We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing”

Black Sesame Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 12,697 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Houhai
Description: We are a reservations-only dining experience offering a set menu of ten courses and two wine pairings in an open kitchen where you'll learn the secrets of Chinese cuisine.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Everything about Black Sesame Kitchen is great. Though they are presently doing pop-up dinners at temporary locations until they set up shop in a new location, even now they are selecting terrific sites like the Orchid Hotel's roof-top space for unique, fun dining experiences.

The staff, the (fixed) menu, and the food all make for an amazing experience. There's little more to say than that. Oh yeah, they also provide unlimited wine.

I highly recommend getting a group together for dining at Black Sesame Kitchen. The ideal group size appears to be around 10-15. Call them to discuss your group and make a reservation. After that, prepare for a great dining experience.

You'll not find a better value for your $ or RMB in Beijing!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    80
    27
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“on the move...”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

for years black sesame kitchen has been located on an eponymous hutong in a crumbling courtyard house. now, however, it has migrated even deeper into beijing's old city, to joel shuchat's boutique hotel, the orchid (no.65 宝钞胡同), as it prepares its new, permanent home. in this interim, the kitchen - now on a second floor verandah and glass-walled dining room - continues to present guests with some of the best 家常菜 in beijing, much of it leaning toward the flavors of sichuan. a group of us, all locals, ate there the other day and remained impressed by the set, prix fixe, menu that begins with an array of cold dishes, proceeds through a series of hot, both in temperature and spice, dishes, and concludes, the day we were there, with sugar-glazed bananas. wine, at our dinner, was from australia and is included. service from a bilingual staff was impeccable. the only difference between the black sesame's new, temporary venue and its original home is that the kitchen does not open onto the dining room, an enormous attraction of the old locale. in the end, however, the food was as good as its ever been. bravo!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank edgargan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tourist trap ”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I visited black sesame in March with family who are locals in Beijing, the food was tasty and staff were very friendly and you get a good view on how the food is made which is a fun experience, but personally for the price (300¥ per person) it is not worth it at all, you can find mitchelin star resteraunts for less per person including drinks,save your money.

Helpful?
8 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eat here. Die happy !! Extremely happy !!!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Without a doubt, certainly to my mind, the BEST MEAL my wife, daughter and I enjoyed on our recent short stay in Beijing .... which is a big call as we also enjoyed mouth-watering Peking Duck at "Da Dong Duck" - a sumptuous meal that got closer to decadent than I have ever been before. However, for overall enjoyment, magnificent food and sheer value for money, BSK romps it in by a country mile. I am horrified to learn of their current strife and search for new premises but, wherever they re-open (and I have no doubt that they will do so soon .... they are waaaay too good to fall off the edge of the world), you will be doing yourself a major dis-service if you do not book in just as soon as they have their feet on the ground again. I cannot imagine their new location could be any harder to find than the old (their map and precise directions were a very necessary god-send), but their set menu meal (10 .... count 'em .....10.... courses, all truly amazing) is worth tracking down at any effort/expense. To have so many wonderful, varied, complementary dishes with amazing flavours, combinations and textures prepared and cooked just metres before you was a truly glorious experience, even (or particularly?) for our trio of "non-foodies" ... so I can only imagine how gourmets would react (especially as our hosts were very keen to explain the ingredients, cooking techniques, nuances etc of each dish) ... and the Cooking School/s must be to die for if you are so inclined. The whole set-up virtually guarantees one of the best nights out of your life : the food has to be experienced to be believed and is the icing on the cake of glorious location, gorgeous ambience and wonderful staff who cannot do enough for you. (Indidentally : no problem with language : one of the managers is from New Zealand and another, a local, had better English than I !!). The prospect of sharing a table with strangers un-nerved me somewhat (in light of my poor social skills) but, within minutes it was like dining with a group of friends with whom one had shared many meals with over the decades .... ok, maybe the constant flow of good Western wines helped a little but, more realistically, I think the mutual eager anticipation for what was to come next from the kitchen no more than 10 metres from your mouth served to establish a relaxed sense of shared adventure. Certainly, time seemed to fly and the evening was over all too quickly ..... but by then my belly was undoubtedly bigger than my eyes!. Undoubtedly, if I ever find myself in Beijing again, BSK will be the first place I shall be booking meal. Do yourself a favour : make a reservation there yourself ...... now !!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffriddiford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Restaurant closed”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

In process of planning a trip to Beijing and was very excited by excellent reviews this restaurant received. Went onto Facebook to see if there was a clearer printable map and read there that the restaurant is closed for April 2014 and until further notice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Sesame Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing