We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location and the friendliest staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #10 of 1,419 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Located in a pleasant hutong with some of the friendliest staff I've ever met in a hotel. They were great in helping us out with things to do, directions, and booking tours and train tickets. The hotel is located a 10 minute walk from the metro, about a 30 minute walk from Wangfujing Snack Street, The Forbidden City, and Ghost Street (for a great selection of restaurants). The suite we stayed in was fantastic with a large comfortable bed and tastefully decorated. It was clean and had a reasonable bathroom. The basic room we also stayed in was obviously a bit smaller and simpler but still very nice, although I would recommend paying for the larger room. If I come back to Beijing I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karl013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 147 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for five nights and loved it. The rooms are large for the price and are decorated in wonderful Chinese style. It's worth paying extra for a suite - we stayed in both the basic room and a big suite and there is quite a difference. The staff go out of their way to be helpful. The location is good, with lots of local restaurants nearby and within walking distance of the sights (if you are a walker). The metro is nearby too, if you get too tired to walk. There is a cute little pond in the courtyard with fish and baby turtles. I'd stay here again. It's not luxurious, but has a lot of character.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank OnMyWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the great reviews on trip advisor. The hotel was easy to find based on direction from google maps. The staff was very welcoming and very helpful when we requested to switch rooms.

We were taken to our room and immediately noticed how damp it was. The room was sizable for China standards. However, we had asked for one double bed and we got two twin beds pushed together with only double sized bedding (so it didn't cover the whole bed). We would have been fine with eye bedding situation, however we began to notice other significant problems. The walls were all peeling and we could hear small rodent sized creatures running in the walls. There was black mould all over the ceiling in both the bedroom and the bathroom. The mould was unbelievably bad in the bathroom as there was no ceiling fan. The mattress showed some signs of bed bugs as well. (We didn't pull back the sheets to check - the sheets on the bed didn't cover the whole thing.). We decided we would stick it out in spite of the problems but not happily. By morning we decided we had to leave - I have an allergy or sensitivity to mould and I was having issues breathing. Plus there was so muck thought it might be a health issue. We decided to see if there was another room (if there wasn't we were going round a new hotel.). The staff was very understanding when we showed them the mould. We ended up being moved to a brand new room behind the reception desk (116) and it was wonderful. It was clean, had a proper double bed and no mould for creatures in the wall. Plus the bathroom was vented. We did notice that the bathroom appeared to not have a trap in the drain to stop the sewer gas from coming up - therefore the bathroom was quite smelly. We somewhat solved the problem by putting a wet towel over the drain but it was still smelly. However this was a minor problem as we just made sure the bathroom door was closed. The bed was quite hard but this is normal for China. The pillows were strange (filled with some sort of pellet and quite hard) but soft ones were available upon request.

The girls running the desk were very helpful and booked us a Great Wall tour. We ordered breakfast one day - the French toast wasn't great - I wouldn't recommend it. The dinner food was good. They offered free wifi which was great and stored our luggage on our last day.

The location is good - about 10 minute walk from the subway. Walkable to Wangfujing street and Forbidden City/Tian'anmen Square if you like to walk. We walked back to the hotel late at night and felt safe. Quick on the metro to all the other sites.

In spite of the problems with the first room, we would recommend this hotel and stay here again as long as we got a newer room. Someone without a mould allergy may not mind the older room.

Room Tip: Book a new room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superliz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights - nice small place in the middle of a traditional hutong. Great location for seeing "real" Chinese life. Felt safe. Close enough to walk to Wanfujung Shopping area or even Forbidden City (if you like walking). Had a superior room - and were disappointed, it was pretty small and smelt of smoke. One couldn't open the window and so it was very stuffy. Didn't see or feel bedbugs but my boyfriend hat some itchy bites... Had electricity cables hanging in the shower and the bathroom could do with a freshen up. Staff is friendly, but only "Angel" really understood English. Mutianyu Wall day trip was great! Ok for 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were recommended to here by friends, and we weren't disappointed. Paid a little more for one of the better rooms upstairs. Well worth it! Just loved the decor and furniture. Breakfast and wifi included. Great value. The staff are lovely, with Apple being particularly attentive. Loved the location for tripping out at night to different (non-touristy) resdtaurants. Being just inside the hutong is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mijb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Clean room, beautiful decorations, convenient location. Metro station within walking distance. The breakfast served was okay, I don't like the hot chocolate. The hotel wifi is good, I can access the wifi from my room on the second floor. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catedodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Warm welcome, nice and cosy rooms, clean and properly maintened. The young staff is helpfull and friendly, English speaking. The hotel bar is quite nice and drinks are - very - cheap. Loads of cocktails to choose from. Breakfasts are convenient as well. Location is very convenient close to forbidden city, gardens,tian an men ... The tours and shows offered are also good value for money. The street itself is very lively, lots of street food available nearby.

Room Tip: Even basic room is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrien G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#114 of 6,565 in Beijing
433 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,419 in Beijing
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing
Chongwenmen
RJ Brown Hotel
RJ Brown Hotel
#6 of 1,419 in Beijing
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.12 Lishi Alley, Nanxiao Street, Chaoyangmen, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,419 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: $37 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Courtyard Hotel, Center Of Beijing. Close To Wang Fu Jing Street And Beijing Train Station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing