We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“For foreigners in the dark” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BeiJing Dadong Roast Duck (JinBao Hui)

BeiJing Dadong Roast Duck (JinBao Hui)
Ranked #13 of 12,551 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For foreigners in the dark”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Restaurant is over rated and way over priced. One can find much better, quality and taste, at other location at 1/3 the price. Service leaves a lot to be desire unless you are not rush for time. Prior reviews do recommend reservations and I agree. Overall, save your money and go elsewhere for much better food, better service and MUCH lower price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hubertswork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    322
    100
    35
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peking Duck to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Fabulous experience from beginning to end. The duck are cooked in wood burning fires in a central arena so there is lots to see. We managed to get a table alongside so got some good photos too.
The menu is enormous, but all with photos to help you see what you will get. Even so we found it all bewildering so went for one of the cheaper tasting menus. An exciting selection of small appetisers were served one after the other all beautifully presented. Then came the Peking Duck which was expertly carved at our table and came with all the usual accompaniments. Really crispy skin and not too fatty. Finished off with a small dessert and a bunch of fresh lychees.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SDW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
202 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“Gimmick only”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The menu is thick and huge like a phone book.
The dishes are mostly gimmick, aircon is poor. we were all soaked in our sweat after dinner.
It took forever for our orders to come.
It is $$$ the veggie and the oxtail dish were good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank yrtx4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Amazing Peking duck. What's special about their duck is that it's so lean with little fat and it has a terrific smokey, charcoal roasted taste. Terrific value as well. Seafood is top notch, but stratospheric pricey, but you'll find some really exotic fishes served. We had the leopard grouper cross bridge in lobster broth. Best fish dish I've ever had and that I'll be dreaming of for a long time. If you can, splurge abit and you'll taste a little bit of heaven.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank napisarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Peking Duck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

On a recent trip to Beijing, we ate at Dadong. We got reservations for 6 pm and were immediately seated. Unfortunately, I don't think many of their staff speaks English. We were given a huge book of a menu. The menu is definitely extensive and there are wonderful pictures of every item. However, we really just wanted to taste the Peking Duck and then have enough other food to fill us. The waiter was unable to help us so he called over a supervisor to help us. Unfortunately, she just kept saying we needed more food, so we kept ordering more food. In the end, we didn't need as much of the food as we ordered. The food was good, we just didn't need so much.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BeiJing Dadong Roast Duck (JinBao Hui) also viewed

 

Been to BeiJing Dadong Roast Duck (JinBao Hui)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing