We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, excellent service”
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
Ranked #20 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel with luxurious rooms and lots of little extras that make the experience special. The service often went beyond our expectations, especially the first night that we arrived late and without our luggage -- the hotel manager was kind enough to provide us with some extra clothes for the night. The concierge was also very helpful with reservations, etc. Overall, the service was excellent and very courteous.

The location is a bit out of town, in the business district, but taxis are not that expensive, so it was a good option for us.

We had an excellent lunch at the restaurant, but the breakfast was disappointing.

There was a minor issue with the spa booking (I think the masseuse wanted to leave early), but a hotel manager quickly sorted that out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimlymoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

If you are considering staying at a luxury hotel in Beijing that is newly built or renovated (in the past year or two), then I highly recommend the Fairmont Bejing. Beijing has a population of about 23 million people, and after a long day of playing tourist, returning to an oasis with friendly staff was absolutely perfect. What really sets this hotel apart from other five star luxury hotels I've experienced is, without question, the exceptional staff. From the moment we checked in (arriving at 10:30 am, we were ushered into our room ahead of the usual 2:00pm), the staff at both ground floor concierge and gold floor centres really made us feel welcome. And throughout our stay, all of the staff engaged with us, attended to our every request for booking restaurants, transcribing English to Chinese directions to places, helped arranged high speed train tickets for our trip Beijing to Shanghai, and patiently provided recommendations for our day trips - so we'd like to acknowledge their exceptional assistance and good conversation (with excellent English) and say a big thank you to Annie, Bella, Bob, Faye and Tony, for making our first Beijing trip the memorable success that it was. As far as the location, the hotel is ideally situated in the convenient and quieter area of south Choayang district, and only a three minute walk to the Yongan-Li train station on line 1, which takes you straight to TianAnmen Square, the National Museum of China, the Military Museum, and connects easily to many other train lines. We joined the Fairmont President's Club online at no cost (which provides free wifi) and stayed in a luxuriously appointed, spacious 45 square metre king gold room. A fantastic complimentary breakfast was served in the gold floor centre or the main restaurant, there was afternoon tea served 2:00 - 4:00pm and an open bar with an amazing spread of hot and cold appetisers from 5:00 - 7:00pm. The rooms were beautifully designed and appointed, very quiet indeed and the mattress simply amazing. There were six bottles of complimentary water, and fruit, replenished daily, in our room. (Okay, and the hi-tech activity centre in the toilet has to be seen and experienced to be believed!) The pool is a proper 25 metre pool with a relaxing jacuzzi, and the change rooms include a steam room, private shower cubicles and lockable lockers, and there is a very well appointed gym, bathed in natural light. We loved the Fairmont, and would definitely return to this hotel on our next visit. (We also booked the Fairmont Peace Hotel for our Shanghai stay - see review).

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2211, which had a lovely aspect looking north over the city, local residential nei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MR1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed at the Fairmont for 6 nights at the end of July. The hotel is somewhat new and beautifully decorated. We also enjoyed that the hotel wasn't huge, 222 rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially the conceirge who helped us with dinner reservations and tips on how to get around the city. The room was pretty large and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is in the business district and within walking distance of the subway and silk market. The food was very good but I thought the amount they charged for breakfast was a bit high.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adlpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Fairmont group is recognized as a first class Hotel and Beijing makes those 5 stars shine. From the moment we arrived and were escorted to the Gold reception the service and care was gracious and superb. A beautiful and generous room with luxury amenities. The breakfast lounge was first class and the service impeccable. I never doubt Fairmont quality when I travel, and in Beijing the cost value equation was outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This hotel is pure luxury and has and we-go-out-of-our-way service attitude to help you and make you comfortable. Stunning rooms. My gold suite was very impressive for an experienced traveler (see photos). Great breakfast buffet. This hotel is situated 5km east of Tiananmen Square, about 1km south of Temple of Sun Park, at 300m walking distance from metro line 1 Yonganli station, so with direct metro link with Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City (4 stops). The hotel is at the edge of the business and embassy district, so also great for business. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchCarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Had a wonderful trip to Beijing through Wendy wu tours but upgraded our hotel to the Fairmont, so glad we did, excellent Hotel the Jacuzzi, Spa and pool are wonderful as are the rooms, heated toilet seats are such a luxury.
The staff were so helpful and the lobby bar and Champagne bar were lovely.
Our tour guide really helped make our trip special as well though.

Room Tip: Join the Presidents club before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We were very fortunate to have spent 11 nights at this magnificant hotel. The hotel was immaculate and the service was the best we have had at any hotel in the world. The staff often anticipated wishes before we expressed them. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The Gold Grand King room was divine and we were sorry we had to come home. Location is very close to the silk market and easy for taxi drivers to find once this was understood. The best thing was the beauty of the hotel and the splendid service.

We would absolutely love to stay at The Fairmont again, and really couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We booked the gold grand king room which had access to the executive lounge which was terrific and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,297 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#33 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,994 reviews
Yuanda Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
#7 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,124 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Business Hotel in Beijing
#14 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#15 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#19 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#84 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $124 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China - voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing