We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel in China 中国最坏的酒店”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forte International Apartment Hotel
Ranked #3,447 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is certainly the worst hotel I have ever stayed either in China or indeed anywhere else in the world. Rooms are dirty, smelly, there are stains on the walls and towels have holes in them. It is very run down and in dire need of renovation. The service is diabolical and staff are extremely rude and just don't care if a guest has a problem.
I stayed for almost two months as I was on a long business trip. There was construction work outside the building on a side road for several days during my stay. The workmen were using a very loud drilling machine to break the asphalt on the road and dig the ground. The problem was that they worked during the night, so they started at about 10pm and often did not finish until 2am in the morning. This went on for 5 days so I did not get any sleep during this time. I checked the Chinese rules and no work is allowed between the hours of 5pm and 9am in the morning. I asked the hotel to speak to the site manager but they refused to speak to them at first. When I insisted and told them about the noise regulation the hotel manager said that he would speak to the construction firm but he clearly lied to me as the work continued for 5 days. I could not sleep as the noise was extremely loud. I asked them to move me to a different room on the other side of the hotel but no rooms were available for the first 4 days. They only offered me to move on the last day when I was too tired to pack all my things and move.
My room was not clean at all, the bathroom had a very bad smell in it of drainage. I asked the staff to do something about it and all they did was the cleaning lady sprayed the bleach a couple of times, which of course did nothing as the problem was drainage. There were many horse flies in the bathroom which is usually the sign of serious dirt, stains on the wall, fittings were rusty.
The room was generally dirty and bedding only got changed once a week. As I stayed for so long, I was sometimes still in the room when the cleaning lady came so I could see that all she did was she quickly swept the floor and changed the towels, she did not do any dusting or cleaning of bathroom or kitchen work tops.
The only good thing about this hotel is that it is conveniently located for the financial district. But there are other lovely hotels in the area so I would never stay at this hotel again. I asked for a discount due to so many problems during my stay. They flatly refused to give me a discount and said that I already had a low rate.I do not think a rate of 398RMB per night is low if you stay for two months, and the discount they gave me originally was because I stayed so long. They refused to give me a discount due to the issues and when I said that I will unfortunately have to post a bad review the manager said that she does not care.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peanut009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 17 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hui1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Чем выше этаж, тем лучше номера (почему непонятно). За одну и ту же цену предлагают номера разного к...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ольга Т
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed September 25, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 21, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed May 31, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed March 26, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,301 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,995 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,568 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forte International Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forte International Apartment Hotel

Address: No.235 Chaoyang North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,447 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $53 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forte International Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Forte International Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing