We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, average hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #9 of 1,363 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, average hostel”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We booked 2 nights in a 4 bed dorm. We were told on check-in that we would have to change rooms for the second night. I asked what room we would be changing to and was told it was just another dorm. The next morning we were taken upstairs to a shed on the roof where the staff sleep! We had one bunk in the doorway, with the staff in the area behind. This room was filthy and not the same standard as the room we had booked and stayed in the night before. After expressing our thoughts on the room we were allowed to move back to the original room.

Apart from all that stuffing around, this is quite a nice hostel and in a good location down one of Beijings hutongs.

The staff were helpful, especially Angel who helped us book train tickets.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    52
    29
    6
    4
See reviews for
25
53
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We booked this accomodation one week in advance for six nights and even had the room confirmed by phone. Two hours before our arrival in Beijing we were called by them and told they don't have a room for the first night, but they can put us in a different hotel for this night. Seriously? They even had the cheek to call us on the next morning and asking where we are.

Guys, don't support such behaviour! Do yourself a favor and find a different accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. We were there 7 nights in total with a deluxe twin room. We had hoped for a double but ended up with a twin and pushing the beds together which was fine and they didn't keep moving them back into place which was good.
All of the staff were really friendly, we only had a phrase book and their English was variable but we got on fine and were able to communicate what we needed and be understood.
The restaurant is delicious and we really enjoyed our food there.
The deluxe rooms have their own Western style toilets. There were dorm-type rooms with bunkbeds and shared Eastern style toilets too so there was something for every budget. Also, the deluxe room is at the back of the hotel so is very quiet, the only noise we had was from the dorm guests using the courtyard area as their front room very early in the morning but that was only a couple of days and nothing ear plugs can't solve.
The beds are very firm but this seems to be a theme in China.
The Lishi Hutong itself is a really interesting place. If we hadn't had a hotel there we wouldn't have gone down as it's where every day Beijing people live, but we're really glad we did. The restaurants and street food are MUCH cheaper than out on the main street and in the tourist areas where you can pay 10x more for food and drink. The residents were friendly and just went about their business, we were pleased to have been able to be part of it for a while.
If you go to Beijing and want to see what it's really like for everyday folk and not be stuck in a giant hotel that could be anywhere in the world and pay over the odds for everything, give this one a chance, i don't think you can be disappointed - they even have carp!

Room Tip: get a deluxe room, it's worth the extra money for a Western style toilet and the rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murraym00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This small hotel plunges you right into the heart of Old Beijing. While the hotel may not be as old as its surrounds it blends in very well with its street neighbours.We found the staff (especially the young girls at reception) very friendly, with most having a very good command of English, and most eager to help and make our stay the enjoyable one it was. The bed was comfortable and the facilities in the room very good.
We would definitely stay there again if we returned to Beijing

Room Tip: We booked a Deluxe Double but were upgraded to a Deluxe Family - booking sites show both rooms simil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliffjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This little place is situated in a very active, lively Hutong, with all the pros and cons. Pro: active and lively! You´ll have the opportunity to experience a bit of everyday average Beijingers life. Con: active and lively! If you want seclusion, this is not the place, can be noisy at times in the neighbourhood. As for the place itself, it is quite small, with rooms equally small and many without any windows (not my cup of tea), furnished in a classical chinese style (note,style!) and not always very clean nor warm. The courtyard (the name Xiaoyuan means "Little garden") is just that, very small, but quite comfy. The staff are very friendly and helpful, but remember that their english isn´t always as good as you may think, and instead of telling you "I don´t know" you may get to hear some not so correct story (not uncommon in China I´m afraid). It´s location is very good, 5-10 minutes walk to any of two subway lines, and a nice about 20 min walk to Dongdan and only a little further Wangfujing. There are better places if you want traditional chinese style living, see my other reviews.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We have stayed four nights at Xiao Courtyard and we have found this hotel very, confortable and clean. The staff is very nice, helpful and always ready to help us (in english). The room and the common place are really confortable and we enjoyed breakfast on the pretty terrace on the roof. Maybe the hotel is a little bit out-centred, but the location in the hutong at about 5-10 walk of the subway, near a very good restaurant and some accessible food street is very good. But be sure to have the name of the hutong written if you take the taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LpJoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

After running out of my usual choices to stay in Beijing I happened to come across this one. It's a newer hotel located a bit outside the older hutong areas but still near the heart of Beijing. From the closest subway stop it's about a ten minute walk.
The hotel has both private and shared rooms with me and my colleagues getting the private en suites. Rooms are nicely furnished with TV and A/C-Heater units inside. Bathrooms are newly appointed as well with contemporary sinks and toilet. One possible exception to this cute hotel was the shared bathroom for the dorm rooms, it's a Chinese style toilet in a small room with attached shower. It's not a clean restroom all the time.
There is a enclosed courtyard in the back area but most everyone stays in the lobby to watch passersby and hang with the staff (there's also a leak problem in the courtyard from the heavy rains). They have a really nice wood lined bar that we used frequently. They also have a great tea selection with a varied amount of beer and alcohol. The staff was friendly and helpful willing to chat at anytime (but some of the staff don't know English so keep that in mind). I also rented a bicycle for an hour (5 yuan); they have three you can choose from.
Breakfast was fantastic with European options and fresh fruit, soup, and steamed buns. There's also a restaurant next door that they use as food service for the hotel, it was decent and quick. Free wifi is in the hotel but the device for the rooms was not working properly. A PC terminal is in the lobby for those that don't have mobile devices.
We were surprised and delighted by our random find and hope to stay here again. Once travelers discover this place I believe it may be difficult to get reservations in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shocktop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#94 of 6,483 in Beijing
419 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,289 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel

Property: Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.12 Lishi Alley, Nanxiao Street, Chaoyangmen, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 1,363 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a traditional courtyard hotel, center of beijing. close to wang fu jing street and beijing train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing