We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Room in the heart of Beijing”
Review of Citytel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citytel Inn
Ranked #1,513 of 6,551 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights in a single room without a window in Citytel Inn and it was a pleasant experience.
Although the room is small but it's clean.
Eventhough the staff can only speak basic English and sometimes it's difficult to communicate with them but they're helpful.
The location also 5 - 10 minutes walking to Wangfujing Street and Subway Station.
It's just too bad that when I stayed there, the hot water is not functioning and I have to use the public bathroom in another room everytime I need to take a shower.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marry_Kusuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 196 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

My siblings and myself (3 of us) stayed in Citytel Inn for 3 nights in March. It was a very basic room and looked worn. The housekeeping was not well done as toliet rolls are not replaced (they only provide half a roll when replenished), cups are not placed back to original areas, etc. The remote control for the heater is not working and our request to fix the remote was not attended to.

In addition, we were given a odd T-shaped room where two beds are side by side, and the third bed is right opposite the other two beds. The TV is in between and therefore, there is always someone who is unable to watch TV on the bed (there is no sitting room).

On the last night before we checked out, I requested the concierge to book a cab for us to the airport for the next day. I understand there is an additional 3 RMB charge. However, for reasons unbeknown to me, the concierge simply refused to book the cab for us and insisted on hiring one on the street on the spot. Her tone was rather rude and off-putting. In the end, we had to check out 20mins earlier cos we were afraid that the hotel staff could not hire a cab immediately. The concierge needs to work on their customer service.

As Beijing is a huge city, we would like to think that the location of the hotel is central although it still takes a good 10mins walk to get to the nearest subway station. Another pro is that the hotel is opposite a massage parlour (the decent type) which offer very good services although quite pricey.

All in all, I think the hotel is a good choice if you just need a basic room to stay as the rates are unbeatable. I would most likely pay a little more and find a hotel with better room conditions and location.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a 3-bedder, do not choose the T-shape room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nimil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Hotel is about 5-10 minutes walk away from the Subway station. However, you will need to know how to walk over as it was not that easy to navigate. If you go from Wangfujing Station, you will enter from the back door of the hotel.

Stayed in the cheapest room without a window, and the room is quite big and rather clean.

The corridor smells a little musky, but the room was quite all right when the aircon is switched on.

Quite worth the price, about USD$45 per night, if you don't mind the walk.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jia284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed four nights in a Family Room at Citytel, and would happily stay there again. The room was large, sheets and towels were clean, water pressure in the shower was great! For the price, you couldn't get a better location anywhere. Just a few minutes' walk from Forbidden City, Tian'An Men Square, Wangfujing, and the subway (which has been expanding so quickly that you can now get just about anywhere you'd want to go in Beijing easily for 2RMB). Somewhat noisy at times, only one of the desk staff seemed at all conversant in English, and a funky smell in the elevator (which was explained one morning when the door opened and I saw a woman mopping the rug), but for us, these quirks were all part of the adventure. The beds were hard, which I understand is typical for China, but we were exhausted from walking all day every day, so we hardly even noticed. The floor wasn't especially clean, as we noticed when looking at the bottoms of our feet, but the paper slippers provided took care of that problem. It appeared that the front desk arranges tours if you want them, though we didn't use the service. The neighborhood feels safe, and has several restaurants and small grocery stores, pharmacies, etc, within a block or so. We did take advantage of the foot massage spa across the street and were glad we did! If you want to stay in a hotel that lets you pretend you're in the US in a five-star luxury suite, this is not the place. No mints on the pillows. But if you need a good place to stay that is inexpensive, conveniently-located, and meets all of your basic needs, this is it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Mid-range hotel in excellent location. Walking distance to Forbidden City (15mins) and Tiananmen Square, Waifujing shopping area (5 mins) and subway station (10 mins), and the walking street with all the crazy food on a stick (5 mins). Family room was spacious and located at the end of the hall. Despite being in such a central area on a street, outside was quiet at night. Room walls were thick enough, but the door to the hall allowed loud noise through, which is almost guaranteed with the amount of local tour groups. Room was clean and included daily water refills. The Citytel is a tourist hotel, although 95% of guests are Chinese. The front desk does not always have a proficient English-speaking staff member, but there is a tourist office in Waifujing that can answer any question (as can another guest using the free lobby wifi, usually). There are restaurants and convenience stores next door to the hotel, and Western food on Waifujing and Starbucks in the Oriental Plaza mall for wifi (there are only 4 seats in the Citytel lobby). The hotel is not well-known among airport taxi drivers, so it is handy to print out the Chinese address in advance. Paid CNY 375/night on Booking.com. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaikoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The taxi driver that picked us up at the airport couldn't find the hotel and dunno where it is. All was sorted out when he made a call to the recep. Nice service and friendly staff. Good location. 10 mins walk to the Forbidden City, 5 min walk from Wangfujing shopping district, 10 min walk to the metros, grocery stores nearby for stocking up supplies, salon and foot massage shop few doors away at very reasonable price. All plus plus plus for the hotel.

Hard bed is a minus. Clean room though. Respectable toilets. Will come back in my next stay. love this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jollyshandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night only. I chose it because of the location, so conveniently located near the famous Wangfujing shopping area. The standard room contains basic, very clean, well furnished & it has good clean toilet (bonus point!). It's a bit small but good enough for two people. For Muslim, there's a Halal restaurant nearby.

The only downside: It's not a well-known hotel around that area, so it's a bit troublesome for first timer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJQistina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#178 of 6,551 in Beijing
760 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xin Tian Di Hotel
Xin Tian Di Hotel
#2,804 of 6,551 in Beijing
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#105 of 6,551 in Beijing
466 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Tianrui Beijing
Tianrui Beijing
#931 of 6,551 in Beijing
80 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
#81 of 6,551 in Beijing
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citytel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citytel Inn

Address: Building C/D, Nanheyan Street, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,513 of 6,551 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $53 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citytel Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Citytel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing