We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Beijing”
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
Ranked #20 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We booked ourselves in a golden suite with Fairmont prior to our cruise and all I can say is this was one of the best hotels we stayed in. The suite was perfect. Everything in our room was gold. We even had our our lounge to have our breakfast. What a luxury. A truly 5 star experience....

Hotel staff were also great and very helpful. Everybody was ready to give us a helping hand whenever and whatever we asked for. Location is also great. Fairmont Beijing is very close to Silk Market.

I highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank KC_Wilson_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 937 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was my second visit to the Fairmont and I was simply delighted when I arrived on Thursday afternoon to see the massive, real Christmas tree in the spacious foyer.....just like home ( Canada)! After staying in the Hotel Macdonald, the Banff Springs and the Jasper Park Lodge....this Fairmont lives up to the family name...it is simply wonderful and the service impeccable. It may be chaotic outside, especially if one visits the Silk Market, but the hotel is a quite oasis. A lovely room with a gorgeous bath tub to soak in...and an incredible dinner at the onsite steakhouse "The Cut" made for a brilliant respite.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallynix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 2 separate nights in November. Picked because it was rated #1 hotel in China...quite the reputation but it delivers!!!

Location was fine for us as we were not planning on doing a lot of sightseeing. (We have been to Beijing multiple times) Just wanted to eat some Peking duck and shopping.

Room was great. Clean, spacious and awesome bath toiletries! They come from a small fragrance boutique in New York called Le Labo. Bed was super comfy too.

On our second stay, we arrived very early (~ 7AM) and wanted to check-in. The front desk manager was very accommodative and even offered us free breakfast that morning! There was also a promotion to upgrade to Fairmont Gold, so we gave it a try. (You typically cannot upgrade to Gold) Fairmont Gold is okay but not worth paying the premium for unless it's a business expense.

Overall, a great hotel and certainly worthy of being #1 in China!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizuming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Fairmont Beijing meets the high expectations one expects of a Fairmont Hotel. The service is impeccable. The rooms are tastefully appointed, with very comfortable beds and good showers. As in all hotels in China, regardless of rank, one should drink and brush teeth only with bottled water (provided in unlimited supply).

As a special note, the concierge staff never say "it can't be done." Particularly outstanding is concierge staff specialist Apple Fu. She is very competent and very warm. One cannot help but smile when discovering that Ms. Fu is on duty.

Breakfast is fine, but very expensive.

Fairmont hotels are not cheap, but they are my choice at the luxury level.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The standard of the rooms in this hotel is excellent, and for a city like Beijing the price is pretty good. In the heart of the CBD it is in quite a quiet location with easy access to the area. The breakfast is good but not outstanding. Excellent, friendly service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lockey1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent five days at the Fairmont Beijing, staying in a Junior Suite on the Gold Level. I cannot speak to the standard rooms, without Gold privileges, but our stay was close to perfect. The room was spacious, furnished tastefully and comfortably -- huge bed, comfortable seating area, and good-size desk with outlets for charging electronics (Ipads, PCs, phones) without the need for any adaptors or converters, and good lighting. We were there on vacation but the room was also very business friendly The bathroom was very luxurious, with a very large stall shower and separate tub, as well as double sinks.

The service and attitude of the staff was outstanding. This was our first visit to China and we don't speak a word of Chinese, so the assistance of the concierge staff both on the Gold level and in the main lobby was invaluable -- from arranging to pick-up train tickets for us for a later stage of our trip (for a not unreasonable fee), to helping us select restaurants for dinner and drawing us detailed maps with landmarks so that we could locate them.

We found the Gold Level lounge to be a quiet, welcoming respite from our travels, and used it daily for both breakfast (Gold guests alternately may take breakfast at the buffet in the main restaurant) and the cocktail hour, as well as dropping by to pick up cold drinks and an occasional snack at other hours. The quality of the "hot" buffet items during breakfast -- e.g., lukewarm pancakes -- were just ok, and the pastries (mini croissants, pain au chocolat) were somewhat dry. However, for those who wanted a Western style breakfast, there were excellent loaves of bread available, as well as good, fresh fruit, juice, and custom-order eggs (omelets, scrambled, poached, or boiled). The coffee was the best that we had in China. There were also both Chinese and Japanese breakfast choices. Similar to breakfast, many of the hot hors d'oevres during the cocktail hour were just middling, but there was always good fruit, cheese, smoked salmon, and nuts.

A few quibbles:
1. The water temperature in the shower was not nearly hot enough.
2. One of my pet peeves -- a single robe hook, with no towel bars whatsoever in the bathroom. If the Fairmont is seriously interested in its ostensible green commitment to encouraging guests to reuse their towels, they need to provide space where the towels can be hung to dry out. Until then, we will be dumping them into the tub and opting for new towels each day.
3. The service personnel in the Gold Lounge were inconsistent. Although the coffee maker is out on the buffet such that guests can serve themselves, a staff member invariably offered to make us coffee, which we appreciated -- except that about 50 percent of the time they then forgot. Similarly, on 2 of the 5 evenings, no red wine was available during the cocktail hour, until it was procured from the restaurant downstairs some 20 minutes later; surely someone could have noted this when they set up the bar and proactively procured some before a guest asked for it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MBA60302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Went as couple visiting Beijing as tourists for 4 nights

Location 4/5
In the business district, about 4-5km away from Tiananmen.

Parking and travel 5/5
Took about 40min to get from the airport from the hotel. Decided to opt for their pick-up service which was excellent.

Staff and service 5/5
The staff were exceptional. Special thanks to Kai (in the Gold Lounge) and Triangel (concierge) who helped us throughout our stay. Levels of English were good all round.

Room 5/5
Opted for a gold room which we upgraded at the hotel to a suite which was amazing.

Cleanliness 5/5
Faultless.

Facilities 5/5
The Gold Lounge was well worth it, complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening snacks if needed. The Spa and gym were fine, although empty which suited us. Champagne lounge was also cool, but full of people who looked like they belonged in the American version of the Apprentice.

Value 5/5
We used their official site and benefited from a stay 2 nights get 3rd free offer which was great.

Overall 5/5
Cool play to stay, definitely recommended.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Hallie_Brosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,302 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yuanda Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
#7 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,131 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Business Hotel in Beijing
#14 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#15 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#19 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#88 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $123 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China - voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing