We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King Parkview Hotel
Ranked #2,402 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed April 5, 2014

In our opinion this hotel was well located on a very vibrant street, was clean and breakfast was good. The only thing was staff, in particular Griffith at the arrival; he was rude and condescendent. We had to argue to get our reservation honored as it was clearly written on all the documents including his own documents!. Actually we had to pay an extra 100 Yuan a night for an extra bed even though the reservation was clearly stating this was for 4 and not 3. We also had to argue to have the breakfast included honored: you should never have to have that type of conversation when everything is clear in the reservation: this was the first time we experienced something like this on 3 continents... Just because of that, we won't return to this hotel and we don't recommand dealing with an hotel employing people like him.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 239 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel is definitely 2-star and no more. It is an inexpensive hotel near to the Forbidden City and other sites (art museum and very lovely park). That said it is definitely on the shabby side: everything looks worn. I got the distinct smell of smoking in my room. Room clean up service is borderline at best. A coffee mark i made on the first day near my sink remained there throughout my stay. A light wipe would have removed it easily. There is no pool or fitness center.

It is definitely hard to find--bring a detailed map if you come by taxi or have the number available so that your driver can call for directions. It's not just down a lane--is off a narrow street and not visible from the street at all.

It is about 20 minutes to walk to the underground.

Parkview is a misnomer--I don't think it's possible for any of the room to see the park.

The local restaurants are great: friendly locals who work hard for a living and cook great breakfasts and dinners make it well worth a quick stroll down the street to eat.

Overall, if you are on a budget and looking for an inexpensive place to stay that is close to good food and some attractions you will not go wrong here. But do not expect a four-star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Room is smaller than their photos, carpet is dirty and smell. It is supposed to be a non smoking hotel, indeed, non smoking room completed with ash tray and matches. Local people smoke in the lobby too !!!. Most staff do not speak English. Location is convenient but hard to find. There is a International Youth Hostel, formerly known as Jing Dong Yu Yuan Hotel (Tel : 10-64021886) has bigger and better room without carpet only cost 200 CNY during slow season as compare to what we paid 320 CNY per night per room.
Also be awared that some restaurants will charge you for chopsticks, plates and bowl to eat. Ask before you order or bring your own.
Will not come back for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ada N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

standard room are small if you have a big luggage. Wardrobe are small, safe are located at the bottom which you cannot reach easily, nearest subway is 20min walk on the main road.

close to exit of forbidden city and jin san park entrance. but need 30min walk to the entrance of forbidden city. hotel have free local call via the room phone.

Hotel allow early check in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank withjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

It was extremely cold in Beijing in January and taxi cabs unable to drop you off right in front of the hotel entrance made it even worse. You can’t blame the cab drivers either because the hotel location is way off the main road. If it isn’t winter, the hotel location is the best location there is. It’s a few minutes walk from the famous Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Jingshan park and even Wangfujing street for shopping. Can’t complain about the room either - I’ve seen worse - and hotel staff are very accommodating too. They got LAN in rooms and wifis are limited to the lobbies of each floor (just so you know too, Facebook is banned in China so you need to go proxy to get an access). It is also very convenient to book your tours with the hotel, they are able to explain it to you clearly (especially for non-Chinese speakers) it’s a challenge to book tours elsewhere because of the language barrier. The Google translate app has done us a great job all throughout the trip, so I suggest you download it too. Breakfast was nothing fancy, for me it is always good to have breakfast ready before your scheduled tours for the day, and the people at the pantry are really nice. It isn’t easy to look for places to eat not only because it is winter but especially if you’re traveling with children, so it’s a smart move to book a hotel with breakfast included. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesTamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The worse thing about this hotel is it is very difficult to find. Taxi drivers get lost trying to find it. Once you do arrive, the hotel is very comfortable to stay in. The internet is ok, the beds are comfortable and everything worked. The rooms are not large, but adequate.
We would not stay here again because it is difficult to find and the street it is on is very narrow and hard to negotiate for cars.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Location good for getting your own food as there's a food market alley with restaurants and takeaway food. Convenience store very close. Bank not far as the ATM machine at the hotel would not take my New Zealand cards. Breakfast was good. I thought the dining room was clean enough and the staff were friendly enough. They packed a nice breakfast for me to take on my early train trip.
The rooms and lobby are hot. Central Heating could not be turned down. Staff advised me to just open the windows. WIFI available in the lobby

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topsey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Inner Mongolia Hotel Forbidden City
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#69 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,004 reviews
Xidan
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
#108 of 6,606 in Beijing
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Wangfujing Yindi Hotel
Wangfujing Yindi Hotel
#2,899 of 6,606 in Beijing
56 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#76 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Parkview Hotel

Address: No.55 Shatan Hou Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,402 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $47 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Parkview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your King Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing