We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beijing Trip #1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King Parkview Hotel
Ranked #1,723 of 6,564 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay a great deal. The room was nice, the people were helpful, the food was good. The only thing we would like to see is an option to get a room that is for nonsmokers! I would highly recommend this location to people wanting to see the Forbidden Palace and area. We could walk to all the places we wanted to visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 236 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

The King Parkview is a good value for money hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and simple. They are also very well heated - had to open the window a few times to cool down despite there being 30cm of snow outside. The rooftop breakfast room has great views over the city. The staff are friendly and helpful. Usefully their is an ATM in reception.

The hotel is located in a smallish back street that has some nice small family restaurants that generally cater for locals rather than tourists - expect to be made very welcome but have to point at what you want.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Clean rooms and surroundings. walking distance to forbidden city . Buffet breakfast was good and delicious. Quiet surroundings and friendly staff . Also near Wangfujing street. internet was a little bit slow . We enjoyed the surrounding street where you can find some stores selling cheap food and souvenirs. Room amenities were complete but air conditioning unit was not in good condition. What we like most in this hotel was the rooftop where you can view the surroundings and where you can have a relaxing drink of beer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank art_caleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Clean hotel with friendly staff. It is within walking distance of 20 minutes to Wang Fu Jing or Forbidden Palace. If you prefer, the bus stop is only 100m from the hotel to bring you there.
The staff is patient and provide friendly assistance including booking restaurants and directions to places of interest.
Certainly value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sing Ngan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Good value for money hotel. Easy walking to sights and Jingshan Park. Rooms were fine for the money paid. Staff spoke sufficient english. Breakfast was a good selection of both western and chinese and plenty of it, help yourself. The breakfast room was on the top floor with a nice rooftop terrace ( you can take a beer up here in the evening) with picturesque views over the nearby park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oamarugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Arrived at 1am it was raining and dark, main gate was closed also. No signs of were to go inside since is was dark. So we had to look for the entrance under the rain since the taxi driver dropped us off in the street. Hotel receptionist had a good enough english and took only a few minutes to give us our room card. The room was a duplex room for 3 person. The room looked great, it was spacious and had nothing to complain about. The room had 2 separate air-conditioning units, toilet was big some minor signs of rust under the piping of the sink though... everything else was as good as advertised, including breakfast, great selection weather you want Chinese type or Western, the fruit selection is very good too, the honey dew melon and cherry tomatoes was my parents favorite. The rooms was very quiet and had more foreigners than locals, For the price of the hotel it is definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Majeid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The King Parkview hotel was a good choice for me since I travelled on a tight budget. Check in was swift and easy and I got a double room on the 5th floor. First impressions:

1. The hotel staff speaks limited English, but well enough to assist you. Initially I found some staff members rude and difficult, but once more I think the language barrier contributed to this.
2. The lobby is clean and has an ATM machine (although it did not accept my VISA card).
3. The free WiFi in the lobby works well and I had no problems downloading emails.
4. The hallways are not air conditioned and has a funny smell of smokiness and boiled cabbage (although this smell was quite common throughout Beijing).
5. The keycard has to be put into a funny socket against the wall to activate the power supply to the room. To get the power working you actually have to push the socket after inserting the card. (This is the first time I encountered a device like this and it took me a minute or two to get lights working).
6. The room is neat with "sterilised" labels on the toilet and drinking glasses in the bathroom.
7. The air conditioner's remote is in Chinese and I had to ask reception to send someone to my room to adjust the air conditioner.
8. The bed mattresses are VERY firm and it takes some time to get used to.
9. There is only ONE English channel on TV - CCTV news.

Housekeeping is a bit spotty and I had to ask twice for clean glasses in my room. On the first occasion the one guy from reception brought paper cups to my room. The sheets were not replaced daily and after deliberately leaving towels in the shower, my towels were replaced.

The toiletries supplied are adequate, but bring a face cloth and a loofah for the shower. The hotel only supplies a tooth brush, comb, soap and shower caps. There are shampoo and conditioner dispensers in the shower (not marked), so it takes some experimenting.

The hotel supplies power adaptors on request, but South African two pin plugs work perfectly in the funny shaped wall sockets. There is also a internet wall socket in the room. There is no free bottled water, and the hotel charges ¥5 for water. The convenience store around the corner charges ¥2 for the same water.

Breakfast costs ¥28 and is simply not worth it. Rather eat out in the city. The buffet is uninspiring and tasteless. The coffee shop on the second floor is very expensive, but the waiter is friendly and helps with bookings for day trips.

After settling in, I found the service from reception staff swift and efficient. Wake up calls works perfectly, after repeating the time twice for the English impaired folks. But they still try their best. If they don't understand you, they abruptly stop the conversation and call someone that speaks English a tad better. But they still solve all queries nonetheless. You can borrow an umbrella for rainy days (¥100 deposit).

They only horrible experience I had was the hotel's Chinese restaurant next door. They had a menu filled with gross options including intestines and glands. The staff are very rude and it felt like they laughed at me behind my back while I was eating. The food did not look appetising, was over priced and when I ordered apple juice, I got a little box of apple vinegar instead. Some locals sat in the restaurant, shirtless and smoking, contributing to the bad atmosphere. The cleanliness of the restaurant falls far short of what one expects of a place serving food. Avoid this restaurant at all costs.

In conclusion, my rating for the hotel only is still 4 / 5, since it was value for money, very well located and more than adequate for a traveller on a budget. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsleroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Traditional View Hotel
Traditional View Hotel
#910 of 6,564 in Beijing
97 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#135 of 6,564 in Beijing
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#110 of 6,564 in Beijing
433 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#66 of 6,564 in Beijing
980 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#40 of 6,564 in Beijing
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Parkview Hotel

Address: No.55 Shatan Hou Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,723 of 6,564 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $45 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Parkview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your King Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing