We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beijing 161 Beihai Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #227 of 6,596 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I loved this hostel as the reviews state before its a charming place with a great selection of room types and prices. I would recommend getting a room with a bathroom as the shared ones weren't great. OK for two days but i was glad to leave to get back to my bathroom at home!!!
Bring a towel or buy one for 30RMB.

Staff very friendly and speak english perfectly. They organised our tour to the Great Wall for us for 320RMB we did the hike from Jinshanling to Simatai - strongly recommend this it takes 4 hours but is well worth it! Has a fab zip line at the end for 40RMB.

The food is good and you can pre order breakfast before your tours and they get up and get it ready for you even at 5 in the morning!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhianna9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickHuang, 总经理 at Beijing 161 Beihai Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write comment about 161 hotel on TripAdvisor.
Your suggestions and comments are our motive forces,I'll share your comment with all the staff of 161 hotels to let everyone share this joy.

All the 161 hotels persevere in following the local inhabitants' traditional housing structures,provide every guest the traditional Beijing courtyard environments and experience the local Beijing life.

At the same time there are 7 different branches of 161 hotels in Beijing,we hope you'll be able to try different styles of courtyard next time during your stay in Beijing.

All the staff members and I welcome and looking forward to your next visit and stay with us again.

Please accept my most sincere appreciations.

Operation General Manager of 161 hotels

Nick Huang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 90 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2007

Pleasant and friendly hostel in a quiet hutong in the West of Beijing. Plenty of buses to where you wanted to go and the Houhai bar area is within walking distance.

Interesting range of prices (rack rates): from GBP4 dorms to GBP110 for a couple of spectacularly-furnished heritage rooms. I meant to ask how much they'd really charge... We paid 220RMB for a small, pleasant and clean double room with a balcony. Small courtyard. Didn't eat in.

Plumbing basic, limited hot water and no towels. Staff very helpful. Facilities for a drink and games in the evening. Web access.

Website: ---

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Notoriety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickHuang, 总经理 at Beijing 161 Beihai Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write comment about 161 hotel on TripAdvisor.
Your suggestions and comments are our motive forces,I'll share your comment with all the staff of 161 hotels to let everyone share this joy.

All the 161 hotels persevere in following the local inhabitants' traditional housing structures,provide every guest the traditional Beijing courtyard environments and experience the local Beijing life.

At the same time there are 7 different branches of 161 hotels in Beijing,we hope you'll be able to try different styles of courtyard next time during your stay in Beijing.

All the staff members and I welcome and looking forward to your next visit and stay with us again.

Please accept my most sincere appreciations.

Operation General Manager of 161 hotels

Nick Huang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

Beijing Lotus Hostel was a really nice choice for the single traveler. And I here the double rooms are great as well. The building was clean and bright and felt very welcoming. They had a wonderful, friendly and professional staff. The common room was really nice with lots of options for things to do. There was a tv and dvd player, tables at which food could be served to you, couches and conversation setups, a pool table, darts, books galore and lots of board games. My only complaint is that the showers and toilets weren't great. The building had no water pressure, so showering was long and tedious and chilly, and the toilets didn't flush well, creating problems. Be prepared all the drains in China have an odor, and Lotus Hostel was no different. But I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nataliegoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickHuang, 总经理 at Beijing 161 Beihai Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write comment about 161 hotel on TripAdvisor.
Your suggestions and comments are our motive forces,I'll share your comment with all the staff of 161 hotels to let everyone share this joy.

All the 161 hotels persevere in following the local inhabitants' traditional housing structures,provide every guest the traditional Beijing courtyard environments and experience the local Beijing life.

At the same time there are 7 different branches of 161 hotels in Beijing,we hope you'll be able to try different styles of courtyard next time during your stay in Beijing.

All the staff members and I welcome and looking forward to your next visit and stay with us again.

Please accept my most sincere appreciations.

Operation General Manager of 161 hotels

Nick Huang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NickHuang, 总经理 at Beijing 161 Beihai Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 一層西面的房間wifi訊號好
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwchao622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickHuang, 总经理 at Beijing 161 Beihai Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed December 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NickHuang, 总经理 at Beijing 161 Beihai Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickHuang, 总经理 at Beijing 161 Beihai Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#121 of 6,596 in Beijing
189 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#127 of 6,596 in Beijing
316 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ping An Fu Hotel
Ping An Fu Hotel
#2,033 of 6,596 in Beijing
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing 161 Beihai Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing 161 Beihai Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.29 Xisi North Qi Tiao, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China (Formerly Lotus Courtyard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 6,596 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $29 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beijing 161 Beihai Courtyard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has carefully preserved the originally traditional Si-He style courtyard house, Staying with us is a good start for exploring this ancient city. and you can become a real Beijinger but not only a Traveller. we can show you everywhere you can go and give you the most useful information . Since we are situated inside Beijing's second-ring road a great majority of Beijing's most famous sites are easily accessible from our hostel. We provide bike rentals so that you can enjoy the Hutongs and other Beijing attractions at your own pace. We are happy to supply you with a map with which to explore this ancient city. From our front door it only takes ten minutes to walk to the nearest subway station, Xidan shopping centre, Shishahai, and Beihai Park. There are many restaurants and food stalls nearby which allow you to sample different styles of Chinese cuisine. In addition, many banks are conveniently located within walking distance from our hostel. Staying with us ,you can feel really chinese culture aslo you can feel the life of ordinary people in these lanes ! We will make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beijing 161 Beihai Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing