We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Look no further!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
Ranked #20 of 5,937 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Look no further!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Fairmont Beijing Hotel

Paradise in China – when coming into China from the United States, I don’t care how comfortably you travel, it’s the middle of the night and you are past ready to rest your head. Your arrival at the hotel is so warm and embracing, they have already checked you in and staff treats you like family; the anxiety of your travels just roll away and leave with the cab that brought you. You are greeted by name and escorted to your room were the lighting is already set to “relaxed”. Our room was a spacious, beautifully appointed suite that met all of our needs and desires. The beds are like sleeping on a cloud; the bathroom is a spa in and of itself and the sitting and desk areas make you feel at home. We truly enjoyed the benefits of the Gold Floor - fabulous decor, delicious and artistically presented meals and/or hors d oeuvres and an unparallel staff. When we travel, we leave no stone unturned so when we finally make it back to the hotel we need severe pampering and that is exactly what we received. Also, navigating some of that “stone turning” can be complicated and the staff is there to help make it as smooth as glass. We hired one of the hotel’s drivers to take us to the Great Wall, Southern Palace and the Olympic Village all in one day – this, we highly recommend – no hassles just fun! We highly recommend their restaurant “The Cut” – fabulous chic atmosphere, informed wait staff, excellent wine choices and scrumptious, beautifully presented cuisine. The subway is clean, safe and easy to use and is just a convenient 2 blocks walk from the hotel. Fairmont Hotels are a step above the rest and you expect a lot when you book your vacation with them – the Fairmont Beijing will not disappoint you! We agree with another reviewer – Fairmont Beijing deserves more than five stars!

Room Tip: Stay on the Gold Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Allen R,

Thank you so much for choosing Fairmont Beijing and for your review! We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we're so honoured that you gave us a 5-star rating! We pride ourselves on the serves we're able to provide as well as the attention to even the smallest details. After all, it's the attention to details that will turn a moment into an experience. You're right, the beds are very comfortable! They're perfect for resting your head after a long day of sightseeing! We hope that you'll visit us again soon. Welcome home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    199
    50
    10
    8
See reviews for
163
326
58
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is very clean, comfortable and quiet, the room service was excellent. The breakfast has a large selection to choose from. The silk market is nearby as well as the main tourist attractions the staff are helpful. The restaurant was also very good. The business facilities were excellent. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaL299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great 5 star hotel. A notch below Waldorf Astoria in Shanghai, but still a beautiful and incredible hotel. Wonderful amenities, great food and excellent service. The spa, fitness center and pool are amazing. Its best to be in the Fairmont Gold rooms, if at possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

High end luxury hotel, clean and comfortable with a superb (but very expensive) steak restaurant. However, the hotel is just lacking something in terms of character and ambience for couples on holiday and the location is not great in terms of walking to restaurants etc, but then again Beijing is not really suited to that anyway. Perhaps better for business travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewa55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I spent 6 months in Beijing for business and stayed at the Fairmont for the entire time. It's been a great experience and staff are trying very hard to make everyone feel at home. It's no wonder the hotel was voted best in China - food is excellent (though pricy) at breakfast, the steak restaurant and also the lunar 8 in the basement.

In summary: If you have the choice stay here. You won't regret it.

Oh: and someone complained that coffee isn't "served" at breakfast but that guests have to get coffee / tea for themselves. Well, I guess that's not too untypical when you have a superb buffet breakfast. Having been there for so long I can only laugh that someone could judge the entire, marvellous hotel, based on how they get served coffee!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owomoyela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blainville, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I am a platinum member of Fairmont and been at many Fairmont hotels across the world so I do know how to compare and review Fairmont hotels.

Arriving at the Fairmont by car we had a very poor welcome service level "A BIG Zero", 4 Fairmont guys outside talking and ignoring guests which we had to take our own bags inside while they chat it away. Even during the 4 days we were there they ignore and don't even know the platinum members or anyone but I did notice that they give more attention to Chinese guests.
At one point I was loss and talked to one of them and he just looked away and went and service a Chinese guest first. I would fire every single one of you if they would work for me.

We checked in 2 rooms and since I am the one who reserved and paid for both rooms I do expect billing in my name and not my guest. This took over 20mins at checkout to fix. A waste of time especially when I explain at start at check in.

Room was great and had a suite 1519 which was beautiful view with open blinds " wow type of view"

Maid service was great:

Room service was fast and great.

But what made this stay very pleasant and welcoming was a person named "Apple Fu" at the Lobby area which give close attention and always ready to guide us and make recommendations. If I can score a perfect 10 I would just because of Apple making it very special from start to end and even being there at checkout to assure the service at check out was done well and also our bags taking care of.

I wish and recommend that the Fairmont Beijing would use Apple a true example to the rest of the staff because her smile will make you day special. If it was not her I would rate a 1 or 2 star overall.

I loved the Room service staff and food was great and fast,

The maid service was quick, nice and always happy!

The reason I removed a star was because the lack of service from staff who does not know who you are or don't give a damn like the check in outside people.

Not happy with the "The Cut Restaurant which in my book is overprices and subpar" but was happy with Lunar 8. Was so-so with the Willow Spa but remember they are 5 times the price compare to other massage places in China and you paying North American Prices here.

Not far away from The silk market which you can shop until you do and bargain them down to 1/10th of their asking price.

Overall a Beautiful hotel, beautiful rooms, perfect location and a great staff member Named "Apple"

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArthurSousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and the hotel was very classy. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms especially are also impressive. Breakfast needs more improvement the spread is weak. I was very impressed while checking out the staff dealing was something I had never seen in hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akshaygrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
New World Beijing Hotel
#10 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 5,937 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Xidan
Raffles Beijing Hotel
Raffles Beijing Hotel
#16 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#7 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Property: Fairmont Beijing
Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Business Hotel in Beijing
#10 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#15 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#17 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#137 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China - voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing