We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to a great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
Ranked #20 of 5,937 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great start to a great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is well appointed. Rooms are large with an ensuite that belongs in a luxury condo. The beds are very comfortable. Our view was of the city (through the smog).
The negative for us was this hotel is not as well located as the Park Plaza with regards to surrounding amenities. For the price, I'd suggest the Park Plaza for almost equal opulence, better price for room and restaurants and location.
We didn't choose this hotel as it was part of our package with Viking River - the restaurants were very expensive and the only nearby shopping was the 'silk market' - read black market rip off - LOL.
The staff were helpful and courteous.
All in all a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank downeyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear downeyb,

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that our location was not convenient for you. Even though we are located in the centre of Beijing however it is true that within walking distant there isn’t as much shopping or restaurants as to the Park Plaza but there many forms of transportation within the area that will easily help you get around Beijing, we strongly recommend using the Beijing subway system. Our 2 restaurants the Cut and Lunar 8 are all top high class restaurants and or price is just about the same to all other similar standard restaurant in the area. Please come speak to the concierge before you go to the silk market, there’s a lot of tips on getting the right product for the lowest rate.
We hope that during your next stay we would be able to show you more about the surrounding amenities that we have. Again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Emily Liu
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    199
    50
    10
    8
See reviews for
163
326
58
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandvik, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had an eceptional service experience staying at Beijing Fairmont in May 2013. Consierge, reception and door men were joyful, helpful and very service mineded making our stay in Beijing to be a memory for ever. Thank you Fairmont

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ole Lund H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Ole Lund H,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review, we are so glad to hear that our hotel’s service had made your visit to Beijing memorable. At Fairmont Beijing, we are very proud of the high level of service our staff brings and it is even greater to know that our guest feels the same. Thank you again for your great feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Emily Liu
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel and the service were exceptional! The location is good and right across from a little park that was nice to enjoy coffee in the morning. You absolutely want to upgrade to the Gold floor. It will be worth every penny! If your on the Gold floors, the food that they put out for afternoon tea and happy hour is easily enough that you don't have to spend the money for dinner. Plus you can get free soft drinks, coffee, cappicino, etc. anytime you want them and take them to your room so no mini bar bills!

Room Tip: Go Gold floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinj911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Martinj911,

Thank you so much for the kind words and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Executive Lounge the Fairmont gold truly defines the concept of a hotel within a hotel, the Fairmont Gold team strive to continuously provide the best service in the city to all its guests and I am glad we made your stay both convenient and comfortable. We at Fairmont Beijing and especially the Fairmont Gold team look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Emily Liu
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this amazing hotel in Beijing, the room was large, bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable with beautiful linens. The magnificent bathroom with telly over the bath for added pleasure if this is your likely, huge shower and the best toilet I have ever seen with a heated toilet seat and 17 controls, also great that it was in a cubicle for privacy. The internet worked extremely well in the room, which is saying something for China. The breakfast buffet had everything you could ever want and the hotel is situate in a great area, easy walk to the Silk Market and other shops and restaurants. Staff very friendly and helpful and all our tour group loved staying here, so think all rooms were basically the same.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Gabrielle027,

Thank you so much for your kind words, we hope that our hotel has made your journey a little bit more special. We are very proud of the amenities that we have in our rooms and I’m so glad that you feel the same. The facilities provided in the room are to make your stay as comfortable and luxurious as possible. Most importantly, our associates are here to make your experience an unforgettable one. We all look forward for your next visit. See you soon!

Kind Regards

Emily Liu
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I loved this hotel and it really stands up to the Fairmont standard you expect worldwide. The room, the staff, the location and the food were all faultless. I loved the loo, a warm seat, wash and dry and deodoriser, it does everything except give you a perm! The club lounge was excellent with very friendly staff I could not fault this hotel and make sure you have dinner in their restaurant 10/10. The only place to stay in Beijing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Winnie999,

We are delighted to hear such a great review, thank you for including Fairmont Beijing in one of your memorable experiences. We always strive to be the best, scoring 10/10 but to hear this from our guest such as you, it makes me us feel so proud and very happy. Having been 2 years at the top of Tripadvisor for best hotel in China and now still been awarded the top hotel in Beijing, we all owe this to guest like you that take time to write such wonderful review. We will continue to work hard and improve our hotel’s services and facilities. In behalf of Fairmont Beijing especially the Gold Lounge team, we are all looking forward to your next trip!

Kind Regards

Emily Liu
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I counldnt ask for a better Hotel Both in Location and Luxury

Firstly location just a 5miniutes or so from the nearest metro and about 10 minutes to Silk Street Market Shopping Center where I got fantastic shopping done.And just 2 stop by Metro to Forbidden Cirty & Tianamin Square or 3 stop away by Metro to Temple of Heaven. Or by Taxi about 10min considering Beijing Traffic

Secondly the Hotel was superb Great Service & Staff.. I had no problem checking in or out and as my flight was late in the evening. The staff kept my luggage in storage for the day and loaded it into the taxi when i was on my way to the airport late that evening.

Thirdly Stunning Amenities - espresso machine & fruit in the room and the self washing and drying loo was a laugh but over the top.Breakfast was a nice spread though im not a fan of Chines Cuisine so only settled for continental breakfast usual's. The Ladies in Concierge arranges a private Limo for a day trip to visit The Great Wall, Summer Palace & Ming Tombs - day 1 I strongly recommend visiting the Mutianya Section of the Wall as opposed to the Bade-ling Section as it has cable Car & slide down but back to the Hotel a Nice hotel in a quite Area and its well beautiful, luxurious and Highly Recomended

Great Hotel I had no problems

Room Tip: As tehe Hotel is in a quite area of Beijing i cant assist here as my rooms were on quite floors with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naeemDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear naeemDurban,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel, it is so good to know that we had made your trip in Beijing both convenient as well as memorable. We are very fortunate to have a great location in the central of Beijing’s CBD, we are glad to hear that this has made your trip around Beijing well-situated and it is even greater to know that Beijing’s transportation system has made thing quick and easy for you to get around. The facilities in rooms are there to make your stay comfortable and luxury but our service is what we aim to make your stay memorable and lasting. See you on your next trip to Beijing!

Kind Regards,

Emily Liu
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very good hotel with nice luxury amenities
The rooms spacious with esspreso machine and apples every day
Nice restaurants and lounge
I was eating to the 8 restaurant very nice asian food
Very good breakfast with a lot of choise including Asian Chinesse and Japanesse food one of
The best breakfast I ever had
The staff helpfull and nice
Nice Gold Club Lounge
I was not so happy with the location being in the bussines district
Nice area but not shopping or restaurants bars etc arrount

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mm1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear mm1118,

Thank you for the nice compliments. Our Chinese restaurant Lunar 8 is featured with the famous Peking Duck and authentic Asian food. We are so pleased that you like the buffet as the kitchen strives to provide our guests with the best varieties. Our Fairmont Gold Lounge is an award winning Executive lounge in China.
Around our hotel there are quite some shopping areas with nice bars. It would have been our honor to assist you discovering the neighborhood. We truly look forward to your next visit and enjoy the activities around our hotel.

Best Regards,

Emily Liu
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
New World Beijing Hotel
#10 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 5,937 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Xidan
Raffles Beijing Hotel
Raffles Beijing Hotel
#16 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#7 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Property: Fairmont Beijing
Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Business Hotel in Beijing
#10 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#15 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#17 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#137 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China - voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing