We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Now this place knows service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
Ranked #20 of 5,937 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Now this place knows service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had a long layover in Beijing. I was on my way home, so picked the Fairmont to treat myself. I'm so glad I did. I booked a club room, and this was this perfect choice. From the airport pickup, private checkin, bag delivery, meals, and service in all regards, I was impressed. The club room staff were so helpful and pleasant- always with a smile. The food (tea, cocktail snacks, and breakfast) were perfect. I was super impressed with the variety at breakfast. The gym was one of the better hotel gyms. Lots of space, cold water, cold towels and great equipment that is cleaned regularly. My husband was craving a steak (after 3 weeks of Chinese), so we reserved at The Cut at hotel. We didn't expec much, but wow, did they impress! No, it's not cheap, but according to my husband, it was one of the best steaks he's ever had. They even catered to my veg, non dairy diet with great selections. I had dealt with the concierge pre-arrival to arrange for tickets to a show, and they were responsive and very helpful. Some have noted that the location isn't great; I disagree! There was plenty around for shopping, food, etc. and it's super close to the subway. Nor do I care so much about the lobby; the room (which we had booked a standard king, but received a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite) is what I feel is important. And our room, bed, pillows, bathroom, were all exactly what I needed, and then some! We booked a car to return to the airport. Upon arrival, we were met by a concierge that took care of our luggage, took care of checkin and even escorted us to security. Definitely not needed, but what a great touch. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again next time I'm in Beijing.

Room Tip: Club level benefits are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candaflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director of Front Office at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear candaflo,

Thank you so much for such a great review! Making your trip perfect is what we're here for. I'm very glad to hear that your husband enjoyed his meal at The Cut! It's rated as the Best Steakhouse in Beijing by various city guides but to hear that it's one of "the best steaks he's ever had" is such a compliment! Thank you! I look forward to having you and your husband back with us again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    199
    50
    10
    8
See reviews for
163
326
58
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. We had a very good stay. Food menu needs revision to suit foreign tourists. Hotel lobby is very quiet almost all the time. The Fairmont hotel at Beijing suits individuals who seek quiet atmosphere.

Room Tip: Choose a room in upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AABDHAHRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director of Front Office at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear AABDHAHRAN,

Thank you for the great review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your three nights stay with us. I hope that during your stay with us you were able to enjoy some live music in our Lobby Lounge by our resident musician Tim Ambler. It's very relaxing after a long day in the city. I hope to have you with us again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Having stayed at the Fairmont Beijing several times now over the years, I am always happy to make it into the lobby and out of the bustle. Staff are excellent, as always, and my room feels like home.

The lobby is grand, but at times can be cold, figuratively and literally. I came down in the morning to find it freezing in the lobby, quite off-putting. Yes, the night had been 5c, but still. Also, the hotel was at full capacity and yet the lobby seemed transient, with few people stopping to enjoy the [potential] atmosphere. The presence of a visiting team member from the Fairmont Kiev was appreciated as she was warm and welcoming, but more could be done to liven up the lobby, especially on a Friday night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director of Front Office at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Michael F,

Thank you for the great review. I'm happy to hear that you've stayed at Fairmont Beijing in the past and continues to do it now. Thank you for the compliment regarding our staff. You're right, Alisa, our team member from Fairmont Kiev is very friendly. I'll be sure to let her know of your review. Again, I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Compared to other Asian standards the lobby which was beautiful did not compare to the 5 stars one would expect until you get to your room.
The room was by far the most high tech and luxurious I have seen in a while. It was very large with a huge bathroom and tub. The amenities would gorgeous and it was impossible not have a long bath with all of the wonderful bath products available. The bedding was silk all the way with gorgeous lightweight but warm duvets. The location was excellent as it was a short walk to the subway or silk market across the street as well as restaurants etc.
Food in the restaurant and service in the Executive lounge was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank granddamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director of Front Office at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear grandame,

Thank you for the great review! It's so great to hear that you enjoyed your room! We try to think of your every need and provide your rooms with every amenity that would make your stay with us absolutely perfect. You're right, the array of bath products and tub are irresistible. A long relaxing bath and a restful night's sleep is the perfect way to end a day after sightseeing Beijing. We hope to have you back with us again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd time to Beijing but our first time staying at The Fairmont and we were very impressed. Stayed in Gold Room and the service levels are excellent ....from the minute we arrived we were treated like royalty, from serving coffee while we checked in at the Club Lounge to a very helpful concierge team explaining and booking tours for us. The rooms are large and elegant and the breakfast in the Club Lounge is very good. We also dined at The Cut (steak restaurant) within the hotel which is expensive but worth every penny as the food is fantastic. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again when next in Beijing

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Annie58UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Annie58UK,
Thank you for your kind words and wonderful feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and was impressed with our product and service. We thank you for your recommendation to other readers and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Fairmont is definitely my favorite choice in Beijing. The hotel is on one side still fairly young, so rooms and infrastructure are in great condition, on the other side they have had already enough experience and service, restaurant, breakfast etc. runs very smooth, unlike other hotels that just newly opened.
Also the location is great, as it s not too far away from the 3rd ring road, so whether for business travelers or leisure, you wont lose too much time in the traffic. it also has a subway station nearby and it's not in an isolated area, so plenty of possibilities to go out in the evening. There a a few bars not far away, restaurants, shopping etc.
Service is always top notch, and all my extra wishes are always well taken care of. Also the restaurants are great and no matter if Western or Chinese, a great place to impress friends or clients alike. Since I am frequently in Beijing I went through a lot of 5* Hotels and I settled with Fairmont as the hotel totally fulfills all my needs, offers great service at a top location combined with a great value for money ratio.

Room Tip: Fairmont Gold or Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director of Front Office at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Dolmala,

Thank you for such a great review! I'm so happy to hear that we're your favorite Choice for hotels in Beijing! You're right, our restaurants are absolutely delicious and it's great to hear that you love entertaining clients and friends alike at them.
It is always a pleasure to hear that we've accomplished our goal in making your experience with us as special and comfortable as possible. We hope to have you back with us again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

How nice it was to arrive after the flight from Toronto to be assigned a magnificent upgraded room which included access to the business lounge where we could enjoy some tranquility plus free snacks and drinks. Charming staff and great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director of Front Office at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear KiwiCanadians,

Thank you for such a nice review! I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our Gold Lounge is a great place to enjoy some relaxation time over some nice drinks. I'm happy to know that you took the time to enjoy it. Hope to see you back with us again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
New World Beijing Hotel
#10 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 5,937 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Xidan
Raffles Beijing Hotel
Raffles Beijing Hotel
#16 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#7 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Property: Fairmont Beijing
Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Business Hotel in Beijing
#10 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#15 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#17 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#137 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China - voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing