We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Duck”

BeiJing Dadong Roast Duck (JinBao Hui)
Ranked #13 of 12,714 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome Duck”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had high expectations coming into this restaurant after reading so many reviews here on Trip Advisor.

After looking around for this place in the cold we managed to finally find it. The decor inside is beautiful and we were lucky to get a seat without prior booking which was a good start.

Now onto the food. We ordered the duck of course and also a few side dishes as well being the Sole Shashimi and the duck liver. The sides we were beautifully presented and tasted just as good. The duck itself was awesome. The skin was crispy, the meat nice and tender. There was numerous different ways in which we ate the duck which was new to us but nonetheless quite interesting.

The service was ok- I wish the staff were a bit more friendly, but all in all a very good experience and somewhere where I would go back to especially when there are so many other different things that we haven't tried.

The sea cucumber is one of their other specialities. And btw the menu is like an encyclopediaencyclopedia so good luck going through it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewLau83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    371
    116
    41
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great food & great service”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Of course you should not miss the roast duck, but there are plenty other dishes to feast on. We had 2 soups which were great given the temperature outside and a nice dish of vegetables.
To be recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service and food!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Just had a wonderful dinner here if their Peking Duck delicacy. Waiter 4117 made the difference between a good dinner and a great one!!!

Helpful?
Thank Daniel_sep2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were curious as what the fuzz is about, and so we reserved 3 days before and it was already full and so we tried the next day and I I have to say it was worth the wait! Their Peking duck was one of the best that I have tasted, although I would say that the sauce is not extraordinary. It melts in your mouth, though and the flavor was just great. They also had sidings to go with it and it was good as well. I guess if there's one thing that I truly love in this expensive restaurant is their fresh spring rolls and dumplings! It was just the most marvelous thing I have tried. The service is par excellence especially that they slice the duck in front of you. Personalized service, delicious food and truly authentic. Loved it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyMomaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“i wish i was talking less”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

was catching up with a good old friend of mine and didn't focus on the food, now really regretting it!
saw my friend dipping the crispy duch skin into a bowl of sugar crystals, i was like, yew. but after trying it, i have to admit it is AWESOME.
we entered through a mall and the restaurant is on the top. It seemed a little weird to me but once you got there, the enviroment was very nice.
oh, they made nicely presented desert dishes too, totally unexpected.
the restaurant looked busy and the service was slow, i thought, but i was talking anyway.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shawn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BeiJing Dadong Roast Duck (JinBao Hui) also viewed

 

Been to BeiJing Dadong Roast Duck (JinBao Hui)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing