We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's such a shame the bathrooms are so bad!”
Review of Feel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Feel Inn
Ranked #90 of 1,409 Beijing B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hostel is fantastic. The location can not be beaten. You're so close to shopping district, food markets, Forbidden City and not too bad to train stations.
Staff are lovely, but ordering breakfast does include a long wait. This can be annoying when you have a tour booked etc.

The free wifi is great from the comfort of your room.

It's just such a shame the bathrooms are so awful. The toilet is also the wet room. Due to no ventilation, the floor remains very wet for quite a while. It also worsens the smell of sewage that is present. The bathrooms seemed very unclean and I don't feel as though they were adequately cleaned every morning.
I was fine with having to put toilet paper in the waste bin (quite standard for a lot of Asian countries) but you're only given a bin without a lid. So you can imagine how much worse the room smelt when it heated up, had no ventilation and the room was wet. I had to start putting the paper in the loo when the bin wasn't emptied by cleaning staff in the morning.
We were in 2 different rooms during our stay and same issue in both.

I actually wasn't bothered by no window. It was ok for a good sleep! The air con is good and I found the sheets clean and comfortable (bed was very hard though)

Overall everything else overcame the ad. We had 4 nights there in total. We managed but I really don't think we could have managed much longer!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Pierogis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 133 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

I booked basic ensuite. During stay this hostel the bath room always smelling and I coudn't slepping every nights. in addition there is window but no sunlights whole of stay.
good point : good location and staff are friendly and free internet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harihari_ornitorinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hostel is slightly different to a lot of hostels as it's kind of run also as a bar and they state that you cannot take your own food and drink into the bar. There are 2 problems I have with this: one is that the prices for drinks in the bar is high (certainly compared with everywhere else we've been in China - 15Y for all beers); and second, the bar is the only real communal space in the hostel so I think it's a harsh rule not to allow food and drink in there.

This aside, we stayed in a 4 bed dorm and it was nice and clean. The showers are good and there 24hr running boiling water for tea and noodle pots as there is everywhere in China. The staff speak pretty good english and are helpful. They provide many services and also some trips to the wall etc although it's cheaper to do it yourself. Location is good too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iammmattdoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Sunrise is in a great and quiet location just a few minutes walk from the bustling Wangfujing shopping street and the slightly dubious tourist attraction of the Donghuamen Night Market. Its only 15 minutes walk from the Forbidden city and T square and other attractions. The twin room is clean, reasonably spacious and the heating works a treat.

The staff were great and really helpful... The free 'wine' shots from the barmaid were and added bonus.

The only downside to this place is the distinct smell of raw sewage which lingers in the bathrooms. All in all, a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulTeam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Very well located, practicaly behind forbidden city, night markets at 5 minutes, metro stations at 10 minutes, and the best: super friendly staff and fantastic pub for breakfast, lunch and some cold ones at night. I stayed at double room without bathroom wich has to use the shared bathroom outside (for taking bath and peeing etc), and a shared sink (for washing face, brushing teeth, comb hair etc..) but you dont feel uncomfortable at all doing it, because reception and cleaning people are so laid back and friendly that you feel at your best friend or cousins home right away.
They have very good wifi free in every room and some basic computers with printer in the mini lobby wich is fantastic.
I notticed they have rooms with bathrooms in room for as little as two and as many as 8 people if i am not mistaken, so little or large groups will be ok here.
Also i had the good luck that at the time was the "Russian employee" (Hola Amigo :) wish you the best and thank you for everything ), he works-help at the hotel, fantastic guy , has been there for a month and maybe when you are there he still will be.
They ask you for a deposit wish if everything is fine, they return without hassels when you are gone. Maybe the only drawback would be that it is cash only hotel, no credit card, but that is the only drawback in my opinion, but no big thing because it is fairly low priced.

Room Tip: Be very careful: Two scams very dangerous and bad for your trip: the ladies with big smile and supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank latin0692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed at this hostel for 4 nights. Booked a double room, shared bathroom and got upgraded to a double room ensuite for free, so we were very happy with that. Staffs are very friendly, helpful and very informative. Great location - close to Forbidden City and the subway station. They have a cafe but most of time it's very smoky and there's no ventilation, the reason why we didn't eat there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mareeyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

There was a problem with our airline the night we were supposed to fly to Beijing. Three of us were made to take a different flight just to reach Beijing and our mobile providers were not working. Only 3 of us showed up in Sunrise Hostel with no means to contact the other three. That morning, the hostel receptionist told us that one of our friends called the hostel while we were out and asked them to tell us they will be arriving in a few hours, to our relief! They held the rooms of our friends until they arrived, which was 9 hours later than expected.

Sunrise Tian An Men Hostel is about 15-20 minutes walk to the Forbidden City, and around the same distance to the Dengshikou Subway station. It is not along the highway but once you show the hostel map to the cab driver, they can easily find it. There is a supermarket at the end of the alley for anything that you need. The hostel also has a bar, but we didn't get to try their foods because Filipinos always look for rice meals.

The rooms were clean with night lights atop of every bed. There are comforters for good night sleep during cold seasons. Their TV has only one English channel, CCTV, but since we don't hang around the room often, we only use it to know the weather for the day. There is no partition between the toilet and the shower area, but the bathroom is reasonably spacious. It has a huge water heater, hence, water is at boiling point in a matter of seconds! There are hot and cold water dispensers for drinking and a common bathroom you can use so that you don't have to open your room when you're all set to go.

There are also two PC's with internet in the reception area, which you can use for free. However, keep in mind that all social networking sites, such as Facebook, are banned in China.

The staff are very accomodating and English speaking, which is very important. They offer tours to the Great Wall, taxi and laundry services, among others. They also have maps for sale (6 RMB, not bad) and for free. We have checked out early and they let us leave our baggages for free until our flight in the evening.

Beijing is indeed worth visiting, and Sunrise Tian An Men Hostel makes sure your stay is comfortable and stress free!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank icequeen_emjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#68 of 6,547 in Beijing
1,046 reviews
Miyun Scenic Resort
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#143 of 6,547 in Beijing
17 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#105 of 6,547 in Beijing
466 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hotel Beijing
Grand Hotel Beijing
#99 of 6,547 in Beijing
426 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Tiananmen Best Year Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feel Inn

Address: No.2 Ciqiku Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100002, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 1,409 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: $21 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Feel Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
wolk form hostel only ten minutes toTiananmen Square, Forbidden City, the Wangfujing shopping street, and Donghuamen night food market. Here we give all over the world bagpacker cheaper and clean room .helpful suggestion.Here we offers a relaxed atmosphere where it's easy to make friends in the bar/restaurant. You can enjoy a fresh coffee or beer and log on to our free wireless internet. booking more than 3days can enjoy 10% off for the China great wall tour .show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Feel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tian An Men Sunrise Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing