We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant but expensive”

BeiJing Dadong Roast Duck (JinBao Hui)
Ranked #13 of 12,714 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Makati, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant but expensive”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The restaurant is lovely but even with a reservation we still had to wait. The duck was delicious but expensive. We tried some other dishes - also expensive for the size of servings

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ibon1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    371
    116
    41
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The Duck worth the effort...”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The duck was amazing. It was expertly carved in front of us at our table and came with all the usual accompaniments. I was surely impressed and so were my other friends who went with me.

The other dishes when reached the table sometimes looked better than the one in the menu.

Slightly over priced.
I am not impressed with the service levels.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best dinner, best service, entertaining”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The duck was amazing, service was superb, and watching them roast, pull the ducks from the ovens and carve them each into 100 pieces was entertaining! All the food was great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank alisaj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For foreigners in the dark”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Restaurant is over rated and way over priced. One can find much better, quality and taste, at other location at 1/3 the price. Service leaves a lot to be desire unless you are not rush for time. Prior reviews do recommend reservations and I agree. Overall, save your money and go elsewhere for much better food, better service and MUCH lower price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hubertswork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peking Duck to die for”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Fabulous experience from beginning to end. The duck are cooked in wood burning fires in a central arena so there is lots to see. We managed to get a table alongside so got some good photos too.
The menu is enormous, but all with photos to help you see what you will get. Even so we found it all bewildering so went for one of the cheaper tasting menus. An exciting selection of small appetisers were served one after the other all beautifully presented. Then came the Peking Duck which was expertly carved at our table and came with all the usual accompaniments. Really crispy skin and not too fatty. Finished off with a small dessert and a bunch of fresh lychees.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BeiJing Dadong Roast Duck (JinBao Hui) also viewed

 

Been to BeiJing Dadong Roast Duck (JinBao Hui)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing