We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water theme park inside is awesome!”
Review of Water Cube

Water Cube
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.99*
and up
Beijing's Present and Past: Olympic Park and Hutong Tour
More Info
$52.00*
and up
4-Hour Private Illuminated Beijing Tour with Authentic Chinese Dinner on Hutong...
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Beijing City Coach Tour: Hutongs, Beijing Zoo and Lama Temple
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Water theme park inside is awesome!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

The water cube itself is pretty to look at but the theme park inside is where the fun really is, huge water roller coasters and rockets firing people into the tube, artificial beach inside as well, very very exciting and fun, well worth the ticket

Helpful?
1 Thank Dogiecutiepie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    212
    132
    23
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful photo opportunity at night”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Not sure if it's worth the entrance fee to go inside the Water Cube to see the water theme park, swimming pool and a current exhibition about the London Olympics inside. But definitely, the Water Cube is very beautiful at night for photo-taking when it is lighted up in blue.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing just to see”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

It was pretty cool just being on the inside where so many athletes had been. We did do the swimming in the water park area. It was expensive, crowded and commercialized. Not the greatest experience we had but not the worst. It was clean and well cared for in my opinion. Worst part was we used the wrong locker to store all our stuff and had a really hard time getting it unlocked. So glad most students are taught English!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank qwnbee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wrecked!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Oooh my god! Considering that this place is still quite new, it's unbelieveable how wrecked it is! Mold everywhere! And the air inside is the worst. The toilets have the worst smell (usual toilet smell+mold smell) and even though we were there in the morning right after it opened, the toilets were veeery dirty and there was no toilet paper at all.
2 slides are quite cool but it doesn't make fun when you have to wait like forever because the life guards (who control when to use the slides) are not capable of working efficiently. Almost half of all slides where closed. The wave pool is ridiculous...after announcing a "Tsunami" we just couldn't help but laughing...
After less than 1,5h we left and wanted our money (200 RMB!) back. But the "service" staff just pretended to not understand. Absolutely not recommendable!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank elisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Go to look don't bother trying to swim”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

It's a spectacular building but if you are from a country where you can get into a pool and swim laps you will be disappointed. First the tickets. You can buy a ticket just to look for about 30rmb, 50 will get you access to the warm up pool for a "swim", and 180 into the water park with slides.
Problem is no one tells you the difference when you are outside which resulted in us getting a swim ticket instead of water park ticket. Once inside and without having got wet, the ticket was considered used so we couldn't trade that ticket in on the higher value one. Result 230 rmb each.
So then we thought we would have a swim first in the warm up pool, down we went, changed and on to pool deck only to find that to swim in the "deep water pool" you need a deep water license. Getting the deep water license requires you to have brought with you a passport photo, another 20 rmb and have an assessment of whether you can swim 200 meters. Naturally we didn't have the passport phot nor could we really hang around for the assessment. The shallow side of the pool was full of people standing playing so it was impossible to do even one lap in there.
Water park slides were fun. Nice experience to have visited the water cube but not good value and don't bother going for a swim!

Helpful?
3 Thank QbnSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Cube also viewed

 

Been to Water Cube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing