We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
Ranked #12 of 6,564 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed with them last year in fall and altough the hotel is nice, it has nothing special.
Checked in late at night and they only had 2 people in the front desk who could not speak English.
The check in and the check out were smooth, the rooms ok, the breakfast in the Executive Lounge rather poor, but the view made it worth it.
Overall, the hotel is OK, but far from being the best one in Beijing.

Room Tip: The Executive Lounge has a pretty nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel is in very good location, at walking distance from the World Trade Center and the Silk Market. The facilities are good, rooms clean, housing service supperb and in line with the hotel category. However I found the breakfast just "average". Staff very friendly and well trained athough nobody helped me with my bagage when I arrived: You can't believe how hard it can be, after a 23 hour trip, to carry the bagage to the room, I was so tired !.
To catch a taxi is difficult (there are better hotels for this) although the staff help all they can.
I found the Gym also "average" (there are some equipment but not really helpful) but it has the swimmingpool, wich is lovely. Next time I will try the SPA.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acustiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The staff at the Fairmont Beijing are not only top notch when it comes to service and attention, each an everyone is warm. friendly and considerate. My husband and I were celebrating our 40th Anniversary and this was our last stop before heading home to Canada. Our accommodation was first class and we were wishing we could stay longer. Restaurants, Gold Lounge, Spa, etc. all excellent. The location is also very convenient. There is absolutely nothing negative to say about this awesome hotel and we highly recommend this treat to anyone. Once again loved our "family" at Fairmont Beijing. Thank You.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for choosing the Fairmont Beijing in celebration of your 40th Anniversary. We were delighted to read your positive comments on our hotel’s strategic location, our top notch facilities and for considering us as your family in Beijng. We really appreciate your complimentary review as it really helps promoting Fairmont Beijing. I look forward to your next visit. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Fairmont Beijing Hotel

Paradise in China – when coming into China from the United States, I don’t care how comfortably you travel, it’s the middle of the night and you are past ready to rest your head. Your arrival at the hotel is so warm and embracing, they have already checked you in and staff treats you like family; the anxiety of your travels just roll away and leave with the cab that brought you. You are greeted by name and escorted to your room were the lighting is already set to “relaxed”. Our room was a spacious, beautifully appointed suite that met all of our needs and desires. The beds are like sleeping on a cloud; the bathroom is a spa in and of itself and the sitting and desk areas make you feel at home. We truly enjoyed the benefits of the Gold Floor - fabulous decor, delicious and artistically presented meals and/or hors d oeuvres and an unparallel staff. When we travel, we leave no stone unturned so when we finally make it back to the hotel we need severe pampering and that is exactly what we received. Also, navigating some of that “stone turning” can be complicated and the staff is there to help make it as smooth as glass. We hired one of the hotel’s drivers to take us to the Great Wall, Southern Palace and the Olympic Village all in one day – this, we highly recommend – no hassles just fun! We highly recommend their restaurant “The Cut” – fabulous chic atmosphere, informed wait staff, excellent wine choices and scrumptious, beautifully presented cuisine. The subway is clean, safe and easy to use and is just a convenient 2 blocks walk from the hotel. Fairmont Hotels are a step above the rest and you expect a lot when you book your vacation with them – the Fairmont Beijing will not disappoint you! We agree with another reviewer – Fairmont Beijing deserves more than five stars!

Room Tip: Stay on the Gold Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Allen R,

Thank you so much for choosing Fairmont Beijing and for your review! We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we're so honoured that you gave us a 5-star rating! We pride ourselves on the serves we're able to provide as well as the attention to even the smallest details. After all, it's the attention to details that will turn a moment into an experience. You're right, the beds are very comfortable! They're perfect for resting your head after a long day of sightseeing! We hope that you'll visit us again soon. Welcome home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is very clean, comfortable and quiet, the room service was excellent. The breakfast has a large selection to choose from. The silk market is nearby as well as the main tourist attractions the staff are helpful. The restaurant was also very good. The business facilities were excellent. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaL299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great 5 star hotel. A notch below Waldorf Astoria in Shanghai, but still a beautiful and incredible hotel. Wonderful amenities, great food and excellent service. The spa, fitness center and pool are amazing. Its best to be in the Fairmont Gold rooms, if at possible.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roadabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

High end luxury hotel, clean and comfortable with a superb (but very expensive) steak restaurant. However, the hotel is just lacking something in terms of character and ambience for couples on holiday and the location is not great in terms of walking to restaurants etc, but then again Beijing is not really suited to that anyway. Perhaps better for business travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewa55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#17 of 6,564 in Beijing
1,564 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,564 in Beijing
1,137 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,564 in Beijing
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#30 of 6,564 in Beijing
2,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#8 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#15 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#87 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $142 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China - voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing