's important to beware of how one gets to the hostel from the airport for example. Certain taxi drivers are really out to screw foreigners with rigged meters that can be adjusted by the driver. We got lucky and had an honest driver with a normal meter but friends of ours weren't that lucky and ended up having a full on fight over the cost on arrival at the hostel. Other friends took a certain bus from the airport. This seems to be the best way I feel and should we return to Beijing, we'll take the bus to avoid the crooks.*****

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KtotheX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Arrived at the PEK airport early morning, the temperature was well over 40 degrees with a high humidity. Took the express train from the Airport and than interchanged to the red line metro. From the nearest metro station its a 15 minute walk to the Hostel. Even though we arrived in the morning, we were given a room. It was clean, smelled nice and it had windows. The bed side of he hostel were the bathrooms, the shower and the toilet are a combo room, you can wash while using the toilet. The place is clean. Slept well as the air conditioning was working well. Booked several tickets through the reception which cost an extra 20 RMB per ticket. Don't book day trips with the hostel, as you can pay less using the local travel agency. The hostel is easy to find, there is a big blue sign showing the way from the main street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomasztomczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews