We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Side-car Motorcycles Trips - Beijing Sideways
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic trip to great wall of china

We had only one free day. Amazing trip in a side car to the great wall. Careful and kind guides... read more

Reviewed July 4, 2019
happy-traveller9200
Great day out

Just a great thing to do in Beijing and a way to get a feel for the city esp if you have limited... read more

Reviewed May 20, 2019
M2471QDhelenl
via mobile
Read all 572 reviews
  
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveler rating
531
31
4
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
531
31
4
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour bus great wall of china great driver sidecar bike picnic neighborhoods interests
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 572 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I did the all-day tour of Beijing in a side-car motorcycle : it was FUN and it was GREAT!
It was a fantastic opportunity to visit the whole town in a row and be thrown in very different ambiances in one day.
I did it the first day of my arrival and it helped me organize my time in Beijing (5 days), select the places I wanted to visit thoroughly without running everywhere trying see everything.
Last but not least : the drivers/guides have been really nice and helpful.
The only drawback : I found staying in a car a little bit claustrophobic after driving the whole town in the open air !!!

My advice : DO IT!

Date of experience: May 2011
1  Thank HenryDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Myself and my sister did the trip while visiting Beijing and it is one of the most memorable trips i've done. The guide Gael is an interesting Frenchman, who will take you to a part of the wall not thronged by tourist, we hiked part of the wall with our group of about 10 people and I think we met a total of 4 other people (elderly chinese people out for a stroll). We stopped for some very tasty lunch provided by the host. We trekked back down to be met by the motorcycle guides at the other end. We stopped off the olympic village to see the sights and arrived back into Beijing and drove around the front of the Forbidden City which was amazing. Note: Where appropriate clothing and footwear, the trip on the bike is quite chilly so bring scarf or hat. Also is you think your guide is going too far ahead then let Gael know, make sure you feel comfortable that your driver is staying with the group and not going to fast. Worth the money for a once in a lifetime trip to a unique part of the great wall.

Date of experience: October 2010
2  Thank Eimes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

As an ex-pat in Beijing, I was looking for something my family would enjoy as well as our out-of-town guest. We'd all been to the Great Wall many times, but never to the particular location visited by Beijing Sideways. And I figured getting there on a motorcycle would add to the fun. It was an excellent choice and everyone--aged 7 to 57 loved it! Having lived in Beijing a number of years, I was really surprised how pretty the scenery was just outside the city--and even though it was foggy, it was fun to appreciate the scenery from the surprising comfort of a side car. We appreciated the clouds when we climbed the steep section of the Wall, and enjoyed a very good lunch in an old watch tower. The clouds cleared enough for us to get a great view, and then drenched us on the very steep and slippery-when-wet climb down the Wall. However, the good humor and advance preparation of the guide and drivers kept us all laughing even as we suffered a flat tire and a flooded engine on our way home. if we had this much fun in terrible weather, it must be awesome when it's clear. We highly recommend this to both residents of Beijing and visitors and plan to do the two-day trip before we leave China.

Date of experience: July 2011
2  Thank Yifeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

this is a really amazing thing.
first it was easy to get a tour with people that talks englisg because i dont speak chinesse
then i met this great people (the ownners) they explain me everythin about china and ask me what i was looking for, so they had like 5 packages or more i dont know, but they have videos. and pictures of everything and know where do u need to go just talking with you.
so i took the wild great wall tour and stay a night on the great wall, i thought it was impossible at the next morning i woke up and saw the sun drawing the great wall
i recomend this trip is great, is not expensive once you realized the amazing things you have done. and its save. but the most important thing ... is fun! ..

greetins.
Miguel

Date of experience: July 2011
2  Thank miguelvillacreses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I went on a 2hours night tour with a friend and we really enjoyed it! Even after 3 months in Beijing, our guide, Yves, was able to show us some unknown places. He also shared his own expat life and we had a really good exchange.

Highly recommended for some visitors who are in town during couple of days to discover the real Beijing experience!

Date of experience: August 2011
1  Thank Julianito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews