We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please stay here, you won't regret it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lucky Family Hostel
Ranked #19 of 941 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Please stay here, you won't regret it!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed in the lucky family hostel for nearly a week and the staff here could not have done more for us if we tried.
We were greeted with a friendly smile from Amy on arrival who helped us to carry our bags to our room. Such a lovely person who could not do enough for us. Rooms are basic but clean. Hostel is about a 2 min walk from the metro which is great. Please please stay here.... Helen and Amy are the best ever!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    57
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
37
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great location, excellent staff, clean and comfortable room. Close to the metro and lots of restaurants nearby. There is also a large supermarket close to the hostel. Staff went out of their way to assist with all matters which was greatly appreciated. The breakfast is basic, but we enjoyed the convenience every morning. Wifi usually didn't work in the rooms on the upper floor but there are two computers in the lounge which are free to use. Would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kajtek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went here with a group expedition and for a hostel it was right up there. It's in a hutong so it's very quaint and scenic, however getting there in the first place at night was a bit off-putting, it's a lot better the second time round. Good breakfast and good showers etc. Really just loved the place it was all clean and really cool.
If you're staying in Beijing on a budget, stay here. And it's not a seedy backpackers.

By the way, ignore the trip advisor photos!! It is nothing like that anymore, they must be old because it was really modern and clean and trendy when we went in December 2012. The front door is the same, that's the only way I know I'm reviewing the right place because it really is so different.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and was very happy with my stay. It is clean and comfortable. The hostel owners are very welcoming and helpful, they carried my 22kg bag up the stairs for me! Located less rhan a 10 min walk from the train st it is easy to find, not a huge amount going on in the area but walking distance to the lama temple and everything else is a 2cny subway ride away. The room had a bathroom, lockers and space for luggage. There are 2 commom rooms to hang out in, bar and if you want to order food it gets delivered there, great if you have spent all day travelling. Breakfast is included, a selections of tea, coffee, juice, toast, porridge and fruit, great way to start the day!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

100% recommend. Good location, near of a metro station, nice place, close to main attractions.
Friendly staff and many accesible information on transportation and tours. Clean rooms, private bathrooms with towel included. Light but ok breakfast. Nice common rooms. Not so good wifi.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lala L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phil
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

the hostel was located in an alley and a bit hard to find especially during at night time, nevertheless, it's near the subway station and is a walking distance to the lama temple. the people were so kind and helpful in assisting us and even booked a taxi on our way back to the airport. i would highly recommend this hostel to anyone visiting in Beijing

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank summerlove29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We are backpackers and have stayed in many hostels but this one us the best we have stayed in!

Only 2 minor negatives but nothing major. Firstly we got lost trying to find the hostel. We followed the instructions given on the website that we booked the hostel through but we still couldn't find the hostel. Nobody in local shops seemed to know where it was and we almost gave up after an hour of searching because we were so tired from the long journey from shanghai and carrying back packs.

Luckily we returned to the station where a kind Chinese man who spoke very good English typed the address into his GPRS phone and walked us to the hostel. Bless him!

The directions on the website said to 'turn right out of the station' but failed to say 'turn right again' so we carried on walking. If we had known to turn right again then we would have seen a big sign directing us to the hostel from there onwards. Never mind. The hostel is located quite far into an alley way.

When we finally arrived at the hostel we were pleasantly greeted by very friendly and accommodating staff who cared very much and had great pride in the hostel. They poured us coffee (much needed!) and showed us around. They gave us a leaflet with the hostel's Chinese address on it in case we needed it for future reference. Lovely touch. Noting was too much trouble for the staff. This hostel was our final stop in china and there was a key deposit on 100 cny but we didn't want to have 100 cny when we checked out only to spend at the airport, so we requested to swap our cash deposit for a passport which was not a problem.

The tea and coffee facilities are available all day everyday which we absolutely loved!!! Also only 15cny for beer on tap. But one get one free!

Breakfast is provided, which brings me to my second negative. It was lovely to have breakfast provided, jam and peanut butter on toast, Banana, tea and coffee. Perfect! However it is only available from 7am to 9am. I've never known breakfast to finish so early. I can only guess that it is because breakfast is in reception and they don't want guests loitering reception for too long. However it is a free facility which is a fantastic facility to have.

There are two common room areas which were fab and 2 computers with Internet access aswell as free wifi. The tv has a USB port and we had a hard drive with lots of movies on for everybody to enjoy.

We booked a trip to the Great Wall through the hostel. It was 280cny which included transport there and back and lunch. It was brilliant!!! Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was brilliant and there were No stops at any shops, just there and back, 1.5hours each way. We even enjoyed tabboganning back down from the wall (at an additional cost when there).

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lucky family hostel and highly recommend! Remember when you come out of exit b at the station beginning with 'z' turn right and then right again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ejtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#119 of 6,516 in Beijing
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ming Courtyard  Hotel
Ming Courtyard Hotel
#22 of 941 in Beijing
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Family Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Family Hostel

Property: Lucky Family Hostel
Address: No.12 Xinsi Hutong, Dongsi Shi'er Tiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 941 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lucky Family Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lucky Family Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing