We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel nice service not”
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
Ranked #15 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel nice service not”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have been in shanghai first staying at the peninsula and we had been spoiled.the fairmont hotel is nice & clean good spot near the underground though getting a taxi is not easy here the service how ever needs to be improved in breakfast staff seem to be more interested in talking to each other rather than serving guests we both a omelette one morning and I think they cooked in the pan that had been used for a Chinese meal the night before the fruit juice containers were all nearly empty every morning when we arrived I had to take the bags out of the car while the bell boy watched this could be a very good hotel with a bit more training

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    234
    62
    14
    10
See reviews for
210
413
76
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were there for 2 nights in the junior gold suites. It was the last leg of our 4 city china trip and it was definitly the best hotel overall.

The pool was great, the room spacious and well equiped and the check in and check out was efficient. We also tried the duck at lunar 8 and the champagne bar. The duck was great but given the day before we also tried Dadong duck restaurant, on reflection it was not as good, perhaps also because the retaurant was pretty quiet that night (valentines night could be explanation?) we were almost the only table there and the atmosphere was lacking a little (staff started prepping for breakfast). The champagne bar was ok, the lobby bar was excellent, it's a good place to relax and people watch onto the lobby. The chinese 5-spice fizz cocktali is lovely to drink and well made.

I also thought the english standard of the employees were quite good compared to other hotels we have stayed at. The internet speed was excellent (BIG plus for me). The hotel was a little far from the central torist areas but it allowed me to explore the areas to the east of Beijing which was a good change, and it's quite easy to get to the airport (30min if no traffic).

Overall I would stay in the hotel again if I'm in Beijing and want a bit of indulgence :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawnx16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear dawnx16,

We're glad you enjoyed the junior gold suite! We hope you had the chance to take advantage of the Gold Lounge as well. In the afternoon it has a gorgeous view of Beijing. You're right, the Lobby Lounge, especially with one of our Classic Cocktails, is a great place to relax and unwind after a day of sight seeing. Our hotel is not located in a central tourist areas so it gives you a glimpse of real Beijing. I hope you had the opportunity to take one of our bikes and tour the city like a real Beijinger. Hope to see you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband, 3-year old daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at Fairmont Beijing for 4 nights recently - it was a fabulous experience on all counts, and we are grateful to Michael (general manager) and his team, including Joe, Apple and countless others, for making our trip so special.

The hotel and rooms are beautiful. Having stayed in many of the classic Fairmont hotels previously, we were pleasantly surprised by the contemporary feel of this property. Our room was on the gold level and was extremely luxurious and well appointed - a true home away from home!

Meanwhile, the hotel facilities and amenities are second to none. The pool is a beautiful oasis, providing a lovely place to cool off after busy days of sightseeing. We also feasted on fabulous Peking duck at the Lunar8 restaurant, and thoroughly enjoyed the fitness and spa facilities. In all cases, service was top notch, creating an intimate 5 star experience which we won't soon forget.

The location of the hotel is also perfect - slightly removed from a busy road, within walking distance to the Silk Market, the SOHO district and a subway stop (Yonganli) on line 1, which made getting around easy.

A fabulous stay, at a property we would not hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear LCYC,

We're so happy that you and your daughter had a chance to enjoy the wonderful hotel amenities and food! We've often heard that the Peking Duck at Lunar8 is the best in Beijing and we're so glad that you loved it! I hope that the next time you come visit us here in Beijing you'll also get a chance to try our award winning steakhouse; The Cut. Our amazing Chef de Cuisine has created a menu that has won The Cut the award of "The Best Steakhouse in Beijing".
We're glad you had a great stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have been using this hotel on my latest business trips to Beijing and am very satisfied with it.
The rooms are huge and comfortable, with a big beautiful bathroom (and great amenities) and the service is really very good: warm and efficient at the same time.
Much better than the average in China. Quick check-in and quick check-out, which is great when you have to run to an early morning meeting.
The gym is really beautiful and modern - ideal for a early morning runner.
The breakfast buffet is big, rich and has many options.
I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaterinaCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear CaterinaCam,
Thank you for your wonderful review and thank you for choosing Fairmont as your preferred hotel choice during your business trips. Our hotel rooms here are one of the largest and most well equipped rooms in the city which you had mentioned. Furthermore, I am glad you complimented our speed of check in and check out as we consistently strive to make this process more efficient for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and hope you have the opportunity to try out other great restaurants like The Cut which recently was prized Best Steakhouse 2013. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Recently stayed overnight again at the Fairmont Gold Suite on August 03, 2013 with my wife during the weekend.
I got all the attentions and services as expected prior and after our arrival. These was always the case as usual, due to attentive, professional and caring services made by the staffs everywhere that pampers us from the beginning until the time we left the Hotel!
Again, big thanks to the Fairmont Beijing Family for giving us another wonderful stay and keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Book a room facing the Southwest area of the Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 02E07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear 02E07,
It always brings us great pleasure to welcome you back to Fairmont Beijing. We are happy that we consistently deliver a flawless stay for you and your wife when you visit. It's our pleasure to ensure you feel that our hotel is your home away from home and hope we have the eopportunity to welcome you soon. Thank you for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I wish we had never stayed at this hotel. Any hotel my (now) wife and I stay at in the future will never compare to the perfection of the Fairmont Beijing and thus will probably be a disappointment.
This hotel and the excellent staff should be used as a template as to how a hotel should be run.

Check in/out easy and hassle free.

Room ( Gold Junior Suite ) was fantastic,big and clean. Bose docking station and coffee machine was a nice touch.

The CUT. Worth the money especially for the attentive staff and the quailty of the food.

Champange bar. Very relaxed atmosphere and a nice place to have a cold beer before dinner.

Limo. Courteous safe driver. Trust me, this is a big plus.

A big thanks to Frank in the CUT, Kelly in the Champagne bar ( gotta love Gentlemen Jack ! ) and Sharon in reservations. A standard of service that surpassed the usual norm.

Room Tip: Splash out for the Gold rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Andy G,
I was very pleased to read your review and want to thank you for your kind words regarding our service in product. It sounds like we were able to meet your expectations in all areas which is great to see. I have shared your review with the Fairmont colleagues you have mentioned and they are also thrilled they were able to leave a lasting impression on your stay. We hope you have the chance to come visit us Beijing again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for three enjoyable nights in this first class hotel. The service was excellent. The duck at the Lunar 8 restaurant, although very expensive,was very good. We stayed as fairmont gold level guests and found it well worth it. The only way to go!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWE946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear JWE946,

Thank you for your sharing your positive experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to try our duck in Lunar 8. It is known as one of the best Peking duck experience in the city! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope you join us again on the Gold Floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,389 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,483 in Beijing
742 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,411 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Property: Fairmont Beijing
Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Business Hotel in Beijing
#10 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#14 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#15 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#86 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China - voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing