We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit especially after reading the book: Serve the People”

Black Sesame Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 12,642 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Houhai
Description: We are a reservations-only dining experience offering a set menu of ten courses and two wine pairings in an open kitchen where you'll learn the secrets of Chinese cuisine.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Must visit especially after reading the book: Serve the People”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This lovely little cooking school/ restaurant is fabulous on its own, but when paired with the founder's true-life story of learning to become a chef in China, it is outstanding! Do read "Serve the People: a Stir Fried Journey thru China!" You will thoroughly enjoy yourself while reading the book and it will very much enrich your visit to Black Sesame Kitchen!! This is one of the best opportunities Beijing has to offer its residents and visitors. You will never eat noodles in the same way agaiN!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kimerly10i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Black Sesame Kitchen, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Hi Kimberly -

Many thanks to the Dragon Bay Readers for coming to visit us at Black Sesame Kitchen! You'll all have to come back to do a cooking class with Chef Zhang and the rest of the team to complete the pack! I totally recommend the Shanxi noodle making class.

Until next time! Thanks again.
Regards, the Black Sesame Kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    79
    27
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing experience - book early!”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were lucky to get a seat at one of the communal wine n'dine suppers. But note they are only available on Wednesday and Friday with limited seating - so make sure to book in advance. Some other friends tried to go and couldn't get in, but opted for the daytime cooking classes instead (I heard they had a super time!). The food was spectacular, the setting charming and a unique escape from the typical fare in Beijing. Plus, we made new friends from around the world - Argentina, Canada, Taiwan, etc. Go early so you have daylight time to stroll around the hutong and do some shopping.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SarasworldShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackSesameKitchen, General Manager at Black Sesame Kitchen, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you Sara and all the other guests who have visited Black Sesame Kitchen for the wonderful reviews and photos. It’s very humbling to see we're currently listed at #1 for restaurants in Beijing!

Because of our current Trip Advisor ranking, we are fielding a lot of inquiries for dinner. As we are a private kitchen, with only 2 tables (seating capacity of 22), it’s reservations only. We suggest guests (of 2-4) reserved a seat at our Wednesday and Friday communal wine and dines 2-4 weeks in advance to avoid disappointment. But at times we do get cancellations. So call us to check in! As an alternative, we do have cooking classes during the day.

Thank you from the team at Black Sesame Kitchen. We'll continue to strive to bring you great food and fun times!

- Michelle Tang (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Unique Experience”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great food, excellent value and a wonderful way to sample a wide range of Chinese dishes in a unique setting!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 443RichardV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great 10-course dinner”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We enjoyed a great dinner at Black Sesame Kitchen. Some awfully good food: the shiitake mushrooms with coriander are about the best mushrooms I have ever tasted, the wild rice root was delicious as were the pork and pumpkin dumplings, not a combination I would have expected. The dessert of caramelized pineapple with black sesame ice cream was simply outstanding.

BSK is all set up for diners' enjoyment. Lots of good conversation, generally with other travellers and interesting ex-pats. The wine and beer flows freely, always a good thing.

It's all located in the very way back of a building off a smallish hutong. Not easy to find, but well worth the looking for it. Will definitely be back next time we're in Beijing

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank artmanintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
“Super duper”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Wonderful! Highly recommend it. Dig into that sesame ice cream-

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarita_Clarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Sesame Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing