We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge hangar, full of trains!”

China Railway Museum Dongjiao
Ranked #164 of 1,608 things to do in Beijing
Attraction details
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Huge hangar, full of trains!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Located a little far away from town, this museum is choc-a-bloc full of trains from the early 40s until now. Includes the Mao train, Zhu De train, one Zhou EnLai used, and also many massive ones with names like "Liberation" and "Peace".

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank kingbee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was very interested in this place because my father worked at the railroad most of his working career in USA at Norfolk & Southern Railroad

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A must see for railway buffs, if you can find your way here”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Located on the outskirts, but worth the effort for railway buffs and young boys. Others who are tired of the usual Chinese museum fare like dragons, jades, porcelain and bronzes may also find it a unique diversion. The engines are packed like sardines on about 6-8 tracks in a huge hangar. Steam, disels and electric locomotives are all present, along with various coaches. Collection mostly spans 1880’s-1970’s and there are a few engines made in Japan/France/US/UK. Some can be boarded. Keen photographers will be challenged as the steam engines are predominantly black and the lighting in the museum was not good. Additionally, engines stuck behind other engines are too close together to capture the front view, and too close to you to capture the full side view. I’ve been spoilt by other railway museums where displays are spread over a vast open area. But the shelter does provide protection and elongates their life.

I was amused that the ticket lady only told me that the museum was closing in about 5 minutes time just AFTER she had sold me the 20 Yuan ticket. (Closes 3:30 in winter) but to be fair they let me and only the other visitor wander around for a while longer (3:50) before asking us to leave. Serious fans need an hour atleast. Info is available in English on most of the displays.

Those looking for quality train themed souvenirs or toys will be disappointed.

Finding the museum is tricky, so here are some tips.
#1: Take a taxi but don’t expect anyone to know the location.
#2: The museum is marked very accurately on Google maps, so take a print out if you don’t have this app on your smartphone.
#3: As you approach the museum, you will see a blue tall vertical signpost, with English and Chinese text just as the road forks. Beware - the arrow on the sign actually points the WRONG way - telling you to take the right fork. Keep LEFT, do NOT turn RIGHT. If you see a railway crossing with multiple tracks, you have taken the wrong fork and must turn back. Take the left fork and proceed for about 750 metres keeping the high perimeter wall to your right and you will come across a short right lane which leads to the museum entrance.
#4: Ask your taxi to wait for you. I saw no other taxis around, and the whole area outside the museum looks like a construction site so you may have to walk/wait a lot to grab a return taxi. Waiting charges were 10 Yuan for the 30 minutes I spend inside.
#5: Unless you are visiting other sites nearby, consider leaving the museum visit for the last – I stopped over on my way to the Capital airport – but remember to leave enough time to catch your flight.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank worldtravelplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth visisting with small kids”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My son loves Thomas the Tankengine and he had a great time at the railway museum. It is a bit out of town and having a good taxi (get them to wait) or an organised tour might be worth it for the shear reason of finding the place.
Our guide said that people moslt stay 20min as it is a big hall full of trains. However, we set a new record with a 90min visit. I think our son could have done another hour. Some engines are now better accessible through proper steps and the no-photo signs mentioned in the first review are gone.
If you are not into trains, don't bother. But of you like tank engines, like our four year old son, this is a morning well spent.

Helpful?
3 Thank Expat_from_NL_in_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“If you or your kids like trains, it's great.”
Reviewed August 8, 2010

This is by no means a must-see, and my rating reflects the enthusiasm of accompanying small children as much as anything. However, if you have time and an interest in trains then it's worth an hour (maybe even 2 with kids). Standard tickek (yep, that's how they're spelling it at the moment) is 20rmb, half-price concessions, free for kids under 1.2m.
The best thing is that despite all the notices saying you can't climb on the trains, people do - at least the smaller engines - and a couple are set aside for this. But beware. There are none of the health & safety measures you might expect in the west. My advice would be to excersise good judgement in deciding whether or not to get on board any engines. Most are roped off and a big opportunity has been missed to provide elevated walkways in order to at least see inside the engines and carriages. I managed to sneak into one carriage, which was interesting if somewhat musty, but you're not supposed to go inside them. There were even some odd signs saying 'no photos' here and there (which of course everyone ignores).
Apart from the trains, there's a little seating area (bring a snack) where you might catch a DVD of Thomas the Tank Engine in Chinese, and a stall selling a few souvenirs but essentially it's just a big shed full of locomotives and there is only a lttle in the way of English language legends.
Getting there: It is possible by bus (e.g. 403) but easier by taxi I think. The bus depot is about 15 mins walk away just inside the north-east 5th ring road - the museum is outside, across the bridge and level crossing, bear north and follow the road and the entrance is on the right. However, be warned that at present it looks like you're heading into no-man's land here. The entrance is almost concealed and replete with a couple of giant concrete sewer tubes partially obscuring the gate. Nevertheless, there were taxis about.
Also note that this place is not the same as the old railway station at Qianmen (photos of which are included in other reviews for some reason). This museum is definitely off the beaten track but also close to the National Film Museum, a little farther out, and the 798 art district, closer to town.

Helpful?
9 Thank Qupnicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Railway Museum Dongjiao also viewed

 

Been to China Railway Museum Dongjiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing