We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Super 8 Beijing Jinbao Street
Ranked #3,465 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
hongkong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just OK”
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I stayed there for six days.I gree with the other reviews about staff. they are really rude. The only good thing in here is the left and coffee.Rooms are not clean, beds are ok.No wi-fi, but u can get connected to internet in your room.
to use their computers ( 2 computers in a room next to the supposed to be a bar) they charge you 10 RMB for one hour. for 10 0r 15 mns may be is free.
Staff who don`t speak english seems to be very helpful than the ones who do.
I blam the management not the staff. all in all avoid this plce , with the same budget you can find a cleaner place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fali212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
5
10
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pingyao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

The New Dragon is a hostel with one object in mind, profit. All for one sweet woman at the bar the staff are rude, unwilliing to help you arrange travel tickets or give you directions. The dorm rooms are standard, beds comfortable but don't expect clean sheets on arrival.

For hostels the bathrooms are below par, and don't expect hot water in the dorm showers, if you must stay there complain about the water and you will be given an empty room upstairs to shower.

The toilets are also below par, be warned chinese plumbing throughout china will not cope with toilet paper use the baskets next to the toilet.

My best advice is head down the same street to another hostel. just down the street it is usually booked out as it an excellent hostel. We found ourselves sleeping at the dragon and heading to this other place for all other matters.

  • Liked — The day I left
  • Disliked — The day I arrived
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cairnsopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

HK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

This is a basic hostel, in a relatively convenient part of Beijing, except up a dark back alley! - it was relatively clean with minimal furnishings. However the managers and staff are really rude and unhelpful.

They had totally overbooked during our stay, and every time we passed the lobby a new person was having an argument with the front desk, so even if you pay up front you will not be guaranteed a room there. When we arrived, even though we had booked 6 months earlier and paid in full up front we were told that they did not have a room for us, and it was only after over an hour of arguing, and when we insisted on an immediate full cash refund that they finally found us a room. There are tvs in the rooms but they are not connected to an aeriel so you can't watch them!

Make sure you have a back up plan if you book here!!

  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nova T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed at this hostel from 10th to the 13th of August 2008 - in the first week of the Beijing Olympics. We had come to Beijing for a general holiday and had no interest in the Olympics, but of course we had to pay a price that reflected the expectation of excess demand at this time: approx ten times the normal price.

The place is basic, but clean and functional. The bar is friendly, and the kitchens produce good western style food (actually *no* Chinese food at all, but you can get all you can eat of this outside.

The bathrooms here are pretty basic, particularly for those who are used to WC's which can take toilet paper. Here you have to put the paper in a small wastepaper basket next to the pan. Sorry guys, but that's how it is. At least it is a western-style WC that you can sit on, not a hole that you have to squat over.

The staff in the bar/breakfast room were very good at English, at least the ones taking the orders. Also the receptionists. There is free wi-fi in this bar and quite a number of PCs for guests to use, usually free, but at some modest hourly cost when we were there to balance supply and demand a bit. As usual, this budget hotel had much better internet than very upmarket ones.

  • Liked — Good location, close to metro, internet, free stamps for postcards, english grub, english-speaking staff.
  • Disliked — Basic bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,276 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#28 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,499 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,351 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,473 in Beijing
736 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Beijing Jinbao Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Beijing Jinbao Street

Property: Super 8 Beijing Jinbao Street
Address: No.26 Shijia Alley, Dongdan North Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,465 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Beijing Jinbao Street 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Beijing Jinbao Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 (Beijing Jinbao Street) Hotel Beijing
Huafu Xinlong Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing