We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel
Ranked #15 of 1,363 Beijing B&B and Inns
Namur Province, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Traditional and beautiful”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed in this hostel for six nights.
+: This is a very nice place and the people working there are very helpful. It is located in a traditional area of Beijing. The room was clean.
-: The room was wet and the bed was a bit hard.

I really recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    41
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
9
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I think if you are going to visit beijing you need to experience staying in a hutong and this hostel was located on the outskirts of the hutong area. I found this place using hostelworld. Stayed in an eight bed dorm that had air conditioning which is key in the summer. Now the hutong area was not far to walk to and I generally went there for my meals. It was also not far from the subway system.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hard to find but worth it. Arrived at the airport and our taxi driver called the hostel for directions - definitely off the beaten path but that can be a good thing. Lovely place, great courtyard, easy place to relax, comfortable. Most rooms open to the courtyard which makes it easy to meet and mingle with other guests. Convenient to local food establishments and vendors as well as buses and the subway. I always felt safe and secure in the hostel and in the local neighborhood. Great base for sightseeing and visiting Beijing. We stayed here 5 nights. The only complaint - from my wife as I was comfortable, is that the bed was a bit on the hard side. Friendly and helpful staff. All in all, a great stay here and I will definitely return here on any subsequent visit.

Room Tip: We had a private room with ensuite, but friends were in the dorms and were comfortable. Get a first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is such a lovely hostel!!! It has a great courtyard that you can relax in and meet other travellers. The cafe is decent and has a pool table and bar. The whole place looks great and feels very clean. The location, whilst it is hard to find, is not bad at all, being quite close to the summer palace.

However, I have to say that the rooms themselves really let the place down and that is SUCH a shame!!! The layout of the beds in my four bed dorm was strange. The beds are lined up next to each other, which I felt was bad planning, as it's much nicer if they were placed in each corner for example. It felt like being in the army! If they placed the beds in the corners, gave each bed a light and maybe an electric socket and made sure the air-con worked, this would be one of the best hostels I've stayed at.

The bathroom seemed clean, but was communal and not in individual rooms.

Bit of a shame, but I can't give this hostel 5 stars, as the rooms were just not very nice. Everything else is actually fantastic!

Room Tip: Have a look at the rooms and see what you feel is best for you. Also, ask that the air-conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travologer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The location is good, as it is within the walking distance of subway station, but since it is located inside a residential area, it is a bit difficult to find. The street outside is dirty especially in a rainy day, but it is common in BJ city. Once you get in the hostel, things are OK. The staffs are nice. There are the Chinese garden and the indoor space to exchange and make friends. My room and the common place are clean, but forgive the little insects, as the hostel lays inside a residential area.
A tip is that to bring a little torch with you, as the stair to second floor is outdoor and there is no light.

A little downside is that smoking is allowed outdoor in the garden, but since smoking is common in China, just forgive it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_ytyeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was a nice hostel full of Chinese style, but the room that I got was not clean enough. I could not control the air-conditioner. It was very hot at night. The air flow was so light. Then, it was not enough for breathing in the 6-dorm beds room that we had 6 people in that room. I got many mosquito bites both in the room and the outside area. The bathroom smelled pretty bad. However, you would meet a lot of Chinese students here. There was a night market near the hotel in the evening that you could go shopping with a good price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodidear999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A very friendly staff! They help me through everything including finding a cheap taxi. Plus clean and modern rooms ,he staff were friendly, helped with problems in our room, and recommended a great place for Peking duck. The overall atmosphere inside is very nice, and outside of the hostel is (what seemed to me to be) an authentic Beijing neighbourhood.so nice!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anni t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Red Lantern House
Red Lantern House
#5 of 1,363 in Beijing
311 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,363 in Beijing
100 reviews
Houhai
Beijing Templeside Hutong Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel

Property: Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel
Address: No.1 Zhiqiangbeiyuan, Wenhuiyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100082, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,363 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel is a courtyard-style hostel, which is only 10 minutes walk from Jishuitan Subway Station (on Line 2). With simple but warm decoration, Heyuan provides guests with a quiet yard in a noisy neighborhood, which has flourishing vegetation, chirping birds and sweet flowers. Inside the hostel, guests can eat, relax or talk in our balcony, dining room or bar which has a billiard table. There are many famous scenery spots around our hostel. It is only 3 kilometers away from the hostel to Gulou and Houhai, 3.5 kilometers to Beijing Exhibition Centre, 4.5 kilometers to Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, Bird Nest and the Water Cube, and 30 kilometers to Beijing Capital International Airport. Guests can walk to Beijing Normal University and Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications.All guest rooms are equipped with air-conditioner, heating installation, bathroom and window. Some guest rooms are equipped with flat-screen TV and electric kettle.In the dining room, you can taste both Chinese food and Western food. In the bar, you can have Specialty Coffee, a variety of alcoholic drink and water.24-hour reception provides guests with ticket-booking service and traveling information. The hostel also help guests wash and dry clothes, provides free-Wifi, safe case and Baggage Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing