We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Feel Inn
Nearby Hotels
$148
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$235
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$208
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$222
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$255
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$84
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$89
$78
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$83
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
25
53
36
7
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
53
36
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketforbidden cityprivate bathroomhostelfclocationenglish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 133 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Sunrise is in a great and quiet location just a few minutes walk from the bustling Wangfujing shopping street and the slightly dubious tourist attraction of the Donghuamen Night Market. Its only 15 minutes walk from the Forbidden city and T square and other attractions. The twin room is clean, reasonably spacious and the heating works a treat.

The staff were great and really helpful... The free 'wine' shots from the barmaid were and added bonus.

The only downside to this place is the distinct smell of raw sewage which lingers in the bathrooms. All in all, a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulTeam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Very well located, practicaly behind forbidden city, night markets at 5 minutes, metro stations at 10 minutes, and the best: super friendly staff and fantastic pub for breakfast, lunch and some cold ones at night. I stayed at double room without bathroom wich has to use the shared bathroom outside (for taking bath and peeing etc), and a shared sink (for washing face, brushing teeth, comb hair etc..) but you dont feel uncomfortable at all doing it, because reception and cleaning people are so laid back and friendly that you feel at your best friend or cousins home right away.
They have very good wifi free in every room and some basic computers with printer in the mini lobby wich is fantastic.
I notticed they have rooms with bathrooms in room for as little as two and as many as 8 people if i am not mistaken, so little or large groups will be ok here.
Also i had the good luck that at the time was the "Russian employee" (Hola Amigo :) wish you the best and thank you for everything ), he works-help at the hotel, fantastic guy , has been there for a month and maybe when you are there he still will be.
They ask you for a deposit wish if everything is fine, they return without hassels when you are gone. Maybe the only drawback would be that it is cash only hotel, no credit card, but that is the only drawback in my opinion, but no big thing because it is fairly low priced.

Room Tip: Be very careful: Two scams very dangerous and bad for your trip: the ladies with big smile and super friendly attitude who approach you to speak english and bring you to a place, and the biker-taxi guys who will take you to a hidden alley and try to charge you 300 minium (for a 3 ride). Dont use them at any ocation and avoid them at any cost, dont be friendly with them and feel bad for it, they are bad people who approach you with a smile with very bad intentions. So always be aware of other type of scams, i dont know why but China is getting unfriendly for Foreigners and the police are aware of this scams but dont care as long as it happens to foreigners.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank latin0692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed at this hostel for 4 nights. Booked a double room, shared bathroom and got upgraded to a double room ensuite for free, so we were very happy with that. Staffs are very friendly, helpful and very informative. Great location - close to Forbidden City and the subway station. They have a cafe but most of time it's very smoky and there's no ventilation, the reason why we didn't eat there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mareeyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

There was a problem with our airline the night we were supposed to fly to Beijing. Three of us were made to take a different flight just to reach Beijing and our mobile providers were not working. Only 3 of us showed up in Sunrise Hostel with no means to contact the other three. That morning, the hostel receptionist told us that one of our friends called the hostel while we were out and asked them to tell us they will be arriving in a few hours, to our relief! They held the rooms of our friends until they arrived, which was 9 hours later than expected.

Sunrise Tian An Men Hostel is about 15-20 minutes walk to the Forbidden City, and around the same distance to the Dengshikou Subway station. It is not along the highway but once you show the hostel map to the cab driver, they can easily find it. There is a supermarket at the end of the alley for anything that you need. The hostel also has a bar, but we didn't get to try their foods because Filipinos always look for rice meals.

The rooms were clean with night lights atop of every bed. There are comforters for good night sleep during cold seasons. Their TV has only one English channel, CCTV, but since we don't hang around the room often, we only use it to know the weather for the day. There is no partition between the toilet and the shower area, but the bathroom is reasonably spacious. It has a huge water heater, hence, water is at boiling point in a matter of seconds! There are hot and cold water dispensers for drinking and a common bathroom you can use so that you don't have to open your room when you're all set to go.

There are also two PC's with internet in the reception area, which you can use for free. However, keep in mind that all social networking sites, such as Facebook, are banned in China.

The staff are very accomodating and English speaking, which is very important. They offer tours to the Great Wall, taxi and laundry services, among others. They also have maps for sale (6 RMB, not bad) and for free. We have checked out early and they let us leave our baggages for free until our flight in the evening.

Beijing is indeed worth visiting, and Sunrise Tian An Men Hostel makes sure your stay is comfortable and stress free!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank icequeen_emjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Staff are really helpful, polite and speak english very well.Rooms are reasonable and plenty of room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrpeaceable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews