We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable w no frill ...yet with integrity!!! Don't bother to ponder, sign up asap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel
Ranked #11 of 1,345 Beijing B&B and Inns
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Affordable w no frill ...yet with integrity!!! Don't bother to ponder, sign up asap”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Though there was some mistakes at the booking of rooms, the manager served me and showed me with integrity by honouring their discounted packages after a rearrangment...
One of the staff even stayed up late or wake up early to assist me...i deeply appreciate their kindness and effort!

Great to have such services and people with integrity and they are all chinese like me, though i m a singaporean chinese....

Loved its roadside stalls on all kind of local delights and its smelly beancurd(well fried and cheap).. Most importantly it has a late night stall that sells hot pot style - steamboat choices at unbelievably cheap prices!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Such food will be costly if consumed at Singapore

It s also near to a cinema , but the nearest subway /mrt is about a 10-13min walk..nevertheless, the location is quite centralized

Budget travellers!!!!!!! Here is the right place, u will never go wrong...Their staff written and spoken english is good too!

but would be even better if they provide free bicycle rentals for residents too...

Oops, nearly forgotten to share that: i m alone in a room with bathroom ensuite...i trust its shared bunk, should be ok....like most youth hostels

They provide trusted tour packages e.g climb of Great Wall, that will not bring you to many shops that keep insisting you to buy or try useless products...Paying abit more for such service is more worthwhile than trying to get a cheap yet wasteful tour package elsewhere

It s a 2 storey tall short buildings with many rooms like a traditional 4-wall stuctured (squared) courtyard aka sihe yuan

Read more at:
http://www.hostelworld.com/hosteldetails.php/Heyuan-International-Youth-Hostel/Beijing/37783?source=adwordsbeijingnamesbff&kid=196831&aid=2&gclid=CMLC2fugp7YCFUws6wodK3kAwQ

There is another boutique hotel right beside it, but that hotel will costs so MUCH more! Why pay more when you have excellent service of similar architectural design right beside?

But it s real cold even in April...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    41
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
9
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Took me quite some time to find the hostel, but after locating it, it was easy to move around Beijing.

I found Beijing's subway convenient, any hostel located within walking distance would be, in my opinion, at a great location. This is heyuan's plus point.

Stayed in a 6 bed form, ensuite. Found toilets and rooms pretty dirty for my comfort. Mostly due to the fact that the floor was frequently wet from wet slippers. This is largely the fault of occupants, but if one wants to stay in a dorm, probably something to consider.

Hot water was not always available, and this was where I found the youth of the serviceservice personnels not helpful. Problems get easily dismissed rather than looked into.

Nevertheless, although I disliked that, it's nothing to put a dent on one's travel. I'll still recommend staying here, if I'd wanted good service, I'd have gone to a hotel.

Some plus points include a great lobby, plenty of space for chats and gatherings. Another plus point is that there was variety in travellers, which I liked a lot. Got to meet Chinese students looking for jobs, for further studies locally and overseas, and also families on holidays. Interaction relied largely on Mandarin.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmithLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Nice Hostel! I stayed for a week in a female dormitory only. The beds were comfortable, every guest has a big locker (big enough to fit my big suitcase!); the room had its own heating system and toilet/shower which was clean daily (no curtain so the whole bathroom went wet but that was the only problem). The hostel has two PCs so one can access internet and there is also WiFi for free. The communal areas have comfi sofas, pool table and tables. The dinning area offers choices of dishes very tasty and at good value (loved the lime and honey tea!). A nice traditional garden with seats. Staff were amazing! very helpful and friendly with good level of english and even spanish! The place was cleaned everyday so very happy in this place!

Room Tip: Go for the 4-bed only, it is affordable and has its own bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlagm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nice hostel. only drawback might be the shower. if you take a shower, the whole bathroom is wet as there is no curtain. the rooms are ok, locker for each traveler inside the room.

the bar and lounge are very cool. they let you mix your own drink for a fair price. also there is pool table and internet, free wifi. there is always people there, not a huge party tho. they also collect travel guides from people that do not use it anymore so you can use them.

the staff is great, good english, they help you organize stuff. the reservation girl also talks to you after 3am.

it is a good place for a short stay. if you stay longer in beijing i'd recommend a hotel for some more room or maybe a single room upgrade in the hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A very friendly staff! They help me through everything including finding a cheap taxi. Plus clean and modern rooms. Although internet was supposed to be available only at lobby, I could access to internet in my room! I liked the style of their coffee shop and the black board with weather forecast! It's is a bit far from the metro but the station is close to many transfer stations to other lines.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatato_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hostel is close from the subway station (6/7 min) and has a very friendly staff. I was in a female dormitory for 5 nights, and except the very hard beds, it was a nice place, with a beautiful yard; the lockers are big enough for a backpack, the bathroom is small but that's ok. Staff speaks english, you can have breakfast, dinner, or you can go to the street very near the hostel having some cheap and very good food. You will met a lot of people from everywhere around the planet, enjoy =)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Clean and modern. But I travel to hostel for more lively atmosphere. Here very boring, seemed only students (but it is in Haidan). Just seemed everyone glued to laptops. Seems most rooms dorm style, only 3 private rooms in facility. Food and drink prices fair, but tried to jack my room up an extra 100y the next night so left. Because of poor atmosphere and 278y for a hostel room. Single out Kathy at front desk who was very helpful

Room Tip: this is really a student hostel. security seemed fine as many left laptops unattendented. fair foor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#47 of 6,473 in Beijing
555 reviews
Houhai
Red Lantern House
Red Lantern House
#5 of 1,345 in Beijing
310 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,345 in Beijing
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Templeside Hutong Guest House
Templeside Hutong Guest House
#16 of 1,345 in Beijing
106 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel

Property: Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel
Address: No.1 Zhiqiangbeiyuan, Wenhuiyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100082, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,345 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel is a courtyard-style hostel, which is only 10 minutes walk from Jishuitan Subway Station (on Line 2). With simple but warm decoration, Heyuan provides guests with a quiet yard in a noisy neighborhood, which has flourishing vegetation, chirping birds and sweet flowers. Inside the hostel, guests can eat, relax or talk in our balcony, dining room or bar which has a billiard table. There are many famous scenery spots around our hostel. It is only 3 kilometers away from the hostel to Gulou and Houhai, 3.5 kilometers to Beijing Exhibition Centre, 4.5 kilometers to Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, Bird Nest and the Water Cube, and 30 kilometers to Beijing Capital International Airport. Guests can walk to Beijing Normal University and Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications.All guest rooms are equipped with air-conditioner, heating installation, bathroom and window. Some guest rooms are equipped with flat-screen TV and electric kettle.In the dining room, you can taste both Chinese food and Western food. In the bar, you can have Specialty Coffee, a variety of alcoholic drink and water.24-hour reception provides guests with ticket-booking service and traveling information. The hostel also help guests wash and dry clothes, provides free-Wifi, safe case and Baggage Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing