We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hotel in beijing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairmont Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
Ranked #17 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best hotel in beijing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We recently returned to stay at the Fairmont Beijing for 4 nights.
This is a wonderful hotel , the staff is always warm and welcoming .
The location is perfect, walking distance to the silk market and a very easy cab ride to
all the tourist destinations.
I personaly enjoy the swimming pool and work out facilties.
We look forward to our next visit
Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onlycarryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you've enjoyed you stay at the Fairmont Beijing once again.
We always strive to provide the utmost service and hospitality. Thank you very much and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    225
    60
    13
    10
See reviews for
199
383
72
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed during Easter for 4 nights (29/3-1/4/2013). We paid extra to upgrade to Fairmont Gold. The service is excellent with great help of the Gold staff. The staff are pleasant, well spoken English.
We tried the Willow Spa with 90 mins massage. It was so relax and a nice one after a long walk from the Great Wall. Next time we shall try the gym and swimming pool.

There are some minor comments on the services might help a little for improvement:
1. Agreed with some advisor's comments about handling the luggage. There aren't anyone helping with the luggages into the rooms upon arrival.
2. No one refill the tea bags after used up although I could call up the housekeeper.

Room Tip: Must stay in the Gold
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieSiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear WinnieSiu,
Thank you for your excellent review and feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us during Easter and was satisfied with the service provided in Fairmont Gold. It’s wonderful that you were able to experience the Willow Spa but I do hope you have the opportunity to utilize our heated swimming pool and fully equipped fitness facility on your next visit.
Furthermore, I would like to sincerely apologize for the service issues you encountered with us, specifically the luggage and refilling of tea bags. Please note that your feedback was well received and both issues will be used as a training opportunity so this does not happen again to future guests. Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

In my opinion, the Fairmont Beijing is the best hotel in the city. Though I haven't yet had the pleasure of staying in one of their rooms, I have been there on more than several difference occasions simply because the food is delicious, ambiance is luxurious and simultaneously comfortable, and the service is so personable and kind. And did I mention that their Willow Stream Spa is three floors?!? The Cut, despite serving steak that melts in your mouth, also as incredible seafood. Their new chef, Chef Andreas, is a genius in the kitchen. The last time I went to have dinner there, I left it up to him to create a menu for us. The way I look at it, it really could have been a horrible experience, but it was far from it. The mean was outstanding! And I think I enjoyed the entire experience even more because I was able to talk with the chef and see who was cooking my food. That leads me to the next, and probably more important reason why I love the Fairmont: the level of customer service is by far the best I have ever experience at a luxury hotel. I always feel so welcome and comfortable when I'm at the Fairmont. I even had the pleasure of meeting their GM! I mean, cmon, how many times does your average customer get to meet the GM of the hotel? He was so pleasant and such a funny man that I wish I could have stayed longer. Regardless that I wasn't even a guest at the hotel, I felt so welcomed to be there. I hope that one day I get to actually stay in one of their rooms!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Tjchang,
Thank you so much for your positive review and sharing your experience with us. I am thrilled to hear that you had such a pleasant dining experience with us. Our new chef, Chef Andreas is truly a great addition to Fairmont and we’ve been receiving a tremendous amount of positive feedback regarding the service and quality provided at The Cut. Furthermore, I am happy to hear that you had the pleasure of meeting our General Manager, Michael Ganster. Mr. Ganster truly enjoys spending time everyday engaging with our hotel guests in the lobby and different outlets. This is truly something special and emphasizes our passion/desire to know our guests. In the future, I do hope you have the opportunity to stay in one of our multi-functional luxury rooms. The rooms are large, convenient and extremely comfortable. Again, thank for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
152 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really a home from home in a very congested and traffic ridden city...excellent rooms and bathrooms with little extra touches....even a heated loo seat...
The staff are friendly and helpful...
Try the steak house...sublime...onion rings a must.
Overall a great experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PenguinTuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear PenguinTuk,
Thank you for your kind words. I am very happy to see that you found our location convenient during your stay. I have taken the opportunity to share your compliments regarding our service with the staff. Again, on behalf of the hotel, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I travel frequently to Beijing on Business assignments and stay at my second home the Fairmont Beijing. This hotel and the mangement have managed to consistently deliver an unsurpassed level of warm and friendly service as well as excellent accommodation.

I normally stay in a gold room which is equivalent to a club floor room with benefits inclusive of daily breakfast, afternoon tea, evening coktails, lounge access, etc. This level of accommodation offers a very personalised service that caters for my personal and business needs. The staff are always willing to assist with any request or service. I highly recommend this level of accommodation.

My favourite restaurant in the hotel is The Cut; a steakhouse that serves some of the best steaks in Beijing. And the new chef has really pushed the bar in terms of creativity and consistent quality experience.

The breakfast is great too, it caters for all palates with an ample selection of healthy choices.

The location of the hotel is not as central as other hotels but is very close to the silk market and other amenities. on the other hand, taxies are not expensive and you are only a very short ride to the city centre and major attractions.

I would like to congratulate the Fairmont management for doing such a formidable job in maintaining a high standard of excellence and consistent level of service. In particular, I would like to thank the general manager Michael, the front office director Joe and the director of marketing Karen for making my stay at Fairmont memorable. Well done guys!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relwaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Manager at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Ramon,
Thank you indeed for your extremely positive review. We are very pleased to hear that you've enjoyed our award winning Executive Lounge the Gold Floor and our restaurant The Cut in which remain as favorites among our guests. We appreciate the compliments you gave to our General Manager and our colleagues who made your stay truly special. We look forward to be of service in the future. Best regards, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was in the new (ish) Fairmont last week in Beijing and though it ticks all the boxes for a luxury hotel in China, the experience overall was a bit underwhelming.
First the positives:
They've has obviously put a lot of time and effort into the design of the rooms as they're stylish and have some nice high tech touches. The bathroom alone was bigger than some rooms I've stayed in in NYC! The lobby is pleasant enough but somehow feels a bit soulless and could have been any one of countless counterparts in hotels throughout the world.
Breakfast is served in the lower level restaurant which probably felt like a good idea to the management but comes across as dark and a little strange. Though there was everything you could want, the organization was confusing and the layout a bit odd. Its a different restaurant in the evening, so applying a buffet breakfast style in the morning felt a bit like a valiant effort at repurposing a room designed for a different eating experience. I had access to the club floor for breakfast which was airy and pleasant so my experience wasn't that bad.
The lobby bar is very expensive and best avoided though there isn't much choice in the area so you're a bit stuck..
My biggest complaint is the time it takes to get an elevator. There are only four and they seem to take an age to arrive. When I was there a tour was in the hotel jamming the elevators at peak times ( breakfast) but my experience was they seemed very slow throughout the day.
Overall the hotel ticks all the boxes, but seems expensive and unremarkable given the other options in the city ( St Regis for instance.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Manager at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time to post your complimentary review and constructive feedback on the Fairmont Beijing. Indeed the stylish design of our guest rooms and spacious bathrooms remain as luxury amongst our guests. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Fairmont’s Gold Floor. We will share your constructive feedback with the relevant team to ensure a positive experience on your next visit. Thank you for staying with us. Best Regards, Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I just checked out of the Fairmont Beijng !
If I can give a 6 star - rating - in a heart beat I will give the Fairmont Beijing - 6 Stars!!
From the moment of check in - Leann Hu - seemless and most welcoming, how refreshing after a long flight ..
Congrats to team Fairmont Beijing - Bravo !!
Impeccable service, attention to detail - subtley executed...
I experienced genuine warmth from every member of their team during my entire stay !
Definitely Best of the Best and no doubt, I am counting my days to return to my ""Home Away From Home""...
Annie Kwok, Canada

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director of Front Office at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Annie K,

Thank you for such a great review! It's so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Each and every one of our guests are important to us and what we want more than anything is to make our guests feel at home. I'm touched that you will think of Fairmont Beijing as your home away from home. I hope to see you back with us again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,450 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,450 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Property: Fairmont Beijing
Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Business Hotel in Beijing
#10 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#15 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#16 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#117 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China - voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing