We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful staff with cheap and clean rooms”
Review of Inner City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inner City
Ranked #14 of 1,419 Beijing B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Me and a mate stayed at Inner City for 7 nights and had no complaints about it. When we first got to Beijing then had given us directions in an email in how to get there. We caught a taxi and Ryan met us on the side of the main road and walked us to the hostel. The room was clean and had heating with a shower, nothing special but was all clean. The common room has 2 laptops with free internet and they have a large screen TV to play xbox or watch DVDs. They had lots of activities at night (that were free). They organized some day trips as well. We went to the good part of the wall for a hike, they organised the bus to pick us up from the hostel and the trip included breakfast and lunch. We really didn't have any problems with the place, and would recommend it to people that like staying in hostels.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattypoika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 280 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2010

We are very satisfied with the hotel. Nice decoration in the rooms and inner court.

Two adults and two children, we had 2 rooms with private toilet and shower. The bed is very confortable. The toilet/shower is a little bit small in one of the room.

Excellent service. Staff is very kind and helpful. They organized events in the evening (games, preparing together traditionnal dumpling...) and offered fruits to guest (nice in the hot summer!).

Our children loved the small tigers (artcrafts - textile fabric) in their room and were happy to play games after the visits with the hotel xBox 360 .

There were works along the Hutong, a little bit dust.
Taxi can go inside the Hutong and park very near the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tan_family78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

INNER City is located in an old courtyard house of a typical Beijing hutong. The inner court with couches, tables, chairs, two computers and a pomegranate tree is a wonderful place where guests can relax and meet other travellers. All of the ten rooms are accessed from this court.

Rooms are spartan but very clean. They are cleaned every day which was a nice surprise for me in a hostel. All of the staff speak English - you can communicate with them very easily (which is not the norm in Chinese hotels - even five star hotels ofthen have staff who do not understand you and do not speak English at all !). They are also extremely helpful - write you notes for taxi drivers in Chinese, book train tickets etc. Several times a week they organize activities for guests e.g. cooking Chinese meals, playing games, watching films. I enjoyed making noodles and rice dumplings.

The nearest subway station is about a ten-minute walk away.

I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to get good value for money and experience life in a courtyard house.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katarina90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Fantastic customer service, the staff here are awesome!

The hostel is set in a traditional beijing courtyard but has all the modern gadgets and gizmos you could want; two laptops with internet at no extra charge, xbox (yes I missed FIFA and COD!) on a huuuge 50in tv or something like that, solar powered shower facilities, ac in all rooms etc

The whole place is very clean. I was pleasantly surprised by the UV cabinet installed in the kitchen where washed plates are placed in, it's used to kill bacteria. If you're not in the mood for cooking, there is a takeaway a minute away which you can choose from a variety of dishes at less than a pound!

The only niggle I had was having to walk 15 minutes to the subway, I hate walking! But, this has little affect on my rating since the superawesomespecial(!!) staff here make it all worthwhile!

It's more like a family/friend setting staying here, the staff are always offering food/snacks to everyone! They are really friendly and helpful, I'll be staying in contact with them for sure! I'll be back next time to see if anythings changed!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhangman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Not sure why there are no English reviews here, so I thought Ill write one.

Hostel is quite a long walk from the nearest subway station, but the station is centrally located.

But that is about my only complain about this place.

Due to its small size, every guest here receives excellent personal attention and hospitality. That is its main difference from other hostels Ive stayed at and that alone makes the long walk very worthwhile.

Its set in a small converted traditional courtyard residence. Excellent decor. We stayed in a private twin room with private toilet and shower. Very clean and comfy facilities.

We spent the last night in a 3 person dorm, which is less nicely decorated and very basic, but sufficient nonetheless. Shared toilet and shower facilities are small but clean.

There are 2 laptops for free internet usage. Kitchen available with free filtered potable water. My complain about the kitchen would be that very few cooking utensils are available. In fact, there was so little that I wonder if anyone would be able to cook at all as pots werent even available. I would deduct points for that. If cooking utensils arent available, then they shouldnt advertise the availability of a kitchen!

Staff are very very friendly and eager to help. Esp. if you dont know much about Beijing and China, they are always on hand to give advice and help you plan your trips if need be.

Bits of fruits and snacks are available for free in late afternoons. Its all the little things that make this place excellent! I would definitely go back (and hopefully kitchen facilities will be better then!)

Oh, they also include a free breakfast of milk, bread and jam. :)

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMonmorency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed November 18, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,419 in Beijing
108 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
Red Lantern House
Red Lantern House
#5 of 1,419 in Beijing
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,568 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#64 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,681 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inner City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner City

Address: No.20 Dachaye Hutong, Zhaodengyu Road, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,419 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: $9 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inner City 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Inner City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inner City Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing