We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third night's a charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forbidden City Hostel
Ranked #2,856 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel is OK. But for the price, it was the best we could find. Our first night we arrived at 8pm and even with a prior booking.com booking they said they only had one room available and needed to clean it. We couldn't get into our room until 9pm. That room had a round bed that was too small for my husband and I. We left the city for three days on the Great Wall. When we came back we were checked in right at 2pm, which was great, but the room had mold on the walls. There were no other rooms available, but they told us we could switch in the morning. We did switch in the morning into a very nice room on the first floor with a window, no mold, and and good internet (wired) in the room. The third night is a charm here, I guess.

Good location about two minutes from the night markets and a 15 minute walk to Tian' Anmen Square or the Forbidden City. Also just a five minute walk to Wanfujing shopping area/ pedestrian street. Would have liked if it was a bit closer to a subway stop, but other than that happy with the location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeds_Around_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 68 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

We chose this hotel as it was the cheapest we could find with a central location so if you are looking for a cheap hotel near the Forbidden city it is both of these things. There is also a small bar/restaurant which did reasonably good food but aside from this however there is not much positive to say.
The room has mould growing around the tops of the walls and there was no window. The room was very small and felt very claustrophobic.The bathroom smelt terrible and the shower did not get hot enough for me. The bed linen was old, worn and in 7 nights was not changed once! It is at least 15minutes walk to a metro station (and we walk quickly). The WIFI only worked in the foyer and not in the room although to be fair there was wired internet in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevKate111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days. Staff aren't that friendly and don't speak good English. It's a good thing we have a Chinese friend who's fluent in Fok Yien. But still, they're very hard to talk to with! :p The rooms are okay. The beds are comfortable. The cleaning service is good! There's wifi in the lobby.

It's near the Night Market... about 3 min walk, which is a good advantage for the hotel. It's a little far from the subway. About 10-15 min walk. It's also very far from the airport... about a 1.5 hour drive. But it's accessible to bus and taxi since it's within a main street.

But since it's cheap, I have to say you get what you pay for. If you want a budget hotel, I recommend this. But if you plan to spend a lot of time in your hotel to pamper yourself, don't get this one.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joycehehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

i found out about this cheap hostel from someone's blogger... and booked through hostelbookers, which i reserved dorm room with 6beds... and only cost around less than 20USD for 3nights.. yeaaayyyyy... so happy when you found out cheap hostel with kind of comfy and clean room...
at first i was surprised when they put me in the same room with male, but well, what can i expected more with 20USD for 3 nights heheehhehe.. at least i got new friend..

inside the room, you can find attached shower and toilet.. clean as well.. but, no lock.. hahhahaha...
Ow.. you may also used telephone to call but only for Beijing area.. so, you may call your tour agent to confirmed your trip..
the staffs are nice.. can speak english..

the hostel is around 10minutes walk to WangFujing street, train station, and one of the gate of Forbidden City.. awesome.. and near to the hostel you may also find small supermarket, which you can buy mineral water, cup noodles or else..

what else i can say, unless, i really really reaaaalllyyyyyyy enjoyed staying in this hostel.. and definitely will stay here again, when i come back to visit Beijing.. InshaAllah...
I enjoyed.. hope you too... (^.^)v
Beijing is Amazing....

Room Tip: if you on budget traveler, and dont mind sharing room with other people around the world, so you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 515KA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I got a taxi (shark) from the airport and got to the hotel at 6:00 in the morning, after the receptionist forgot about my pick up transfer.. The nice guy from the bar gave me some tea and told me how to get around the city (friendly staff).. the majestic Forbidden City is very close, walking distance, close to the subway station (10min walk).. Wangfujing, Tian'anmen Square. So as location is very good. The rooms are small, amenities brought daily, i liked the slippers they had in the room, TV, AC. The bar/breakfast place pretty expensive and so are all the little restaurants near by. Everybody invites you in and in the end increase your bill with a tea, or a beer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniellaOana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This was the cheapest hotel I could find in Beijing within short walking distance from Forbidden City and Tianam Square. Great location!!! For 2 nights at $30/night it was a good value.

However, my room was as cheap as it gets:
- my bad & mattress felt like sleeping in the concrete floor
- there was no window in the room
- shower would be one of those you regret using
The front desk was very useless as far as tourist advice and English instructions.

BE CAREFUL taxi drivers would never understand the ENGLISH name of this hotel, therefore, make sure you use Chinese name.

Room Tip: Request a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzy_traveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Location: It's a 20 minutes walk from Tiananmen East station. According to Google maps it was nearby. But I got cranky cos i was carrying a heavy backpack. haha!

Facilities: They gave me twin sharing room instead of the double room i wanted with no extra charge. They did try to sell another room with a little upgrade amount but i refused. Only setback is that they didn't accept my credit card and had to pay in cash. The heater in the room was either not working or they lost the remote. the central heating was not enough actually. but the comforter was thick enough. there is no wi-fi in the room. the lobby is fine when there is nobody but it's hard to get a seat to surf if the seats are all taken. The room walls are "thin" in a way. you can hear people walking outside. and when she said she "upgraded" my room to a room with a window - remember this hotel is part of a Hutong - there's a high wall just few cm away. You can't see anything! i don't think it's worth it. Unless for smokers. i don't know. However, i like the fact that they provided teas and cleaned my room although i didn't ask for it.

Cleanliness: it was clean, except that the bed seemed a little dusty. i don't like the pillow though. It has that "beady" feeling.

Staff: Was not that friendly but she did what she had to.

Price: it's ok, could have been cheaper in my opinion.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryamosmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,631 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,299 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#33 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,994 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,567 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forbidden City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbidden City Hostel

Address: No.5 South Heyan Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,856 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Hotel Class:2 star — Forbidden City Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Forbidden City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbidden City Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing