We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
Ranked #14 of 6,530 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and the hotel was very classy. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms especially are also impressive. Breakfast needs more improvement the spread is weak. I was very impressed while checking out the staff dealing was something I had never seen in hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akshaygrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,453)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Beijing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

I must say that I had a very different experience that many of the other TA contributors. This is not a 5-star hotel - it is not built like one nor is it operated like one. The location is not ideal - not close to anything important or on a main road. The lobby is small and relatively dark - only 8 chairs to sit down on. The elevators are slow. The overall layout is unusual. It's just not built like a fine hotel. Operationally, things don't always work well here. The service is OK - but nothing special. When I checked in, the toilet in my room did not work - and it took them 20 minutes to figure out that they needed to move me into another room. The room was clean - but not the same level of cleanliness that I experience at a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. Food in the club on the 20th floor was mediocre. Yes, I was in a Junior Suite on the Gold Level - but that just didn't make at any nicer. Think twice before you book - there are a lot of nicer hotels in Beijing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuperTraveller2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I LOVE the rooms here! Beautiful bathroom and very nice amenities. It was our honeymoon and we have received roses and chocolates in the room! That was a very nice touch. I loved the TV in the bathroom and the amazing toilet with buttons attached (haha). The shower and bathroom were also very nice.

The rooms are very well maintained and cleaned. The service here was also excellent. The concierge was amazing. He had helped us with many things and told us some history of Beijing.

The front desk manager Xavier was extremely helpful and remembers us every time we walk by the lobby.

The pool was very nice but I think there was too much clorine there because my skin hurts after I swam. This is the only complain I have.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. I highly recommend this hotel. The location is also very good, close to subway and the Silk Market. It was a really fun trip.

Room Tip: Both our room and our inlaw's room were fantastic.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhistlerPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The experience was excellent, the food outstanding & the service sensational. I called the Housekeeping for a special amenity at 6.30am in the morning, they offered to go and buy my requirement at a local shop in the meantime they called the Spa to check , withing 10 minutes they delivered just what I needed to my room

Room Tip: Worth going for the Fairmont Gold level with nice extras
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janetcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

What a fantastic place. The rooms are very elegantly designed with comfort and style in mind. The staff are ready to jump to help you out with anything you need. The location is fantastic with the Silk Street Market a hop and a jump away. We easily walked to Tiananmen Square and had a fantastic day just exploring. The gym at the hotel is great as are the restaurants and lounge.

The hotel manager, Mr. Ganster, holds a reception once a week to meet with guests which I thought was a fantastic thing. It was a pleasure to meet him and get to know him. Just like the reception, I find it's the little extras that make or break the experience of traveling and with the Fairmont Beijing it's all about those extras.

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this property/experience. Truly world class.

Thanks for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mountain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Living 1/2 time in Beijing now and the Fairmont is my home away from home. Comfortable big rooms, good room service and food. Quieter and smaller than many of the comparable hotels which I like. The staff is always warm and friendly. Any little maintenance issues are rapidly dealt with. Not a grand impressive lobby but a more than adequate lobby bar. Nice pool and spa that are quiet and almost private.

It may seem a little out of the way as it is not connected to any of the big malls but I also like that a lot. There is still quite an authentic Beijing neighbourhood a stones throw from the hotel It is a 5 minute walk to Yonganli subway and the number 1 line which runs up and down Chang'An.

Taxi drivers are learning where it is and even if they have to chase down a cab in the street it takes no more and perhaps less time than the lone lineups at the other hotels.

Room Tip: Gold Junior Suites are worth it and great
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear marekw,

Thank you for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor and awarding us with the highest ranting! We're so happy that Fairmont is your home away from home! The location of the hotel gives you an opportunity to get to know the real Beijing. The authentic Beijing neighbourhood that you had a chance to visit is full of delicious local eats. We're so glad that you had an opportunity to explore the surroundings! Hope to see you soon, welcome home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Excellent hotel. Very confortable and luxury. The rooms are very well equiped with warm floor even in the bathroom. Decoration is amazing! Very good location close to the subway station Yong'an li. The only issue is for a 5 star hotel in Beijing they should provide free internet access in the rooms.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Lilian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,530 in Beijing
1,481 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,530 in Beijing
769 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#24 of 6,530 in Beijing
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,530 in Beijing
1,030 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,530 in Beijing
2,933 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,530 in Beijing
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Business Hotel in Beijing
#9 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#13 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#15 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#98 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $135 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China - voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing