We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and quiet.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shichahai Sandalwood Boutique Hotel
Ranked #55 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty and quiet.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Lovely courtyard hotel. Located in hutong near Behai lake and Behai North Station Subway. Owner very nice and they have a sister property nearby with art specializing in shadow puppets and closer to the lake. We had two of the downstairs rooms and both were quite large. Wifi excellent. Shower wasn't great: low water pressure and took time for hot water. Restaurant on corner served very good food and stays open late.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, General Manager at Shichahai Sandalwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Davidson,
First of all, I truly appreciate your effort on trip advisor, I'm really glad that you loved our property and enjoyed your satay here, and I hope that in the near future, we will offer you a better experience in our property! Thank you for your highly recommendation of our hotel and your kindly suggestion for the shower. We've improved the bathroom facility recently to provide our guests a better experience here! Hope you will visit us again in the near future cause it's winter in Beijing, and I believe that the snow view and the ice-skating program we promote recently will present you a unique experience!
Hope you all the best !
Yours sincerely,
NIlesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    31
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
41
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lovely little hotel in one of the Beijing alleyways -- and a very nice change of pace from big hotels while still keeping a big hotel level of comfort. Within walking distance of a beautiful lake, several historic sites (recommend: Prince Gong's Mansion) and the subway. I stayed in one of the downstairs rooms, so no windows, but very comfortable, and there's a sitting area in the lovely atrium if you want to lounge in the evening or morning. The only issues I had with the room were a slow shower drain and spotty wifi (although that wasn't an uncommon issue in the various hotels I stayed at in China). Breakfast was yummy and filling (I took the Chinese option, so can't comment on the Western). The staff were very helpful, and their partner hotel just down the street hosts shadow-puppet performances three times a week. Overall, I was very pleased with the hotel, the location and its staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MED404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, General Manager at Shichahai Sandalwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review about our hotel and inform fellow trip advisor users. I have taken the liberty to post your review on our staff notice board as we always appreciate positive feedback and comments.
I am glad our team provided you with great recommendations and I am pleased that you enjoyed their helpfulness. However, Our aim is to strive for the best possible service so I am disappointed that we did not assist you well enough with your wifi issue. There are at times issues with wifi like any other hotel but as an emergency back up with have individual routers for rooms as we do understand how important it is to be connected and I will investigate what happened in your situation for which i can only apologise.
What's more, thank you for your kindly suggestion for the shower. I did for sure take note as we strive to be the best knowing we are not perfect yet!
Since we've improved the bathroom facility recently to provide our guests a better experience, I'd love to take this opportunity to send you our seasons greetings and hope to be able to welcome you back to Sandalwood Boutique Hotel in the near future, meantime, I like also to invite you to our newly promoted program Ice-skating on the lake in Shichahai Area, to present you the charm of winter time in Beijing!

Nilesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Eloois-Winkel, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is not a big business hotel in downtown Beijing, but if you wouldlike to experience some traditional lodging, than this is the place to be. Take a room with window (suites), they are spacious, and clean. The rooms and the interior of the hotel are designed with typical chinese furniture. There is a small minibar and coffee/tea facilities in the room. Breakfast is very basic. You have the choice between a western or chinese breakfast. I tried both, but prefer none. Hotel is hard to find, even for local people.

Room Tip: there are rooms without windows, take the suite or delux room to have a nice room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in the presidential suite from 28th to 30th Oct 2012. It is a clean, authentic chinese courtyard hotel which is also the previous residence of SuoNi, a prominent minister from the Qing Dynasty. The room is spacious, clean with all the necessary amenities. Staffs are friendly and would not hesitate to go an extra mile for service. The hotel is situated at the Shichahai area and within walking distance to the star attraction Prince Gong's Mansion. The nearest tube station is at PingAnLi which is about 15mins away by foot. There are plenty of local restaurants at HuGuoSi street along the way to the tube station. All in all, we are very satisfied with our stay and we would definitely return again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiattisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Enjoyed staying in a historic courtyard home fully furnished and wonderfully restored. Very comfortable, 10 rooms. Our large room was in the main area with a tables just outside our door sometimes other guests talked into the night). A ping pong table was also in the central area. Friendly staff, not all speak English well. Breakfast choice either Western or Chinese brought in from neighbor kitchen became boring after a few mornings. But it was special to stay in the Hutong rather than a big, impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heff17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel was a great Chinese experience. Rooms around a courtyard were similar to the historic mansions of families or officials. The hotel staff were very pleasant, but didn't speak much English. The rooms were clean, but the stone floors made keeping them clean difficult. The "western" breakfast was adequate but the same thing every day-a fried egg on two slices of toast,a mini hot dog, mini croissant and some yogurt. We would have preferred a little variety as we spent 6 nights there.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the main floor, right on the courtyard. Never saw the ones on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancyjjj-953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Typical Beijingese SIHE House, very clean and quite. Hotel people are very hospital and nice, like staying at home! When there is sunshine, it is fantastic to sit in the yard, reading books by drinking some tea. It is my favorite hotel in Beijing.

Room Tip: president suite is very nice, my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simplegoodness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#36 of 6,483 in Beijing
489 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,483 in Beijing
565 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#75 of 6,483 in Beijing
245 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#78 of 6,483 in Beijing
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shichahai Sandalwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shichahai Sandalwood Boutique Hotel

Property: Shichahai Sandalwood Boutique Hotel
Address: No. 42 Xinghua Hutong, Xicheng District | Beijing, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shichahai Sandalwood Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bejing Fulu Quadrangle Hotel is accented with pavilion decor, set in the style of the Ming and Qing Dynasties. All of its suites are furnished with tiny leaf motif sandalwood and furniture items in red ebony-like wood. These choices reflect the cultural tradition centered on more than luxury, namely on their mission to satisfy the search for an out of the ordinary environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your Shichahai Sandalwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing