We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in busy city”
Review of Inner City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inner City
Ranked #14 of 1,405 Beijing B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Inner city hotel was great place to stay after our amazing trip around Beijing city. Hotel was simple designed: room, bathroom facilities and restaurant but we got the things we paid, it was reallt worthy if you would choose a cheap hotel in Beijing city.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SadddNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Inner City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 280 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you want to stay in an authentic Chinese alley, then this is the place for you. And by 'authentic', I mean it's cheap, the people are really friendly, the rooms are sparse, the beds uncomfortable, and there's nothing really much of interest nearby.

The staff are by far the best thing about Inner City, and are always on hand to help with quite good English (for China). We also arranged a Great Wall trip through them, which wasn't too bad value for money. However, it is a good 20 minutes walk to the nearest metro, and there is NOTHING in the surrounding area to do if you don't feel like venturing too far out. The rooms are nothing to write home about (unless it's 'Dear Mum, I basically slept on wooden boards last night') and the tiny toilet/shower combo room was weird and unusable.

All that said, this is as Chinese as you can get, and if you're going to travel all the way to China, you might as well do things properly :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

For those who are just a few days in Beijing, I think this is not a place for you.
The hostel is located in a hutong, so could be a turistic place but is close to 30 minutes walking from the nearest subway station, so I stayed there only 1 night and then changed my place for a more central one.
The hostel is very nice, and the room was ok (8bedroom).
Not much to say about the toilet
They have a laptop with very slow internet and wifi also...but sometimes it works.
They also offer a free breakfast, but is not really good.
The best about this hostel is the staff

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Yes, the staff was the best thing during our stay, they are really friendly, helpful and treat you like a good friend on some evenings they make dimsum (jiaozi) with the guests.

The hostel is a little hard to find, you have to walk about 10-20 minutes to the next metro station (it's located between 2 metro stations), but the hutongs there are not very charming, actually they are dirty, but that's how hutongs really are, so at least it's not that touristy.

The room we booked (traditional chinese style, with bathroom) was a little small, but not cleaned. There was dust hanging from the ceiling, on/behing/over/under/next to the bed, at least the linen was clean.

Bathroom was the worst place: small, mould everywhere, hair in the drain (from the first day on when we arrived until we left and it wasn't our hair!!!!). When you took a shower the bathroom was completely under water (also the toilet and baisin), which remained for hours due to the blocked drain and not working air-con.

You are not allowed to throw toilet paper into the toilet, but they offered a dustbin WITHOUT A LID and just emptied every 2-3 days, Imagine the smell!

At night it was always noisy until midnight, since the windows are very thin and people outside are chatting, singing, playing music all night long.
If you don't want to feel like participating at "Big Brother" you have to keep the curtain shut all the time, since the door is also made of glass, plus the windows are facing the courtyard and reception.

Allthough breakfast was inclusive, we never ate there. There is no dishwasher and guests have to wash the dishes themselve, which some do well, but some think water is enough (it isn't!!).
Wanted to drink coffee one morning, but there was none - no premade coffee, no beans... nothing, so I decided to just drink soy-milk. Don't do this unless you love liquid beancurd, which was the taste of the provided soy milk.

Ok, now some other good things: They provide some guided tours eg to the Great Wall Mutianyu, they buy train tickets for you (ticket price + i think about 20 RMB). The courtyard is really nice with tables, chairs, a sofa, so you can always sit outside, drink something and you are allowed to smoke there.
They also have a X-Box, TV and one laptop for guests. WIFI is free and the connection is good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Betty_Sue_1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited Beijing for the first time last week. We arrived at the airport quite late, at about 12:30am. The taxi driver, even with the directions from the hostel that I printed out, seemed confused. He asked me for their telephone number (in Mandarin; "den hua"), so I recommend you have that handy. The hostel is located in an obscure hutong, but once you're nearby there is a red, visible sign. We were welcomed by Yang, a very sweet, young man. He said he was worried about us and was relieved we made it. We realized we did not have enough cash to pay for the 4-night stay, and Yang kindly offered to let us settled another day when we had more cash. The following days we met Amy and Rain, both very sweet and helpful. as it was my boyfriend's birthday, Amy surprised him with a gift. The staff was excellent, though interestingly, Amy did not know what Trip Advisor was. Two points that didn't sit very well with me: The closest subway stop is about a 15-minute walk away. You can choose to get there via a busy main road, or interesting small alleyways full of locals, who are just so curious about foreigners! The walk was a bit daunting for me, but my boyfriend enjoyed it. Another being the very, very basic breakfast. On is allowed four pieces of toast and jam, and hot soy milk and tea. But perhaps we should have just bought our own things starting the second morning. We paid about $65 USD/night for a comfortable, private 2-bed room with a private shower and toilet. After realizing how inexpensive everything is in Beijing, I wasn't sure if this was a fantastic deal, but it was satisfactory. Overall great stay. The courtyard setting with large, locked doors as the entrance made me feel at-home and safe.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank asuzysilvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I had a great time in this little courtyard hostel in the middle of beijing. This place is in one of the many Hutongs, and the relaxing atmosphere really gives you a chance to relax from the stress that comes from being in a mega city like Beijing.

The rooms were spacious, there was some dirt and hairs on the floor, but I guess that's not that special in a hostel, especially since I only paid 10€ per night. Also the bathrooms were very simple but I got used to that pretty quickly. The beds are extremely comfortable!!!

But what made this hostel so special for me, was first of all the amazing staff. Rain and his colleagues are so incredibly friendly and they Really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and fulfill your every need.

The other special thing is the great people you can meet there. I met people from almost everywhere china (of course), Israel, japan, holland, France! You just sit down in the cozy courtyard and there's almost always someone asking if you want a beer and you just start talking.

It might not be the most luxurious hostel, but the people in it and the relaxing location make it an incredible place to stay! I've never experienced being that welcome in a hostel.

Greetings to Rain, Amy, Johann, Mitsuo and Norman!
Julius

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julius152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

A really lovely experience - the staff are friendly, helpful and speak English, and the hostel has a wonderful atmosphere. It is right in the middle of the hutong (traditional Beijing sidestreets) and for the first time we felt we were in 'real' China. There is an astonishingly cheap indoor food market next door as well.

Our room was basic but comfortable, with air conditioning, and it was beautifully decorated (the whole hostel has had touches of decoration added which make it feel very personal). The bathroom was fine, the hot water worked perfectly and it was cleaned daily, but it was clearly basic: the toilet seat was cracked, the sink had difficulty draining and the shower head kept falling off the wall! There was also no separate shower so everything got wet when we used it. However these are minor quibbles as everything else was really lovely, and we were enjoying ourselves too much to mind.

There is a communal kitchen, though there is a charge to use it - except for breakfast, at which you are provided with an inclusive DIY breakfast of toast, jam and some sort of hot bean drink called 'mean milk'! There is indoor and outdoor seating (great in hot weather), wifi and computer access, and a shared TV. It really does feel homely, and everyone made us feel welcome. We got to know other guests and swap travel stories.

The best aspect of the hostel is definitely the staff, who are friendly and always willing to help: they booked us a trip to the Great Wall, arranged taxis for us and gave us advice and suggestions on what to do during our time in Beijing. A really great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliusV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#84 of 6,531 in Beijing
259 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
Beijing Templeside Hutong Hostel
Houhai
Red Lantern House
Red Lantern House
#5 of 1,405 in Beijing
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inner City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner City

Address: No.20 Dachaye Hutong, Zhaodengyu Road, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,405 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: $9 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inner City 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Inner City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inner City Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing