We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“China Railway Museum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Railway Museum Dongjiao

China Railway Museum Dongjiao
Ranked #154 of 1,603 things to do in Beijing
Attraction details
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level Contributor
139 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“China Railway Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

In May 2012 we visited the Railway Museum near Tiananmen Square in Beijing, it shows the history of the building of railways in China from past to present, and also the first railway in northern China, the engineering was Dutch and Belgium, it was a large project but it never finished due to many reasons. If you are at Tiananmen square and have some time left it is nice to have a look around, they also show the construction of the new high speed lines in the country.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Arie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Railway Museum China in Beijing - full afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

In my opinion a bit difficult to get there. It took us over 2 hours by bus (line 103 and 403) from XiSi to the museum. The trafic was busy.

In the museum our son enjoyed it to be there. He was sure that he wants to be on every picture I made. But in exchange, he (with the age of almost 5 years) helped me with his knowledge of Chinese. He learned it from his mother, I didn't. How to get there, he asked the people froom the railcrossing.

For me it was even better, I'm suprised about the number of exposed locomotives and rolling stock. But I have to admit that the comment of others is true, the material was positioned to close to each other. And the hall is dark, special when the cloud are coming over and loosing the rain from them.
And that not everything is readable for me, because it's only in Chinese.
We have been there from 13:15 till 16:00 and enjoyed it.

They way back was even worse. With bus 403 it took us almost 2,5 hours to get to the trainstation Beijing West. From there we took the subway back to XiSi. And that was also very busy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank wideko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Huge hangar, full of trains!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Located a little far away from town, this museum is choc-a-bloc full of trains from the early 40s until now. Includes the Mao train, Zhu De train, one Zhou EnLai used, and also many massive ones with names like "Liberation" and "Peace".

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank kingbee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was very interested in this place because my father worked at the railroad most of his working career in USA at Norfolk & Southern Railroad

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A must see for railway buffs, if you can find your way here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Located on the outskirts, but worth the effort for railway buffs and young boys. Others who are tired of the usual Chinese museum fare like dragons, jades, porcelain and bronzes may also find it a unique diversion. The engines are packed like sardines on about 6-8 tracks in a huge hangar. Steam, disels and electric locomotives are all present, along with various coaches. Collection mostly spans 1880’s-1970’s and there are a few engines made in Japan/France/US/UK. Some can be boarded. Keen photographers will be challenged as the steam engines are predominantly black and the lighting in the museum was not good. Additionally, engines stuck behind other engines are too close together to capture the front view, and too close to you to capture the full side view. I’ve been spoilt by other railway museums where displays are spread over a vast open area. But the shelter does provide protection and elongates their life.

I was amused that the ticket lady only told me that the museum was closing in about 5 minutes time just AFTER she had sold me the 20 Yuan ticket. (Closes 3:30 in winter) but to be fair they let me and only the other visitor wander around for a while longer (3:50) before asking us to leave. Serious fans need an hour atleast. Info is available in English on most of the displays.

Those looking for quality train themed souvenirs or toys will be disappointed.

Finding the museum is tricky, so here are some tips.
#1: Take a taxi but don’t expect anyone to know the location.
#2: The museum is marked very accurately on Google maps, so take a print out if you don’t have this app on your smartphone.
#3: As you approach the museum, you will see a blue tall vertical signpost, with English and Chinese text just as the road forks. Beware - the arrow on the sign actually points the WRONG way - telling you to take the right fork. Keep LEFT, do NOT turn RIGHT. If you see a railway crossing with multiple tracks, you have taken the wrong fork and must turn back. Take the left fork and proceed for about 750 metres keeping the high perimeter wall to your right and you will come across a short right lane which leads to the museum entrance.
#4: Ask your taxi to wait for you. I saw no other taxis around, and the whole area outside the museum looks like a construction site so you may have to walk/wait a lot to grab a return taxi. Waiting charges were 10 Yuan for the 30 minutes I spend inside.
#5: Unless you are visiting other sites nearby, consider leaving the museum visit for the last – I stopped over on my way to the Capital airport – but remember to leave enough time to catch your flight.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank worldtravelplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Railway Museum Dongjiao also viewed

 

Been to China Railway Museum Dongjiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing