We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ascott Raffles City Beijing
Ranked #98 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed here as long-stay guests for 2 months, Thankfully paid off as company expense, so wasn't bearing the brunt of the cost.

Pros:
* Location, Location and yes Location!! you'd want to stay here for amazing accessibility.
* The Amazing Beijing Subway right is right under the Hotel. The Bus Station is right across the street. Airport Express is right underneath as well.
* short cycle/walk to Sanlitun / Ghost-Street / Nanliguxiang Hutong mostly all food, fun and touristy things.
* The Hotel is mostly a long-stay Service apartment than a hotel, with no-room service however decent house-keeping and the amenities like a decent kitchenette, Washer-Dryer, Oven etc...
* Decent gym, and a great pool.
* Also a shopping mall right under the hotel for basically everything.

Cons (very few - I'm sort of nitpicking, but I'm hoping the Hotel management can action on it)
* The WiFi was not really quick enough and faced a lot of challenges during our stay, I had major issues connecting to my office online calls. If this is a dire requirement - please consider.
* Communication challenge with Staff (well it's China after-all) - but the staff even the front-desk had challenges communicating in English.
* During our stay there was some sort of renovation on the floor above that meant a few noisy early mornings when we wanted to sleep in late.

Apart from it all, I'd still recommend Ascott-Raffles for stay in Beijing. I sort of miss it sometimes too :)

Room Tip: A road facing room would be nice to ensure that you feel part of the city. Negotiate a breakfast i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 131 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

The location of the residence, above a modern mall connected to the subway is ideal; there are always taxis out on the back road as well, away from the Ring Road. The upscale supermarket and Asian food court downstairs meant we didn't need breakfast -- but those who need something before the mall opens at 9:30 might want to stock up their kitchens.

The rooms are spacious, well-appointed in a stripped-down modern style, and quite comfortable. We had a one bedroom Premier suite which had only one bathroom (we thought it would have a powder room plus a full bathroom), but we understood that this allowed for a standup shower as well as a tub, which was our preference. The views from the room allowed for great sunset views and a very urban feel.

Internet was fast, the staff very kind and helpful, and housekeeping was well done. My only wish would be that the kitchen had a few extra plates and cups -- and a bigger dish drainer -- as two of each item was not enough, even for just two of us.

We would happily return here for a longer stay: it was great value for money and super-convenient as a pied a terre in a fantastic city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Lovely hotel, very clean, with French character, central, excellent service, very helpful staff, lovely breakfast and very convenient especially when visiting for a short time, walking distance to the Forbidden City, and can get info from hotel staff for the great wall tour , one day tour to the great wall and sight seeing around and on the way to the great wall.
Staff is extremely helpful, they all speak very good English and are willing to help their clients to any questions.
It was lovely decorated for Christmas , and food at the restaurants of the hotel was very good.

Room Tip: Higher floors are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here for a few months already, and its a great serviced residence, in a great location, friendly staff, excellent service and nice and spacious rooms.

A single improvement that I want to see is regarding the pool/sauna:
1) Please keep the sauna turned on during the whole day - the dry sauna needs about 80+ degrees and it is impossible to heat it up in reasonable amount of time unless it has been turned on long time before the visit. For energy savings, at least keep it on on the minimal temperature (but keep it on).
2) Replace/fix the motion sensors on the hot pool.
3) Keep some extra towel in the changing rooms.

Keep up the great work, and I hope the sauna/pool issue will be resolved fast.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindyli2012, Manager at Ascott Raffles City Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here.Your compliments inspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that guests have come to expect. Also, we have noted your observations and recommendations for improvements about the Swimming Pool and Changing Room. Please be assured that I will coordinate the plans for these enhancements with the respective team members. Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights, pleasantly surprised by apartment. Large, new and spacious, and conveniently located beside a shopping mall. A bit hard to direct taxi driver as the drop off via a small slip road, but just mention Dongzhimen station and they would know the location.
Staff are always smiling, from front desk to housekeeper. Extremely helpful front desk staff who helped me call multiple drivers for comparison and arrangement of booking for day tours. They also helped me to google a list of restaurants and attractions for the mandarin translation so I can easily direct the driver.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindyli2012, Manager at Ascott Raffles City Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here.Your compliments inspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that guests have come to expect. Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in June and enjoyed our time very much. We would definitely recommend it to others, and would stay here again next time in Beijing.

Pros:
- Super convenient location. You can access the subway through the Raffles City mall, never having to go outside. There's also a grocery store, and food court and restaurants in the mall. You can connect to the Airport Train, though from the hotel you'll have to pay a subway fare to get through underground (or cross above ground), and from the airport it's a bit tricky to find underground. You can also easily get a taxi from the hotel or mall, and it's a short ride to Sanlitun, the embassies, restaurants and tourist attractions.
- Clean. Our 1-bedroom unit was super clean and the finishings were new and luxurious feeling.
- Spacious. It was great having our own apartment and room to unpack and spread out.
- Well equipped. This place actually had cutlery, plates, glassware, etc. We've stayed at other service apartments where you had to ask for this stuff, so it was nice for it to all be there. They also have a washer/dryer and provided laundry detergent.
- Great service. The person we interacted with the most during our stay was the doorman, who was really nice and helpful. Everyone else was also very courteous and friendly.
- Big bathroom. The main bathroom had a large shower stall and very inviting bathtub, and we were pleasantly surprised to have a powder room too (though only 1 handsoap pump).
- Free wifi and broadband internet. Connection speed was standard for China, but no complaints since it was free!
- TV. We were happy to have 2 big TVs with a full range of English channels.

Cons:
- Linens. As the previous reviewer noted, the towels were a bit gray and used. Our duvet cover had a few holes too. Overall they felt clean, but some could probably be replaced.
- Breakfast. Our reservation came with 1 free breakfast, so we had to pay for the second person. It's not worth it. The food was only so-so, so we opted to buy groceries and eat out the other days.
- Noisy A/C. I was woken up by the A/C unit in the living room the first night and had to wear earplugs the other nights. I'm a light sleeper so this isn't an issue for everyone, but the A/C unit made this strange gurgling noise. It worked fast to cool down the room though, so it's really a minor complaint.

Overall, fantastic place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindyli2012, Manager at Ascott Raffles City Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here.Your compliments inspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that guests have come to expect. Also, we have noted your observations and recommendations for improvements about the Apartments and our breakfast. Please be assured that I will coordinate the plans for these enhancements with the respective team members. Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed in Ascott for 4 days in May. The hotel is in the same building with my office, so it's very convenient. The location is great, with the Raffle City Mall in the same building, subway in the basement, and "Gui Jie" within walkin distance with lots of great local restaurants. That's the best thing about the hotel. Now the flaws. First, the room does not air condition at all if you don't leave a room key in the key slot by the door. The room was extremely hot when I go back to my room in the afternoon, and it takes a while for the AC to kick in. Secondly, the hotel uses towels that are old and dirty, at least they look that way. The towels were supposed to be white towels, and I'm sure at one time they use to be, but they all looked dark, and they are very rough to touch. I thought I just had bad luck on the first day, but everyday the replacement towels are the same.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindyli2012, Manager at Ascott Raffles City Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Michellell,

Thanks for taking time and effort to review us. The issues which you experienced during your stay at the properties certainly do not reflect the service standards we strive for. Hence, a thorough: apology is appropriate, which I like to hereby extend to you wholeheartedly.

In order to avoid a lengthy engagement here towards the various matters listed, may I suggest we take up a further exchange on your stay with me directly: ‘off-line’ via my email: sellen.zhang@the-ascott.com Accordingly we can exchange matters in greater detail and understanding better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Oriental Garden Hotel
Oriental Garden Hotel
#205 of 6,556 in Beijing
184 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Poly Plaza Hotel
Poly Plaza Hotel
#817 of 6,556 in Beijing
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#50 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,421 reviews
CHAO Sanlitun Beijing
#38 of 6,556 in Beijing
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Raffles City Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Raffles City Beijing

Address: No.1-2 Dongzhimen South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Beijing
#87 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#148 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $168 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Raffles City Beijing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ascott Raffles City Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Raffles City Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing