We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY FIRST HOTEL DURING FIRST PHASE OF FIRST TRIP TO CHINA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xizhao Temple Hotel (King Talent Hotel)
Ranked #212 of 6,516 Hotels in Beijing
montana
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“MY FIRST HOTEL DURING FIRST PHASE OF FIRST TRIP TO CHINA”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

all the people were very friendly, polite and helpful as could be given language barrier.

Room Tip: I am from montana and like it cooler, ended up shutting off thermostat and opening a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboy1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    74
    22
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
35
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Having traveled as a student to China nearly 20 years ago, I decided to visit Beijing with my sister, daughter and nephew so they could experience a little of the culture and adventure that I experienced. Having studied the language I decided to go the more local route and stay at a Chinese hotel as opposed to a large chain. The King Talent hotel did not disappoint. Our rooms were quite nice, the bed was king-sized and comfy, the shower pressure was just right, everything functioned as it should have and the adjustable thermostat was great to have as we had a couple chilly nights and then some really warm ones. The restaurant in the hotel did not really offer Western breakfast options (the kids are not adventurous eaters) and I had a hilarious bit of an Abbott and Costello moment trying to ask for milk which only added to the adventure. My only complaint is that we didn't get the booking dates right (I didn't factor in the time difference correctly) and we had to pay for an extra night which somehow cost as much as the total cost of the five prior nights booked in advance. It made me feel a little hoodwinked which was the one memory of my first trip that I didn't want to revisit. But next time I'll be sure to double check my dates and my time zones when booking.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique_MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

For our first stay in Beijing as always we booked online through comparison sites and we got this for 5 nights for only £58!! When we got there although we had trouble finding it we were amazed by what we paid for. The reception was really nice with a young lady playing a harp! Yes a harp for £58! The staffs struggled a little with English but were very humble and a chauffeur carried our bags everywhere. The room was huge and the bathroom also huge and all lovely, with compliments everywhere; bottled water, little chocolates on the pillows and because I can be immature I laughed at the fact they provided a condom. They literally thought of everything!

The reason it didn’t get top ratings is because it is quite a bit out and not really near any attractions. This isn’t a problem though as taxi's are very cheap and they order them for you and give you a very handy card explaining to the taxi driver where you want to go and also on the back it tells the returning taxi driver how to get back to your hotel, this is due to the taxi drivers not understanding English or how to read roman syllables. Which brings me to my tips, make sure before you go to write down or print off the name and location of your hotel in Chinese before you go, as we did not and struggled getting to our hotel. Also I would suggest you book online because the standard prices for walk ins were more expensive for 1 night than we paid for the whole week. Beijing is a huge!!! place and maps can be deceiving, a distance to a location may look walkable but it’s probably miles away so you will end up getting taxi's anyway as they are so cheap (approx. £16rmb a time which is roughly £2) so don’t let the distance put you off, it’s a lovely hotel so happy holidays.

Ps. don’t take travellers checks, despite what travel agents say, it’s a nightmare to change them, and this hotel did not when we went in Jan 2011.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanillaaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Good: Warm welcome despite my turning up looking like a tramp! Bathroom very clean, free bottled water supplied. Help with booking train tickets (small charge applied, but they went to collect the tickets for me). The managers spoke good English - 'David' was particularly helpful.

Bad: Breakfast is extortionate (around £7), if it wasn't included in your room price. Around 30mins walk to subway station, so may not be suitable for some people. The carpet in the room was really dirty and their hoovers did not appear to make much difference.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We spent a few days in Beijing sightseeing before going to Dongying and stayed at the Xizhao Temple. We had booked through booking.com and on arrival had a bit of confusion with the # of rooms and price. Staff sorted it out quickly though. Chinese hotels take a "deposit" so be prepared with cash or credit card. The rooms were ok. Good size and relatively clean in comparison. The rooms had a king bed, well lit, soaker tub, in room safe, and free coffee/tea/pop/water. Be cautious at checkout that they don't try to charge for items "apparently" missing from the room. The breakfast was good - a good variety for both Chinese and western food -- a little pricy but convenient and a good selection. The Chinese allow smoking everywhere so even if you ask for a non-smoking room - don't be surprised if it has an ashtray.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stonemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelyabinsk, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Hotel is VERY VERY far from subway station. If you are ready to walk within 30-40 minutes, or take the taxi, you can say here. Extremely slow minded girls at the reception, what was also very surprising - usually they take deposit for 1 day that is returned when you are checking out, so this hotel asked for deposit (except for all stay already paid) for all 6 days! I often visit China but it' s the first time i met such request.
When my Chinese friends were booking the hotel, receptionist promised them there' s free WI FI in the room, and i asked to check it twice. So... When i arrived , there was NO WIFI in the room at all, only cable that is definetely not suitable for my i-pad....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat_cn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Definitely would stay here again!! This place was fantastic for its value. It was half the price of other hotels. Standard room. Internet included but kind of slow. Fairly clean but was a bit smokey. Also our refrigerator broke and left an awful chemical smell in the room but as soon as we called the front desk they took it and replaced it. A cool feature is you can listen to the TV in the bathroom while getting ready. The lobby had beautiful music and would probably be a nice place for breakfast but we never managed to make it there. A nice walk away from the Temple of Heaven and the Hongqiiao Market which was where we did the majority of our shopping. A great Hotpot restaurant is just down the street but they dont speak English very well but it was a fun experience. The service was exceptional in that my S.O. decided he wanted McDonalds delivery and the front desk man ordered the food for him and then personally delivered it to our room.

Negative is it was a little difficult to exchange money with the front desk as they did not like older $100 USD. Also the hotel used to be called the Xizhao Temple, which we never really got to see as it was never open when we went to walk around. A neat fact about the hotel though. They did not speak that much English but enough and were very helpful. Taxis were easily accessible but the location is a little bit a ways and when we needed to get back, our drivers would not know where it is so make sure you have the address in chinese as well as the phone number to call the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#169 of 6,516 in Beijing
103 reviews
Xidan
Presidential Beijing
Presidential Beijing
#164 of 6,516 in Beijing
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,144 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#153 of 6,516 in Beijing
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xizhao Temple Hotel (King Talent Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xizhao Temple Hotel (King Talent Hotel)

Property: Xizhao Temple Hotel (King Talent Hotel)
Address: No.15 Xizhaosi Middle Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100061, China
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 6,516 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xizhao Temple Hotel (King Talent Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xizhao Temple Hotel (King Talent Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing