We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Happy Dragon Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$196
$162
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$357
$335
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$244
$207
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$111
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$242
$183
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$140
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$126
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$218
$175
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
79
133
75
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
133
75
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdongsi subway stationdumpling partyforbidden citya private double roomensuite bathroomlocated minutesdumplingscommon roomminutes walkingtrain ticketslounge areagreat wall of chinawestern stylestayed for nightshutong areaenglish speaking staffbackpackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 321 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 23 nights. Difficult to find, there is construction sites right next door and it does get noisy early in the morning. But it is only 5 minute walk to subway and 20 minutes to the pedestrian walking street with heaps of food. The room was average. We booked a double but were given two single beds pushed together- and the bed heights were 1 inch difference so we couldn't sleep next to each other. Limited hot water- short showers only. No wifi in the room- only downstairs. No common/meeting area just the bar/restaurant. The tour to the Great Wall was overpriced but at least we didn't have any 'shopping' stops. On hostelworld The hostel claims you can access facebook from their computers but this is not true. I'd probably find somewhere else to stay if I were to go back to Beijing again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasmine_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Room was run down and in serious need of repair. There are pieces of paper taped onto the wall and my partner was curious so he took them off. There was writing on the wall underneath.instead of washing the wall they taped a sheet of printer paper onto the wall.place was dirty and not vertu comfortable. Super hard to find,especially at night.took us two hours wandering around to find it as it is down am alley with no signage. Price was good and it was fine for the onenight we spent in it.wouldn't stay llonger.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jadene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our party of 5 stayed at happy dragon Beijing from march 23-28. We booked 2 rooms.

Pre-arrival communication went very well.

Odours and smells from the larger 5-bunk room ( used 4 bunks) were terrible. It was like he toilet was open to the sewer.

We advised management each morning. They sprayed something peripheral to make it smell better. By a few hours, the old smell had returned. It was aweful. Stay away from the 5-bunk room. From reception, turn left. It's the last room on the right. It was number 8106.

Price for Beijing was very good. We pre-booked a rate of ¥250/night for the room.

Staff were reasonably helpful, and some spoke good English.

Their tours are overpriced. Why charge ¥100 more than local competitors? I recommend checking out local tour companies. We took a nice tour to the Muy.... Section of Great Wall, some tombs, nice Chinese lunch, transport and guide for ¥150/adult and only entrance fees for 2 kids.

Not really a hostel. Only an overpriced restaurant. No shared kitchen or common area. Nowhere to cut up fruit you can buy from outdoor morning market.

For the same price, go to Pizza Hut in the upscale mall just a short bus ride away. (Walk west 1 big block. Cross street. Get on double decker bus going south. Pay something like ¥2-4. Cheap. The bus goes straight, then turns left at pedestrian mall, turns right, right again and comes to other side of ped mall. Then it turns left. Get off. Walk across street to big mall. Pizza Hut, sizzler (¥52 buffet is a killer deal), juice smoothie place, Starbucks, Paris baguette and more are on lower level.

Walking downtown (pizza hit mall) from hostel takes about 25 minutes.

If I return to Beijing, I would not stay here, despite low price and convenient location to bus routes and metro.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

From the outside hotel did not look too great. However room we had was clean , everything worked as it should. Staff had been pleasant and helpful. We recommend buying the tour for the Great Wall from the hotel. We did the mistake buying the cheaper tour and we spend one and half hour on the wall and six and half hours in the tourist traps, selling silk , tea, pottery and even massage . Should we come back we would not mind to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oremilak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

After 2 years I'm back to the happy dragon hostel, coincidence I got the same room. The hostel is the same, clean bath, clean room, the staff had changed, not so friendly but good if you need the help just ask, they English speaking is good . The restaurant still here and the happy hours too. If you follow the direction on your booking sheet you get there very easily . The room contain 4 beds, and a baths room for 4 people , the bedding is supply as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gheefrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews