We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel of charm and character.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #10 of 1,287 Beijing B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel of charm and character.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My son and I loved staying in this very friendly and charming hotel. It is in a central location so good for sight seeing, but more than that a wonderful hutong experience as we watched the locals go about their day. The chair outside the door was my favourite place to do this with the lovely staff popping in and out to check that I was ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    48
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
52
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Most members of hotel staff are English speaking. The hotel arranges for train tickets if needed and possible. This is our first visit to China so having access to friendly staff in English proved very helpful. We will not hesitate to stay at this hotel if we will be here again. This is a rather small hotel which tends to make ones stay a little more personal. We even enjoyed some live musical performance of Chinese guests here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helgi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We loved our stay here. We were two girls travelling together for our first time in China and this place was our favorite by far. The staff are amazing!!! Special thanks to the gorgeous Apple who was so smiley and friendly and super helpful everyday. She booked a great wall tour for us and organised our train tickets for Shanghai. Also special thanks to Jerry who checked us in on our very late (3 am!) arrival and greeted us when we had late nights out.
The communication was wonderful during and also before our stay when Star would respond to emails immediately.
Very cute rooms with traditional style decorations. Clean and sizeable for 2 girls with big suitcases. Conveniently located with subway 10-15 mins away but a great atmosphere to walk in. We had no problem getting dropped off or picked up at the door of the hotel. But the main road is a 2 minute walk away anyway. Lovely traditional chinese area but still really close to Tiananmen and Forbidden city and main subway lines.
Couldnt recommend this place higher! I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bexta33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Xiaoyuan Alley hotel for one night in a comfortable room off of the central courtyard. The interior is very oriental - complete with a small bridge over a fish pond as you enter the main hallway. The staff was very friendly (and spoke English perfectly well). This small hotel has a lot of charm and it is an especially "Beijing" experience to stay in a hutong. Beds were typical Chinese beds (although our room had 3 beds, which was nice). AC worked fine, decent bathroom, plenty of space to put luggage. Nice chinese decor. Central courtyard has a water cooler and a nice library of travel books. Overall a very pleasant stay and would definitely come back!

One note - this is not a Western-style skyscraper hotel. If you want to stay in a homogeneous Sheraton, this is not the place. This hotel/inn is on a narrow Chinese alley. Easy to find and well-lit once you're on Lishi Alley. However, when taking a taxi, you may be let off at the end of the alley and must walk 3 minutes down to the hotel. Sometimes difficult with baggage (if you don't use their airport transfer). You also walk by small noodle shops, people in the street selling meat on a stick, kids playing etc. The walk is worth it though as you are staying in a clean, nice hotel in - what is for now - an authentic hutong.

Room Tip: Doors are thin. Sometimes you can hear people in the hallway walking. However, our room had no windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huntahhh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed there 4 nights in twin room, nicely furnitured, with ensuite bathroom. The staff is helpful and friendly and generally speaks English. The location is great, in the heart of Beijing hutongs, where you can find real life (as well as taste non-tourist Chinese cuisine). The hotel is easy to find if you enter the Lishi Hutong from Chaoyangmen Alley. In the neighbourhood there is also a supermarket (Wu-mart next to Dongsi subway station).
The map you are freely offered at the hotel shows also buses which can be taken in the surroundings.
The room was quite dark (traditional hutong room without window) and the bathroom was damp (there were continous problems with water flow).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid (Spain)
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for 1 night on September 2012. The hotel is situated in a Hutong nearby 2 subway stations. The staff is friendly and speak reasonably English.

We booked a twin room with ensuite bathroom with western-style toilet and a shower. The room was clean and beautifully furnitured. There were towels and some basic ammenities provided for free. There was also a hairdryer in the room.

The room was dark and had an ugly view outside the window. The plumbing didnt work quite well (which seems a common problem in most hostels).

There was a boiler provided but there werent any coffee or tea. You have to bring your own or buy it in the reception. They also sell postcards and some souvenirs.

The courtyard is quite cozy and has free drinking water available to refill your bottle.

They have free luggage storage.

There are little shops nearby such as restaurants, fruit store and stationery store. It is also close to the Wangfujing street and the Forbidden City site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kgnytia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Went there for couple of days, cheap rooms, really clean.
The staff is really nice, a real good stop because it's also well situated, close to chaoyangmen station.

The place is also really good to see, really traditional, situated in narrow street called hutong in chinese.

Don't hesitated if you come around !!

Hadrien L.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hadrien l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#91 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
Houhai
Red Lantern House
Red Lantern House
#5 of 1,287 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,287 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel

Property: Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.12 Lishi Alley, Nanxiao Street, Chaoyangmen, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,287 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a traditional courtyard hotel, center of beijing. close to wang fu jing street and beijing train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing