We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Huang Ting

Huang Ting
Ranked #191 of 12,697 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $35 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Description: Huang Ting celebrates the sophisticated flavours of fine Cantonese cuisine in an atmospheric setting that recreates a Beijing nobleman's courtyard home. A new Tea Lounge decorated with Ming Dynasty-era tables and parasols serves traditional Beijing snacks accompanied by more than 50 types of premium Chinese tea.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This beautiful reconstruction of a nobleman's house set behind the lobby waterfall, sets the scene for a lovely evening. We started with the excellent Duck Dumplings with Spicy Sauce, the very good half Beijing Duck (which comes already assembled in the pancakes), and the excellent Crispy Beef. Then came the excellent Combination Suckling Pig, BBQ Pork & Roasted Duck. A wonderful meal, perfectly paced. Expensive, but worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterJNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    27
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious duck! Nice decoration! Friendly service!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The best two things of this restaurant are: the decoration and the amazingly delicious duck. The service is also friendly. The rest of the dishes are just normal though. Nothing special.

Helpful?
Thank Dimitris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“an oasis with a whiff of old Beijing”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hidden away in the basement of The Peninsula, this restaurant evokes the atmosphere of a long-gone Beijing (or Peiping). We liked the hushed ambience, the discreet service, tables that are not far enough from the others, and above all the exquisite and lovely food! We especially liked the roast duck (definitely much much better than Da Dong), the Horfan noodles and the barbecued pork bun, amongst others. The dessert of mango and sago cream gave a splendid finish to the meal. We will definitely tell our friends about this wonderful repast; too bad for us that we ate there on our last day in Beijing; we could have gone there everyday to discover everything on the menu!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank EloZ523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We went to this restaurant based on the reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed.
It is on the basement level of the Peninsular Hotel and as we were walking past the Amani, Rolex, Bvolgari, Prada and Gucci stores we were wondering if we could afford this place.
We were very pleasantly surprised.
We had the peking duck here and it was delicious. They bought the duck out and carved it and made the pancakes for you. We ordered several other dishes also and everything was lovely. The food was great, the service was good and the decor and ambience was beautiful.
The food was reasonably priced, but don't order water... it will cost you almost as much as the food!
Use the restrooms... I felt like I was in a five star resort in Thailand.
Very nice restaurant ... I highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaziS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Very good, authentic and creative cantonese”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Not cheap, but definitely worth the trip into the basement of the Peninsula Hotel. Excellent starter (eg. Wasabi cauliflower, spicy crusty beef slices, clam), delicious duck, great is eggplant with minced pork and salty fish. Rice cake as desert. The atmosphere is very nice, top service. You can order great wine by the glass. Go here if you want top class at a fair price, business as well casual.

Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huang Ting also viewed

 

Been to Huang Ting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing