We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beijing Templeside Hutong Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sicheng Hotel(Beijing)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Xisi Hotel(Beijing)
View Hotel
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
62
31
9
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
31
9
3
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 108 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2010

We had a wonderful time with Bing, William and Andy at Lian Lian. They could not have been more friendly and generous to us. We were invited to share meals with them and they could not have been any more obliging to us. It is a real taste of the old China to stay at the hutong and be in the midst of the hustle and bustle. Great location for Forbidden City and other tourist locations. Rooms are small and VERY clean. Great advice given for tourist activities including personal delivery and collection to the the incredible acrobatics show we attended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thompnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

need to take a while from subway to there
n if there's snowing or snow , be aware of what you wear
the service is nice and friendly, I'd like to visit them in the future
but the bathroom's door of the room we stayed is broken, hope they'll fixed it
a hostel that very "Beijing"and has nice atomsphere of the Chinese culture/hutong culture
at last day, becuz we missed a dinner wz all the vistor,the boss and the servicer
the boss insisted to have a dinner wz us, the places which he took us to is very local and nice, its the most memorable dinner n delicious in our trip

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiDebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

It's a tiny but awesome hostel remodelled from old Beijing houses in which you must enjoy staying, especially with the overwhelming hospitality! Not only the staff offer help day and night, but the host also gives you surprises like a dumpling night and even a birthday party!!! Moreover there's sufficient supply of heat and hot water in the room which can help you survive the freezing nights. We're totally impressed so we would say this is the best hostel we've ever stayed because it makes you feel like HOME!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whymabelwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

The best thing about the Lianlian guest house is the staff -- really friendly and helpful people who bent over backward to make our stay pleasant. The location is not bad, though it involves a bit of walking to get to the metro, we had no problems getting around the city from there. Rooms are nice, you might complain if you had only ever stayed in 4-star hotels before but they're excellent if you're on a budget. And the food is brilliant and very abundant!

Would definitely stay there again, mainly because of Jojo and her husband and the lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark09ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

Location excellent. Friendly, clean and warm during a few frosty Beijing nights.
Great advice from staff and Bobby took us on an excellent day tour - amazing amount of iseful information and great insight into life.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews