We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Happy Dragon Hostel
Ranked #128 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed June 10, 2010

My wife and I have travelled extensively around the world and decided to try a hostel/hotel for the first time. The room was excellent value, clean and confortable. The staff were far friendlier than we usually find in 3-5 star hotels. As a couple in our 70's we expected to feel out of place. Quite the contrary was true...we were literally adoped by the staff. The food in the bar was well prepared and cheap. Help in visiting the various tourist locations were well explained and done with much enthusiasm. We have even consdered returning to Beijing because of their warm welcome. Highly recommended if you want budget accommodation combined with 5 star service.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 314 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2010

I have no problem recommending this hostel. It is clean, the staff speak English well, there is a free internet cafe, bar with good atmosphere and all for about 150rmb. It's really close to the Subway and Tian'anmen Square and there are all sorts of cheap and good eating places all around. The rooms have en-suite facilities and TV and phone. You can't ask for more and it is more like a hotel rather than a hostel. It was a nice surprise indeed.

It's quiet and peaceful too which is a bonus in BJ. I think it must be a new hostel because none of the wallpaper has yet been torn and no scuff marks on the walls and everything works in the rooms. But this is China - so I am wondering how long it will be before it gets shabby - let's hope it doesn't.

Don't stay anywhere else in Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nanchang_Nel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Very good location, very helpful staff and fun mood in the hostel & hostel bar. Staff was very friendly and young, and everyone we asked helped us with a smile. Perfect place to stay in Beijing.

Drawbacks are, rooms are a bit small, but that's understandable, and tours are a bit expansive, but not by much. Overall, minor drawbacks for a great place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orenaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Friendly, warm and loving staff, always willing to help. Best start to my 4 month trip. Rooms good also.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
Thank stefurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

This place was amazing. We stayed there for 5 nights and it was the perfect place to stay for a first time trip. The hostel staff were fantastic and there was always something helpful to point you in the right direction. Beijing could've been a pretty intimidating place but this hostel did everything right to make us feel relaxed and help us make the most of our trip. This hostel was fantastic and really made our trip. I never write reviews but I feel I need to share our experience a little more with anyone else. Thank you Happy Dragon and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahag25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Stayed in November for 6 nights. Fantastic staff, great location of the hostel. Free Internet and a good, low priced bar where guests can meet others or just chill out. Nice and cheap, and would recommend their Great Wall tour as doesn't push you around shops, and includes a fantastic lunch!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldadventure2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

really enjoyed my stay here. rooms look more like in a hotel than a hostel. but on the other side you have all the advantages of a hostel: cheap tours, crowded common room and nice people. the hostel is close to subway, and therefore it is really easy to explore beijing from this place. thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hartmannontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#119 of 6,568 in Beijing
189 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#200 of 6,568 in Beijing
321 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#162 of 6,568 in Beijing
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#195 of 6,568 in Beijing
761 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#41 of 6,568 in Beijing
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Dragon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Dragon Hostel

Address: No.29 Ren min shi chang xi xiang , Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $22 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Dragon Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*New bicycle hutongs tour starting 1st March**FREE weekly parties of... dumplings (make and eat) , bbq … join-in, enjoy the food and meet new friends! :) That’s right … 2 times a week there is free food! :)+ 'Happy Hours' and special drinks promotions in our barWelcome to the Happy Dragon Hostel, your happy home in Beijing! Within two years of opening we have established a great reputation as being one of Beijing’s best hostels, offering everything a guest needs … and more! We take pride that our service standards are second-to-none, and guarantee that your stay will be happy, entertaining, memorable and excellent value for money. We prefer the personal touch when catering for our customers and staff are more than happy to chat with you, you can learn some Chinese and get the best tips for where to go and getting the best deals when out shopping or needing advice. We’re one of the very few hostels in Beijing to have a real bar, so the atmosphere is great for meeting fellow travellers and other guests, and we have a full tours programme to take you to the must-see Great Wall plus a variety of spectacular shows that are guaranteed to impress. Anything you need and we’ll do our very best to help! :)Our friendly staff are enthusiastic and able to help you with everything: most have years’ of youth hostel experience and are fluent in English as well as having leisure and tourism training and experience (some members are also qualified English tour guides). All rooms are cleaned daily and well maintained, with reading lamps, bed curtains, lockers in the dorms and drawers/cupboards/hangers/shower rails (+free towels +free shampoo and body wash) + hot/cold air-conditioners and extra blankets or a heater if you need. We have a 'quiet policy' for late at night so you can sleep comfortably, as although it's a fun hostel we still know our guests need a good night's sleep :)The hostel atmosphere is like a big family, being relaxed whilst being super-clean and tidy. There is a 24 hour reception + security and our staff are available around the clock to help with all your needs.In addition we can also help you book domestic and international flight and train tickets as well as being able to book you hostels throughout China.**We can also arrange fully tailored trips to Tibet at a guaranteed cheapest price**Facilities:- Web access in lobby (with Facebook when available!) with headphone / microphones / webcams + USB connections- FREE Web access in room - FREE Wi-fi in room - FREE Wi-fi in lobby - FREE library (good selection of Chinese/English/foreign language books and travel guides to read / swap 2-for-1 / photocopy)- Printing and photocopying service- Postal service + stamps for sale- FREE local, city-wide, national travel info- Phone cards + help to easily buy new SIM cards + recharge phones- CD/DVD burning - Taxi booking service to Beijing sites / railway / airport- onwards travel advice to other destinations- train + domestic/international plane ticketing service - Bicycle hire + bicycle tours- Cable TV - Kung-fu lessons from Beijing's award winning Tom Zhang- TV - Refrigerator - Secure key card access + lockers- Efficient laundry service - 24 hour security - Ensuite (western-style!) bathroom with hot and cold shower in all rooms- FREE towels + linen provided- FREE shampoo + body wash soap in all rooms- Ticketing service- FREE 24 hours hot shower- FREE hair-dryer use- FREE extra blankets + heaters in winter- FREE parking - Bicycle parking - On street parking - Late bar with daily special offers - Breakfast choice of American/English/Continental- Restaurant with Chinese + Western food menu- No smoking policy in our bar restaurant in the mornings before noon- Hot and cold air conditioning all rooms- Tours desk - FREE luggage storage - 24 hour receptionAccommodation InformationAll rooms are clean, warm and comfy - newly renovated and decorated. All rooms are equipped with modern security key-card access doors, 24 hour hot water, TV, western toilet and shower, and hot/cold air-conditioning. We also offer free internet connection sockets in every room, and free wireless throughout the hostel.Location InformationWe are located to the north-east of the Forbidden City, 10 mins walk east to Wangfujing shopping street and further 20 mins walk onwards to Sanlitun Bar Street. Out of the hostel on the right is the Dongsi Metro Station, you will arrive in Tiananmen Square in 4 stops and also 4 stops straight down to the Temple of Heaven. This Metro connects all the important places of interest including the Capital Airport, Beijing Main Station, Summer Palace etc.The hostel is also walking distance from the Forbidden City's North entrance and the famous JingShan Park, where from its hill top pagoda you can see amazing views over the Forbidden City and all of Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Happy Dragon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Dragon Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing